We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome room and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #64 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome room and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

This was definitely the largest room I have ever stayed in while travelling in Europe, with a grand view of the city, an excellent hotel staff, free minibar, and the most comfortable bed I have ever had in a hotel. The halls of this hotel can be a bit confusing as the building wasn't built as a hotel originally, but it is definitely a cool experience every time you venture through the halls...something you can't say about the walk to your room at a regular modern hotel. Internet service was spotty and slow, but that wasn't too important for us. This place was a bit pricey, but definitely worth it for a special occasion.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moericke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,784
    907
    320
    146
    75
See reviews for
350
1,789
206
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

This hotel has a great location, close to the Central Station, Canal Tours, across 2 short bridges to Chinatown and fairly close to the red-light district, but far enough away not to notice. Not that the red-light district is at all dangerous..quite the opposite. After a breezy, cool day of walking around I found it wonderful to enjoy the beautiful pool, jacuzzi and sauna. I was pleasantly surprised by all the attention and help the concierge staff gave. Aso was particularly attentive, burning his finger slightly fixing a bulb in my room so I could get to sleep. The next day the maintenance staff fixed it right away. I will definitely go back here because when you're traveling alone or far away it is so nice to be able to rely on the staff to help you with restaurants and arranging travel. They went above and beyond."

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suz320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

Great hotel, with spotless clean rooms. Great conversion to a hotel from a former shipping office quarters with much of the orginal decor left intact. The service from the all the staff was great and friendly but the sevice in the Bar was appauling. The bartender seemed more intrested in talking to 'mates' and collegues than serving drinks. he would often dissappear for 10 minutes at a time leaving a long wait to get a drink. We ended up going out and found a cracking bar further down the road.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OCScene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

The building itself was interesting and had a lot of history. The rooms were fairly decent and the free minibar was a definite perk of staying at the Amrath. Unfortunately, the staff was not friendly and was actually very rude at times. They also were not helpful in giving directions or recommendations. I believe our stay would have been much improved if the staff would have made efforts to be polite to their guests. Also, if you do stay here, be sure to request a room away from the elevator shaft, it is very loud while trying to sleep.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nsquared35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

Arrived at the hotel at 7am after a long haul flight from Australia. We were able to check immediately . Our room was 2nd floor on the main street side with large windows that opened. No noise problems . It was really nice to have a long hot bath ( with partner) after the flight. Breakfast was great ( included in rate). Free minibar was topped up daily. I have stayed in several hotels in Amsterdam previously which have always been small. The room was a good size with seating area. I will definately stay at the Grand Amrath again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ozzy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

My boyfriend and I took the train in to Amsterdam from Paris and did a late check-in on Sunday night (March 13, 2010). The hotel is slightly hidden from view from Amsterdam Central Station, so if you're leaving the station, you want to head left out of the station.

When we arrived, the reception host was so lovely and kind and she surprised us with a room upgrade! We were upgraded from a "Superior Deluxe Room - City View" to a "Four Poster Room - City View" with a huge bed, a huge bathroom, two leather couches, and an amazing view of the canal. The gentleman who showed us around the hotel was very professional and gave us a great tour of the hotel and a great tour of our room…yes, it was that big (try getting it! Room 300). The bathroom was amazing. The standing shower was basically the size of a walk-in closet and had 4 shower heads. Separate from the shower was a large bathtub with fizzy bubble bath soap provided. The two sinks were modern-looking and we were provided with nice soaps and lotions. The FREE mini bar was stocked with sodas, orange juice, water, wine, hard liquor, and chocolate. There was a Nespresso machine that made gourmet espresso drinks comparable to a fancy cafe. (I've never heard of a Nespresso in the US and I was so impressed with this machine that I may buy one this weekend!) The four post bed was so comfortable and was piled on with large, fluffy pillows. The wellness center was by far the BEST wellness center I've ever been to at a hotel. The heated pool was a decent size and the jacuzzi seated four. There were three separate saunas and showers to rinse. The actual gym had a few machines, but you do so much walking in Amsterdam that you don't need to do any cardio when you go to visit the city! Our check out was fast and easy and they held our luggage while my boyfriend and I wandered around Amsterdam during the afternoon.

The hotel is really close to the Red Light District but far enough from it to where there is really no rowdy noise. It's also conveniently located a couple blocks away from Amsterdam Central and the main tram stop.

Overall, I have to say that the Grand Amrath is the best hotel I've ever stayed in and I would highly recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank JaseMe516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

What can I say? This hotel left me empty. It is totally atmosphereless and one feels totally alone.

Walking through the entrance I felt I had mistakenly arrived at the service entrance. It was a bit of a shock as I am used to staying in 5 star hotels and this certainly was way below my expectation. The staff were friendly but very matter of fact. Didn't have much contact with them during our 4 day stay.

What can I say about the massive, utterly appalling interior decoration, room? It was dark and dingy and seriously lacked any sense of luxury. Scruffy bathrobes but no slippers, a trouser press that didn't work, wine but no wine glasses, six hangers for two people and the list goes on.

The bathroom was modern and the shower was excellent. The bed was very comfortable. The Nespresso machine and minibar were a good touch to an otherwise depressing room.

The spa...definitely not in the 5 star category. Perhaps a "coffee Shop" was used during the rating of the hotel!

In my opinion the Amrath should not be 5 Star anything.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank feedee61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,202 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#29 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,247 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing