We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice Spa and comfortable rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #64 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
multiple
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location, nice Spa and comfortable rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night. Our room was clean and spacious, with a comfortable large bed in the middle. It was a deluxe room with city view on the 4th floor. The bathroom was clean, very modern and included a bathtub and a stand alone shower with rain shower. Service was friendly and helpful. A very nice touch is the free minibar as well as the Nespresso machine in the room and the free internet. The hotels spa is free for every guest and offers a small pool, Sauna, steam bath and whirlpool. The Spa is not big but maintained very well and we certainly enjoyed it. The only food we consumed at the hotel was breakfast from the room service menu. It was an average breakfast but nothing to complain at 20 Euros per person. One problem the hotel has is the small reception area. A maximum of 2 guests can check in at a time and thus it can take a while until you checked in. The location of the hotel is central, about 5-10 min walk from central station. Overall this is a very nice hotel, maybe not 5 stars according to US standards, but at least 4.5 stars.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldwide_travel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,784
    907
    320
    146
    75
See reviews for
350
1,789
206
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

In January we stayed in this beautiful five-star hotel in the centre of Amsterdam. The building is an old heritage with high ceilings and antique furniture,it almost looks if you go back in time with the luxury of today’s life. The facilities are really luxurious and very modern. A spacious room with a wonderful bathroom, a Nespresso machine, pants press, flatscreen television and so on. The bed was really amazing!

With the hearth of Amsterdam city on walking distance and the friendly helpful staff we have nothing to complain about and will come back for certain!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

I stayed for 3 nights with my partner, The Amrath has a lovey warm luxurious feel about it, it's a fantastic conversion of a shipping building. The rooms are spacious with high celings, the decor is rich and tasteful and the beds are fantastic just soooo comfortable you have to drag yourself out. Great having a coffee machine and free mini bar just added to the feeling of being pampered. The spa is really nice and open to 11pm, they could do with a few more relaxation beds around the pool.

The staff where very helpful and friendly. The amrath is a great location to see the city. Just catch the train from the airport it's about a fifteen minute ride to central station and the Amrath is 500yds from the station (15min walk).

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

My wife and I recently stayed at the Amrath and loved every minute of it. The bed was so comfortable it was hard to get out of. The bathroom was luxurious! Loved the free mini-bar and the Nespresso machine (my wife now wants one of these). Staff was extremely friendly. There really wasn't anything I found less than excellent. WELL WORTH staying here.

  • Liked — The size of the room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mishuggina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2009

My boyfriend and I decided to go on a weekend break to Amsterdam and wanted to stay in a luxurious hotel.

We arrived at the Amrath and the building was absolutely amazing - as was inside. It had very modern decor and the Check-In staff were very friendly as was the Doorman! Our room was non-smoking and we must have been upgraded as it was very large and roomy. The bathroom and everything was spotless, all of the fixtures were brand new and it was really impressive.

The curtains were remote control (my boyfriend loved this) andthere were lots of little mod-cons that really added to the room. The rom was decorated modernly but with a European style so it was a nice contrast and really worked as you were in luxury but also had a bit of tradition in your surroundings.

We didnt get round to breakfast (Amsterdam really is a lively city) but the Amrath is really near lots of restaraunts and also the Red Light District so everything is in walking distance! The hotel was so nice i'd definately go back!!

The only thing that i could complain about was that we were promised that the spa and pool would be open for us going however due to delays it wasnt open but it'd not really the hotels fault so i cant really complain too much!!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TheEll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

We stayed at Hotel Amrath from January 3-5 2009. The building itself is beautiful inside and out. Be sure to take a walk up the lobby stairs to discover the stained glass dome ceiling among other details along the way. The layout is sort of like a maze, but I enjoyed it and had it figured out pretty quick. The room was larger than the 5 star I stayed at in Paris, and the bathroom was really big. The tub is very deep and had a seperate shower, double sinks, lit mirror, etc. Room had high ceilings, a VERY comfortable bed, free mini bar (nice feature), an espresso machine, pants press, etc. The only thing weird was the placement of the TV. We had to move it around or lay the other way on the bed if we wanted to relax and watch.

The restaurant had an okay buffet breakfast, but it was sort of pricey. I think it was 25 euros a person. The dinner there for me, being vegetarian, wasn't anything exciting. But my friends had rack of lamb and seabass and loved it.

The employees were very helpful and kind to us. They also provided plug adapters free of charge (on loan) which was nice.

The pool, sauna, and steam room were great. The hot tub was the same temp as the pool, so not really a hot tub.

Maybe a two minute walk to the train station and the tram. Very close to the downtown area and red light district. I would recommend this hotel to others for sure. The building is just so neat and it's in a central area.

  • Liked — The architecture of the building, the bed, huge windows, high ceilings
  • Disliked — TV Position to the bed, no smoking
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ambielf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

My partner and I spent four nights in October at the Amrath and loved it. We stayed in a junior suite with a canal view and were really gobsmacked by the dramatically high vaulted ceiling, the wall of huge windows, and the beautifully appointed furnishings. The bathroom was awesome and the free mini-bar was a definite plus. Breakfast was excellent. The spa was nice, though could use more fitness equipment.

My one gripe is that the front desk and concierge staff is aloof if not altogether useless. The concierge was clueless. He unwisely advised us against purchasing the “I AMsterdam” card (which would have saved us serious money); gave us completely wrong information about the city’s major museum and the canal cruises; and, most annoyingly, didn’t even know that there is a historic windmill within walking distance of the hotel. In fact, he insisted we were wrong! (We weren’t.) A 5-star hotel really needs a 5-star staff.

  • Liked — location and overall design
  • Disliked — concierge
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Globetrotter1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,202 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#29 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,247 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing