We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #68 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Levallois-Perret, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights with my wife and son, the room was big and well equipped.
The free open bar is good gesture, you do not feel urged to spend money very time you want something, there is 8-10 bottles of soda beer and water so it is nice to be able to grab a drink when you come back after a day out. The spa is also a life saver at night, it is open until 11pm.
The spa is bigger than expected with several sauna room (70°, 90°and a small one), jacuzy, swimming pool and 2 steam rooms.
The breafast is expensive but the food overall is expensive in Amsterdam.
We enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back,it is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franck_vil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,068
    1,039
    367
    178
    95
See reviews for
417
2,096
220
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights and loved the Amrath. We had a superior-level room with huge windows on the second floor overlooking the canal. The room was lovely, staff were friendly and helpful and responded to all requests really quickly. We didn't eat in the main dining room but did eat in the bar and found both food and service excellent and of good value. Moreover this is a remarkable building - my husband and I were blown away by the beautiful art nouveau and art deco details, both inside and out. In fact I spent a certain amount of time just photographing this hotel. I think Amsterdam overall is remarkable in this sense, but the Amrath is really exceptional. We fell in love with the place. To me, the only drawback is the location in the old town somewhat near the red light district, coffeeshops, etc. When we walked the local area we saw some 'characters' who made us a little uncomfortable. I can't say it's dangerous as no one approached us nor did we have any troubles, at all - it was just a tone thing, it was not for us - but we easily circumvented by hopping on the trams and going to other parts of the city - art museums, Spiegelkwartier, Jordaan, the zoo, Stopera (where we saw an amazing "Falstaff" that I can't recommend highly enough). A great hotel, it's good though just to be aware what the area is like. I'd stay here again, certainly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the canal side and on an upper (not ground) floor. The other side of the hotel is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarissa_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Hotel has a lovely style. Big marble staircase and quirky rooms. I was staying here on my own, meeting friends the next day so while I only stayed for one night it was a good experience.

The bed was very comfy, the free stocked mini bar is great and the coffee machine and pods in the room was a welcome addition. Free wifi adds to package.

The only issue I had was the room was very hot. The air control only lets you change +/- 3oC. Although it doesn't tell you what the standard temperature is so it's a tad limited. I did get maintenance to come and upon the windows in the room though and that solved my issue for the duration of my stay.

I managed to get a single room at a very reasonable rate and would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone looking for a vibrant hotel in central Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottish_Steveo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kopavogur, Iceland
2 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Everything was great! Service, staff and the rooms. The standard rooms are very big and both shower and bath. Food at the hotel was amazing. Free Wifi and free minibar.
The staff was so friendly. Good location.
Wellness center and the gym was very clean and comfort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aslaug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We would agree with others reviews in that this hotel is 4 rather than 5 star. If it didn't have the spa then it probably would be 4 star. The hotel has a style that makes it look like something out of a horror film, which is charming in its own way.

We had requested a king size room and this was accommodated. Our room on the first floor was a good size with a very high ceiling and the biggest curtains we have ever seen outside of a cinema. Overall room was well equipped although the wardrobe would be small for a long stay.

The inclusion of the free mini bar is a nice touch although they only give you one tea bag and little milk if this is what you want.

Breakfast was not included in our booking via eBookers and was very expensive, ?27 for an English breakfast. We eat out every morning.

Helpful?
1 Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Very convenient location - close to the train station - our travel mode. Loved the rooms. It was once a shipping company (I think) so the rooms are not the standard, boxey variety but very comfortable with much space and feature a complementary minibar! Ours had a wonderful canal view and seperate room for the toilet away from the tub/shower - wish all hotels had this. The breakfast was as good as it gets with a wide range of choices. Did not eat in the main dining room in the evening there but did visit the bar that we found staffed by friendly, competent people. All in all,the staff was well trained, very friendly and helpful. The rooms were cleaned to a high standard and we were impressed that the maid checked back at the end of the day to be sure we were satisfied. In-room coffee was wonderful. Booked tickets thru the hotel for several venues and again the staff was helpful with information that saved us much time. Would stay there again if we return to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Marked the Spa as 'excellent' based on other's comments. Did not use it personally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEL455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed for 3 nights and had a great experience. The hotel is very clean and the staff was extremely nice. The hotel building is beautiful and walking distance from central station which is close to everything. The room is definitely 5-star quality with a free mini-bar and Nespresso machine. The bathroom is modern with a deep tub and the beds are very comfortable. I did not try the restaurant but it looked very elegant. I did not visit the spa or pool area but it was free to visit u like other hotels in Europe.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing