We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Gold and Bold” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #69 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Ludhiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Old Gold and Bold”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Beautiful heritage building in the Heart of Amsterdam at walking distance from Dam Square .
The rooms are Grand and have a nice view . Make sure you get it booked right as the rooms on the interior have no view.
The breakfast was well laid , The Mini Bar is fantastic . Authentic spirits in there .
Well heated and maintained spa with swimming pool and Jacuzzi

The managements responds well when asked for something .

Polite staff and nice co guests .

And they have some fab deals . Do check with them before booking ..

Room Tip: Rooms facing the canal are the best ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pukhraj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,852
    946
    335
    154
    82
See reviews for
367
1,872
209
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

This is my second stay at the Amrath and I have visited amsterdam countless times and stayed in some nice hotels.
I will not stay anywhere else in this city since descovering the Amrath.
The building is nothing less than magnificent, especially inside as there are many dramatic architectural features to enjoy (im no expert but it looks amazing)
This is also a very unique hotel experience as this is a converted building that is over a hundred years old.
The staff are very friendly, attentive and genuinely happy to help.
Both times I have stayed I have been upgraded to suite without having to ask which is unusually generous of a hotel and a very well received perk!
Minibar and coffee is included and regularly stocked up so you dont have to feel stupid about drinking a €7 bottle of water from your minibar like in most hotels- this is a small thing but a nice touch.
We were welcomed with champagne and a note from the manager.
My sincerest gratitude to the amrath team for another great stay, keep up the good work.

I have stayed here as a couple and with a relative, I also think it would be equally as good for business trips or with a family.

For want of a better phrase- I'll be back!

James Dunn

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

My husband and I just spent seven nights at the Amrath, and LOVED everything about it, as we had 4 years ago.

The staff is wonderful: the reception staff, concierge and bellmen couldn't have been more helpful, accommodating, nicer, friendlier. The location was perfect for us: it is on a canal, near the train station, with easy access to any place by foot or by public transportation.

The building itself is unique as are each of the guest rooms. Although we did not dine in the hotel we did enjoy spending time in the bar. Having free wifi and free minibar were a treat as well.

In short, we cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Each room is different so it is just a matter of personal preference. We like seeing street action...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanschweitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Positives:
- Historical look
- Close to many attractions and central station, has water view
- Free unlimited WiFi, free mini bar, free coffee machine
- Pool

Improvements:
- Old Hallways
- Ease of checking in/out
- Revolving front entrance door (the only main one), hard to push luggage through it

Close to:
Chinatown, Royal Palace, Old/New Church

Stayed in Nov. 2013

- Very close to Amsterdam Central Station, Chinatown, numerous attractions
- Historical building, sit-down check-in inside front office, halls are little old fashioned looking, but pairs well with the building's exterior
- Spacious rooms with free mini bar (restocked daily) and free coffee machine, as well as free WiFi, remote controlled curtains (functioned properly for us, but many commented on something weird with the curtains which I won't mention here)
- Great swimming pool with man-made starlit night sky, as well as a gym and saunas
- The staff are very nice and professional, overall

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MingMingJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doune, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel lived up to it's 5 star status. A lovely big room, large comfortable bed, strong free wifi internet signal, plus the best, warmest hotel swimming pool I've ever experienced. I would be more than happy to stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We booked this Hotel as it looked Grand and we loved the personality and location. We were not disappointed. Historic building that has been refurbished with great thought keeping details that are unique.
As we approached we were greeted by a red carpet and a team of smiling professional staff that were attentive to detail.
Our room was spacious with very high ceilings. The windows so enormous we had to have electric curtains to be able to close them - A novelty that my husband too control of.
Bed was comfortable as the rest of the room which was well kept by housekeeping that came in and made sure everything was perfect before our return in the evening.
The decor in the room was not my taste but grew on me as the days went on.
Bar was excellent, Restaurant very good. Food superb. Location great and easy to find.
All in all an excellent city break with style. Loved the umbrellas by the door as we did need them as we did see a lot of rain.
Look forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrmandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaca, Larnaca, Cyprus
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel room was very good staff friendly mini bar good little extra bar pretty expensive but hotel in great area for exploring around did not have breakfast or use the spa so cannot comment on these. Would definitely use again when in Amsterdam

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#13 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,249 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#27 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 893 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing