We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,339)
Filter reviews
4,339 results
Traveler rating
2,368
1,185
436
221
129
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,368
1,185
436
221
129
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree mini barwellness centreshipping houseelectric curtainssuperior deluxe roomshipping companycentral stationsteam roomrestocked dailytrouser pressnespresso machinespa areaseparate showercity viewthe red light districtunique hotelremote control
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 4,339 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2018

All the hotel staff, especially Didi are amazing. So friendly, and really added that little extra to our stay. Fantastic! Great location and such a beautiful hotel. It really is a wonderful hotel, just full of charm.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrVanPeebles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2018

We stayed in Deluxe Superior Room for 5 nights. Room was large as indicated on website. Electronic blockout curtains easy to use, but a must as our room had a main street view, which meant we had a lot of direct sun on the windows. As one Housekeeping staff said, no airconditioning,, and as we could not open the windows,the room did get very warm Another day our minibar was not restocked, even after a call made in afternoon.. Barry, in Destinations was excellent with travel information. Bar staff were generally good, but on 4th night, as no one came near us after 25 minutes for either drink or menu, we walked out. Used Main dining room twice, and each night very happy with meal and service. Breakfast staff seemed very slow to clear tables once finished with, to allow other guests to be seated. Breakfast good. A lot of little things, attention to detail required, before we could give this Hotel 5 Star rating.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 66Bubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful building.
Staff in bar, restaurant and reception very helpful and friendly.
Hotel needs updating without losing its vintage appeal.
Housekeeping management needs to keep a check on room cleanliness from ceiling to floor weekly to maintain its 5 star status.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with friends
2  Thank Izzi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amrathamsterdam, General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Izzldee1704,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. The feedback from our guests truly give us guidelines to improve our service and keep up with the needs of our guests.
We are glad to hear that you appreciated our culinary specialties in our restaurant and the stained glass wood and stone work. We take pride of our kitchen team and that we that we have managed to restore the building as it was intended to be 100 years ago.
I will share you feedback regarding our rooms with the housekeeping manager and I am confident that she will act accordingly to ensure that the rooms will be spotless according to our standards.
As the satisfaction of our customers is our priority, we hope that we can welcome you again in our hotel and give us a chance to deliver you, our esteemed guests, with the 5 star level experience that so many have come to love throughout the years. Should you plan to return to Amsterdam, please make sure to contact us at guest relations directly so we are aware of your coming and can execute any additional arrangements for your stay.
Please feel free to contact us in case you have any questions that I can assist you with.
Kind regards,

Maarten van Nigtevegt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

Mixed reviews.
Beautiful building, fabulous receptiom, restaurant and bar staff.
Some of the best food I have eaten anywhere.
Some beautiful stained glass wood and stone work.
Interior needs updating while keeping the period features.
Rooms need refreshing and housekeeping management need to check rooms from ceiling to floor on a weekly basis, to ensure they are cleàned to the hotels 5 star status.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with friends
2  Thank izzidee1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amrathamsterdam, General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Izzldee1704,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. The feedback from our guests truly give us guidelines to improve our service and keep up with the needs of our guests.
We are glad to hear that you appreciated our culinary specialties in our restaurant and the stained glass wood and stone work. We take pride of our kitchen team and that we that we have managed to restore the building as it was intended to be 100 years ago.
I will share you feedback regarding our rooms with the housekeeping manager and I am confident that she will act accordingly to ensure that the rooms will be spotless according to our standards.
As the satisfaction of our customers is our priority, we hope that we can welcome you again in our hotel and give us a chance to deliver you, our esteemed guests, with the 5 star level experience that so many have come to love throughout the years. Should you plan to return to Amsterdam, please make sure to contact us at guest relations directly so we are aware of your coming and can execute any additional arrangements for your stay.
Please feel free to contact us in case you have any questions that we can assist you with.
Kind regards,

Maarten van Nigtevegt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

We recently enjoyed a short break in Amsterdam, staying at the Amrath Hotel.

This was a returning visit for us, having stayed at Amrath around a decade ago.

The hotel maintains an imposing presence on Prins Hendrikkade: Externally, it is far larger than almost all other buildings in central Amsterdam, so is easy enough to find. Internally, it is beautifully adorned with loads of intricate features and decoration, echoing its past use as the "Scheepvaarthuis" (shipping house) for a number of maritime companies.

For our stay, we upgraded to a deluxe double room, which was massive. I've never seen curtains so large! Blackout too - and remote controlled. The bed was also very comfy, although the pillows were a touch on the soft side.

There's certainly a wonderful attention to detail around the hotel, and a real sense of luxury, history and opulence. There's rituals bathroom accessories, guest robes and slippers, etc. Also a nespresso drinks machine in the guest room. And there's not too many hotel buildings with their own Wikipedia page!

Yes, there are some negatives. The reception area, although in a new location and still wonderfully polite, can still seem a bit small for the number of guests checking in/ out. And whilst there's still a complimentary minibar, it is now mixers and a couple of beers - although admittedly it is restocked daily. But on our previous stay there was a range of spirits too, so that was a little bit of a disappointment. We also had a couple of issues with the shower, in that its pressure was so powerful, it sometimes overflowed. (I've never said that about a hotel shower before...!)

Oh, and it is still fairly easy to get a bit disoriented in its many corridors and (sometimes quite hidden) lifts - look out for the beautifully restored paternoster (albeit no longer in customer service)... But discovering the building is part of the fun when staying at Amrath.

Overall, certainly a great hotel, and definitely one to recommend if staying in Amsterdam and looking for something with refinement.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank dj_parkeruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews