We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No-Brainer place to stay in Amsterdam”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boutique B&B Kamer01
Ranked #2 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmette, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“No-Brainer place to stay in Amsterdam”
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Ditto to other [excellent] reviews!
Simply a great, intimate place to call home while exploring the city. Peter's passion for design, presentation and hosting is evident and upscale... breakfast is presented artfully and bountifully; pre-dinner drinks and snacks are well-timed with sexy lighting and great music to boot; furniture, etc. has all been selected with great deal of care.
Great rest. recs and suggestions for dealing with museum timing.
Room is clean, comfortable and hip, and light dimmers make an already beautiful setting, a romantic one.
Location is ideal and sleep was yummy!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raisingkaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
342
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

This is one of best Bed and Breakfasts I've ever stayed at. Peter and Walter and not just the best proprietors, but excellent hosts as well. They gave perfect advice on what to do and where to go. Peter even gave me his card to phone him if necessary 24 hours/day if I got into any trouble :-) My room itself was amazing and I got a dozen envious responses when I posted photos of it on facebook. The breakfast was also really great and always looked forward to. There is even a rooftop deck. Wow.

Aside from that, the location is pretty much perfect and you can easily walk anywhere in central Amsterdam without too much trouble. There are a lot of good restaurants and cafes within a 5 minute walk and the neighborhood was really safe.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DamianS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Kamer01 is a fantastic B&B, offering
1: Location- Canal house with wonderful canal views, historic yet ultramodern. Walk 1-2min from trams, canal cruise, flower market. ~10 min to Dam square, museums. Basically perfect location.
2: Rooms and service - stayed in the Red room. Originally wanted blue room, but red room was perfect! Better than on the web pics. Beautifully renovated with ultramodern bathroom, wifi and iMac access. Peter and Wolter were very welcoming and made us so at home that Amsterdam has become one of our favourite places. Breakfast was wonderful and relaxing.
Basically, when in Amsterdam, there can be no better place to stay than in a modern interpretation of a 400 yo canal house.

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms so book early. Red room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hungrypencil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Just had the most amazing long weekend with Mrs H and friends in the delightfully funky yet intimate Kamer01.
The two rooms are quite fantastic and in just the best loacation in the City.
Everything is just so and geared up for a luxurious stay.
We will be back, very soon.

Room Tip: There are just two rooms - both are Fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rirmip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Strongly advise to this hotel, great service, friendly person, fabulous place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowhisper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.E Victora
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

If you want to get lost in a large 5 star hotel with all the other guests, then this is not the place for you. If you want to experience a truely personal 5 star experience then stay with Peter, Wolter and Tommie !

We stayed in the Blue Room for a short stay (without the kids !). We were welcomed with a drink, a chat and some beautiful little pastries. It was the first of many interesting conversations and helpful tips regarding our stay in the local area.

The communal area is beautifully appointed with the amazing original beams of the house showing through and the specially commissioned carved wood panels that hide the fridge and other kitchen utilities. The large, near full frontage panel of glass allows for an uninterruped view of life passing by (and there is plenty of it !)

The stairs are steep and winding in keeping with the house - but I didnt feel so bad about eating so much good food whilst in Amsterdam (I can highly recommend the Indonesian restaurant just down from the B & B)

Honestly, the Blue Room is just lovely and the Round Bed was REALLY comfortable ! I loved the quirky bathroom and the great rain shower. The view from the room was also fab.

Breakfast can only be described as a work of art ! I never need to have lunch in Amsterdam as it was so filling.

The ever stocked fridge was a delight ! The after dinner chocolates and liqueurs were devine. Free WiFi and big bonus with a Mac to use in your room.

Overall, the B & B is in a great location, only 5 minutes walk from Dam Square, 10 minutes walks from laneways full of restaurants and too many other attractions to mention. Genuinely lovely service and quality food and drink in a quirky property .

Without a doubt THE best B & B we have EVER stayed in !

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MumDadAndTwoKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2011

This is by far the loveliest stay we've experienced in our travels, both abroad and in the U.S., Peter and Wolter have a beautiful B & B. The entire home is uniquely designed and immaculate. They have thought of everything, fresh flowers in each room and wonderfully prepared breakfast, that of which would compare with the most exquisite restaurants we've been too. Their pup Tommie was a joy to be around, especially when we became homesick for our own pups.

Both Peter and Wolter are well versed on Amsterdam and answered any questions we had about both the current day and history of the city. If you are looking for a 5 star B & B with excellent hosts, beautiful rooms and good company this absolutely is the best place to go, we felt most at home, as I'm sure everyone does! Thanks guys for making our holiday a memorable one that we will never forget!

Jimmy & Sean

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rssnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,000 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,270 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
663 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,112 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique B&B Kamer01? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique B&B Kamer01

Property: Boutique B&B Kamer01
Address: Singel 416, 1016 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a Boutique B&B, Kamer 01 is the perfect choice to enjoy your stay in the iconic Canal District. The Canal House is situated in a spectacular panoramic bend of the beautiful Singel Canal. In close proximity, you will find the historic courtyard Begijnhof, the lively Spui with the one of the oldest bars in the city, the trendy Nine Streets district, and the world-famous Amsterdam Flower Market. Your hosts at Kamer 01, Peter and Wolter, have a discriminating eye for details, design, and personal attention. Hence their award-winning philosophy: Don't be a tourist, be our Guest! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boutique b&b Kamer01 Hotel Amsterdam
Boutique Bed And Breakfast Kamer01

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing