We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best stays ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #66 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best stays ever”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This hotel is a quirky in its layout, but grand. The room was huge, high ceilings and lots of square footage. The mattress and pillows were very comfortable. The shower has really hot water and great showerhead settings. Complementary toiletries were of high quality.

The complentary mini bar served us very well. It had wine, beer, liquor, sodas, water, a selection of coffee/tea, and a small bag of snack product. It was replenished everyday, maybe twice a day.

The spa was a great way to relax between morning and evening outings. There's a heated pool, hot tub, and saunas.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justgomia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,037
    1,031
    361
    173
    93
See reviews for
410
2,063
219
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (755)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ALABAMA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Grand hotel, near all attractions and the central train station, very easy to get anywhere in Amsterdam from here. This is a true landmark hotel the stonework is something to see. The room we had was a corner room with great views of the city, it was very large by European standards and the bathroom was very roomy and modern. The bed was of very good quality and the room had free minibar. We did not eat at the restaurant but did eat in the bar and the food was very good and the waiter was very helpful. I spoke the front desk several times and they were very helpful each time. This is a hotel that I could stay at time after time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TIDE2124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limal, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This hotel is just perfect! Wonderful view, pool, spa, etc.

The bedroom we had was amazing with high roof, authomatic curtains, bif barh & batheroom.
The service is incredible! we had just arrived and decided to go to the pool after a shower. When we went back in our room, the soaps where already changed and the room tidied and we were there for only 2 hours!
Thanks for this wonderful time in your hotel!

Hope to come back soon.

Room Tip: I asked for a room in a higher level, the view was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauravde40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I really loved this place, one of my faves in Amsterdam!!! Yes, free mini-bar that is restocked daily. People complain about the check in process, but I like that too. Sitting down is more intimate and different than all other hotels. I was upgraded and checked in early, cant beat that! Red colored halls not too thrilled about and the steam room could use a little more steam, but everything else is AWESOME!!!! You would not not be disappointed booking this Hotel. Also very close to Amsterdam Central Station.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

In December 2013,I stayed again,in this wonderful,unique hotel.

I was so pleased to be upgraded again.The two room,suite had everything I needed.

The minibar,which is free,was restocked,daily.

The rooms were cleaned everyday,and cleaned by early afternoon,at the latest.

All of the staff,including management,treated me like an old friend and were also very professional.

Breakfast,was the only meal,I had on this trip.I tried,different restaurants,in the evening,with friends.

I look forward,to returning,this summer.

I ,definitely,suggest a stay at this hotel,for a wonderful experience of a hotel with charm,great staff,beds,which are so comfortable,getting up is difficult and excellent food and drink.

I am confident,you will return again and again.

Room Tip: Discuss,your room preferences,with the receptionists,before arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Samuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
272 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My partner and I visited the Grand Hotel Amsterdam over a long weekend break away and we were certainly not disappointed.

Very good location close to central station around 5 minute walk and also right near to the centre of Amsterdam.

Our room was large and the bed was exceptionally comfortable, There was a complimentary mini bar which lasted throughout our stay. Reception and concierge were more than happy to assist us and they were very polite and welcoming.

An excellent weekend in all in an excellently run hotel with staff who clearly enjoy what they do. We would love to return soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_Chopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here for our 1 night overstay in Amsterdam prior to heading to Venice for 2 days to catch a 22 day cruise through Greece, etc. This property is like a a wonderful maze with hidden hallways, elevators, and a stoic presence from the street; it looks so gothic and regal. While we were checking in, groups of people were taking pictures of the exterior and then wrapped inside to the interior to look at the carvings and all the marble. It's a wicked looking place. Our room was # 418-we had 14ft ceilings and the room was nice with auto-close drapes (we need to buy these for our house!). The front desk person said that everything in the fridge was comped, so we enjoyed the liquid comfort. Would recommend this place to the artsy, creative sort that likes to stay at a more unusual place. Down the street are the canals, places where we watched traffic for hours while drinking Heineken at a cafe with the sun kissing our cheeks. I'll stay here again. WiFi worked great and had very strong signal in our room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poshinPORTLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
434 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,413 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing