We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Phenomenal in most every respect - wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
East Hampton
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Phenomenal in most every respect - wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Outside of the corporate feel, this place is the money. We had a luxury canal view room that was unbelievable! It was decorated in Louis XV style, and huge. It was so nice, that it was difficult to leave! Amsterdam is a lovely city, with gorgeous architecture and canals, boats, etc., so we did make it out and around town, but getting back to our hotel and enjoying Heineken on tap at the hotel, across the street al fresco, and pretty much everywhere was special! The hotel is centrally located to everything - likely the best spot in town, and didn't realize it until stayed at a number of other hotels (quite expensive ones, like Blakes (may have changed names since), the Okura, and others). Don't be fooled, this is where you want to be! There are apparently some charming converted townhouse hotels that are supposedly quite good, but why chance it? We chanced it with Blakes, actually just looked up and now it's the "Dylan," and were actually horrified at the dark chambered rooms that were claustrophobic, and the common areas that were overly modern and white and surreal - not our style, and apparently not that of most! Freddy Heineken should be proud of his lasting legacy here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,776
    904
    319
    145
    75
See reviews for
348
1,785
204
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I lucked out and got an excellent price on a Superior room at Grand Hotel Amrath and am so glad I decided to stay there. I happen to love art nouveau design and this is one of the most beautiful nouveau buildings I've ever seen. As a former shipping house, it is full of amazing nautical-themed art nouveau stained glass and sculpture. Every detail of the place is amazing. The rooms, further, are spacious, with at least 20 foot ceilings, enormous windows, and fresh, modern bathrooms. The cherry on top is the free minibar and nespresso coffee maker. This hotel made me wish I had a week in Amsterdam rather than just a day. My only complaint is that breakfast (which looked somewhat meager) is not included. But that's a small price to pay for such stunning surrounds. Yes, the combo of the carpet and wallpaper was a little jarring, but the place is a 15 - 20 minute walk from almost all major tourist sights, so that's a small price to pay. Can't wait to go back as soon as I have the chance.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
117 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Visiting this hotel is worth it for the sake of the building alone: beautiful!! I didn't get a room with a view to the canals as I had asked (the hotel was full and this wasn't possible), however the room I got was gigantic and with all the comfort one would expect. The free minibar was a nice detail. This is an elegant, stylish place full of history, close to the Central Station, and you can walk everywhere. I didn't have time for the spa, which is supposed to be very good. Next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Very good location close to central station and to the centre of Amsterdam. The free mini bar which is stocked daily is a really nice addition. The only downside we found was the rooms were very warm, we tried having the thermostat on as low as possible but still too warm. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Excellent hotel at walking distance from everything-5 minutes from the Central station,10 minutes from the shopping streets and department stores,15 minutes from a very nice zoo,30 minutes from the museum quarter,5 minutes from the red light district,etc.
The hotel is located in a historic landmark building dating back to the 1913 but the equipment is modern including here coffee machines, lcd tv, WiFi.The rooms are equipped with large safety boxes,you can easily put a big laptop inside.
There's a well equipped wellness center with a swimming pool and a jacuzzi.
The rooms are clean and comfortable.
The staff is very friendly.
Negative moments-the shower cabin is open,so after taking a shower the floor of the bathroom is all covered with water.And -but this is probably my personal problem-the bed mattress is too soft.But this is a matter of taste ...and personal health.

Room Tip: rooms with canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evgueni2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

A unique art deco style hotel which was earlier a shipping house. Room was very spacious overlooking a beautiful canal with large windows that could be opened. A free minibar with a great selection of drinks which was re-stocked daily. Just a few minutes walk away from the action of central Amsterdam but in a quiet and peaceful area. Also just a short walk to Centraal Station. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rish222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Came to Amsterdam for a long weekend Fri-Mon, spent 3 nights at the Amrath which was really
worth the money. Staff were very nice and helpful. The facilities in the room were excellent and there was a small gym. There wasn't much equipment and it was a bit old but did the job for me and my partner. Had a lovely lunch in the restaurant on Sunday and again the staff were very good. It has lovely ornate decoration in foyer and rooms with a superb main staircase (check out the skylight on top floor). Had a lovely stay in Amsterdam and the hotel really helped - lovely!! Very close to train station and other attractions. Many thanks to all of the staff

Room Tip: Rooms on 3rd floor were lovely and quiet. could also view the fantastic skylight on the main stairca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mistylee1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#29 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,241 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing