We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boutique B&B Kamer01
Ranked #2 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I am not sure I can add to what has already been said. Peter and Wolter are beyond perfect hosts: interesting, gracious, charming, helpful; and their tips for things to do and places to eat are spot on. The rooms are decorated beautifully: every amenity thought of, from extra towels to an in room computer with bookmarks for things to do and places to eat; the bed made up like a work of art; fresh flowers galore; a separate area for reading; the perfect amount of light throughout the room for reading, etc. And such a wonderful view of the canal and the daily life of Amsterdam. Amazing breakfasts of yogurt, breads, jams, cheese, and meats, plus fresh squeezed oj and coffee however you want it. Plus, free juice/wine/beer/water/sodas all day and at night, help yourself to mixed nuts, chocolates, and cookies. They have truly thought of every way to pamper their guests. A central location, we walked everywhere. What a wonderful find. Thank you, Peter and Wolter! (and any "I'm not a dog person" people out there: do not be put off by Tommie - a gentler, quieter dog does not exist in the universe!) This is the best B & B we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: The blue room is up one more flight of the narrow stairs, if that is an issue for you. It has a roun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
344
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

What a luxury to stay at Kamer01 run by the incredible dynamic duo, Peter and Wolter.
This beautiful home is quite centrally located with walking distance to the Flower Market, shopping on De 9 Straatjes, the Royal Palace/Dam, the Museum Quarter, the art galleries of Jordaan and yes...the Red-light District. Kamer01 is also facing the Lanskroon Bakery from across the canal...yum!! (@^_^@)

I stayed in the top floor apartment called the Blue Room that had stunning window views of the Singel canal, a beautifully designed bathroom, Apple computer & WIFI and easy access to the lovely roof top garden.

I spent restful nights sleeping on the comfy round bed and would wake each morning to the smell of fresh baked croissants. Wolter and Peter served a delicious four course breakfast of fresh fruits, cheeses, pâté, meats, yogurts, tasty fresh breads, eggs cooked to your liking, a drawer full of special teas, lots and lots of witty conversation and a killer view overlooking the canal making it really dreadfully hard to get out the door each day - where is it better?

Peter, Wolter and their sweety-pie dog, Tommy, are truly too generous to allow us into their wonderful home where every need is met.

Room Tip: Both rooms are equally beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDP_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This bed and breakfast redefines the concept of a bed and breakfast. Peter and Wolter and Tommy are all incredible hosts who make you feel like guests in their home. The rooms and the house are immaculately decorated and the experience is highly personalized. The location is gorgeous, the breakfast was first rate and the view from the kitchen window is picture perfect. We can't say enough about how much we loved our experience at this bed and breakfast. In the middle of a fun but exhausting trip through Europe, this was a welcome oasis. Peter and Wolter spent an incredible amount of time making sure our trip to Amsterdam was everything we hoped for and more. Their knowledge of the city and local events led us to some truly unique and unforgettable experiences. We honestly cannot recommend this bed and breakfast highly enough - there simply are not enough stars! Thank you to Peter and Wolter for their hospitality and generosity. You will not regret a visit to this special place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed at Kamer01 for five days and loved it. The location is extremely convenient and also quite pretty -- you can look out over the Singel canal while eating your breakfast. Peter and Wolter were hilarious and full of information about the city, and their beagle, Tommie, is an adorable bonus! The rooms are stylish and air-conditioned, the food is delicious, the hosts are entertaining ... what more could you want?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at Kamer01 for 5 nights, and it was superlative. Peter and Wolter (and Tommy the beagle) were wonderful and welcoming hosts, and very attentive. The attention to detail in the accommodations and the food was outstanding. The rooms are large by European standards, air conditioned, stylish and very comfortable. Breakfast was always beautifully prepared and served in a wonderful room with a large floor-to-ceiling window overlooking the Singel Canal. The location is excellent, being only about a short 5 minute walk from the nearest canal bus, within a 20 minute walk of everything one might wish to see and yet still in a quiet area full of restaurants, cafes and stores. When you came home in the evening, a fully stocked fridge of refreshments was available as well as coffee, tea, treats and snacks. There are many travel books on Amsterdam available to borrow for sightseeing, and DVDs for staying in. Peter and Wolter are very knowledgeable about the city, especially all the little details that one cannot find in the guidebooks and happily provided suggestions and assistance with tours, attractions and restaurants. When we go to Amsterdam again, we will definitely plan to stay at Kamer01. By far the best B&B we have ever stayed in and strongly recommended to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneH2663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband and I spent four nights at this B&B which I chose based on the reviews found on Trip Advisor. What a great way to start our vacation! Peter and Wolter are fabulous hosts and the location is perfect for strolling the canals and shops along the way. Breakfasts are artfully prepared and the cappucinos can't be beat! What a pleasure it was to come back every afternoon and share a glass of wine - and stories - with our hosts! If we get another chance to revisit Amsterdam, I will definitely return to Kamer01!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimbasew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We have been fortunate enough to stay in many nice accommodations in our travels, but, have no reservations about saying that my room at the Kamer was the best of all that I have encountered. The stylish flair of design and service, the beauty and romanticism of the location on the Singel Canal, the close proximity to many of the cultural sites in this beautiful city and being located on the quiet side of town yet one block from the action were all wrapped up to create one memorable couple of days. Thanks, Peter, Wolter and Tommie!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,049 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,582 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,702 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,146 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique B&B Kamer01? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique B&B Kamer01

Property: Boutique B&B Kamer01
Address: Singel 416, 1016 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a Boutique B&B, Kamer 01 is the perfect choice to enjoy your stay in the iconic Canal District. The Canal House is situated in a spectacular panoramic bend of the beautiful Singel Canal. In close proximity, you will find the historic courtyard Begijnhof, the lively Spui with the one of the oldest bars in the city, the trendy Nine Streets district, and the world-famous Amsterdam Flower Market. Your hosts at Kamer 01, Peter and Wolter, have a discriminating eye for details, design, and personal attention. Hence their award-winning philosophy: Don't be a tourist, be our Guest! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boutique b&b Kamer01 Hotel Amsterdam
Boutique Bed And Breakfast Kamer01

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing