We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #66 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Larnaca, Larnaca, Cyprus
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel room was very good staff friendly mini bar good little extra bar pretty expensive but hotel in great area for exploring around did not have breakfast or use the spa so cannot comment on these. Would definitely use again when in Amsterdam

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,038
    1,031
    361
    174
    93
See reviews for
410
2,065
219
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (756)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cathedral City, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

I took a chance on this hotel as I normally stay at the Renaissance when on business in Amsterdam. The plusses: (1) truly remarkable architecture (2) very spacious rooms (by European standards) with amazing vaulted ceilings, a comfortable bed and ample bathroom space. (3) Free mini-bar (4) lovely indoor swimming pool.

But what "makes" a five star in my mind is impeccable service and amenities and in this respect the hotel falls short. The staff are "typically Dutch", which is to say strictly focused on policy versus guest satisfaction. They were unwilling to provide an early check in, even though there were clean rooms available in my class - instead they were focused on trying to up sell me to a suite. Most true 5 star hotels would provide the upgrade if space was available.

During my 5 day stay, no member of staff greeted me upon entering the lobby, checked to see if there was anything they could do to be of assistance or showed any interest at all. These are simple things - but they are what define 5 star hotels.

The gym is unacceptable - one broken, old bow flex machine and a weight bench with a couple older cardio machines. Truly not 5 star quality.

The common areas need some refurbishing to make them more luxurious - though there was a note advising that new carpeting was on the way - which would make a positive difference.

Bottom line - I paid a 4 star rate and got a 4 star hotel, so I am satisfied. But I will likely return to the Renaissance as they have better service standards and a lovely gym.


Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank OnePassPlatinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in a superior double with a city view room. We asked for a high floor (obviously this is relative in Amsterdam as they do not have particularly tall buildings) and we had great views over the roof tops towards the city. The room was spacious and you could sit on the window sill with a beer (other drinks are available) and watch the sun go down. Bed was very comfortable with big feather pillows. The free mini bar is also a really good concept - clearly they have worked out how much people use it and it is built into the room rate but we still think it is a great feature. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. We had a snack in the bar one evening - which was good quality and tasty - however we did not have breakfast or any other meals in the hotel so don't know the quality. The spa was very good. Pool, steam room, sauna x 2, hot tube. A small gym as well. The location is great - just a 10 minute amble to the old town with its interesting window displays... We are always a bit confused by ratings of hotels but to us this was a very good four star - not a true five star. But don't let that put you off. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank randj06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Mass
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Beautiful redone old shipping building near train station.Easy walking distance to restaurants and boat trips along canal.The hallways are somewhat dark.,and almost maze like .Our room had a canal view, it was very big! The bath accessories were great, along with the fluffy robes they provide.I must say the bed was incredibly comfy with a nice downlike comforter.The breakfast was very nice ,and included many items you don't see often.It was about 25 Euros.The mini bar is complimentary.It is restocked each day,although popcorn was the only food item.Would recommend highly!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Lovely Art Deco building and sympathetic interior refurb. Great location.Staff very helpful,and our anniversary stay was made special for us. The bed was WONDERFUL,one of the best we've ever slept in.Complimentary minibar (a rare commodity these days!).Room with a city view was first class.with the original high-ceiling still there!. Only one negative,my husband slipped while trying to get into the hot-tub in the Spa.Injured his foot and knee because steps into tub are deceptive and cannot be clearly seen if tub is running. Luckily no permanent injury,but this happened on our second (anniversary)day so the old g.t had to hobble round for the remaining 3 days. So be warned if using the hot-tub!! Otherwise we would use this hotel again,we preferred it to the American.

Room Tip: Get a city view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed her while on a business trip, the checkin was an experience where they sit you down in an office an tell you all about the hotel. I was given an upgrade to a Junior suite which was fantastic and had a great view, I made good use of the free minibar! Yes a free minibar! And a well stocked one too. The hotel is in a great location five minutes walk fro the train station and five minutes from Dam square. Bed was very comfortable great mattress. The hotel has a really nice pool and gym area. The only negative was the €25 breakfast which was not included and I only had once in my three night stay, it was not worth €5, self service everything was cold even the coffee. I also didn't like being surprised with a €30 departure city tax which wasn't on the booking price although I feel a bit bad complaining about it as they did upgrade me. I would definitely stay again and highly recommend it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Joetraynor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Good location, friendly staff, clean room, comfortable bed. The building is old, and I could see they are working to make it better (but there is only so much you can do with the old building). The internet was very spotty, but I did get a letter from management indicating that they were upgrading the wireless, so your experience may be better in the future. I would stay here again and would recommend if a good room rate can be found.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3riq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
437 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,414 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing