We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“We expected more.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #64 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Wolfville, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“We expected more.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This was the last hotel we visited on our 6 week trip in Europe. We had booked this hotel due to it's location and because we were hoping for a bit of luxury before our journey home. While we were quite pleased with the location and found the building to be very architecturally interesting, our room and the service provided was not 5 star, in our opinion and as noted by others. As there is not a registration desk checking in is a little unusual. You are ushered into a room containing two people who take your information and an exorbitant deposit (300 euros) on a pre-paid room. The deposit seems more unusual as their well stocked mini bar is free. Once registered we made our way to our room which was small and the furniture was awkwardly arranged, not very functional. We had difficulty unpacking due to lack of storage and had to rearrange furniture to actually use the space that was available. Once most of our unpacking was complete we attempted to use the television only to find that it was missing its power cord. We called down to the desk to have this matter rectified but over an hour later no one had bothered to visit our room. That being said the bathroom was a good size and well equipped with nice toiletries. We did have a chance to use the swimming pool and we both found it to be quite nice and well maintained. While not the worst hotel we ever stayed in, considering the price we paid it does not stack up to other five star properties that are roughly the same price or less.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrancescaEdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,786
    907
    320
    146
    75
See reviews for
350
1,790
206
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Loved this place! Great location. Comfortable, warm, huge bath. Free mini Bar! Breakfast very expensive! My MAJOR issue was the 200 Euro deposit I had to pay on arrival that I was not informed about leaving me to pay it out of my holiday money. Was the only thing that let it down for me

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We took a night here to make use of the spa and hit the town. Fantastic junior suite with excellent bathrooms and room design. High ceilings, free minibar etc. Wifi was tediously slow so working was hard. Easier to go to a cafe ( they all have decent wifi). The spa in the basement is great with a medium sized pool which has an LED ceiling which looks like a night sky filled with stars. Several saunas. Limited number of recliners but after 8.30 pm we were practically alone there.

Reception service is usually really good but considering the 5 star rating I was expecting more. Perhaps it was a stressful day or new on the job bug no information on the hotel, incorrect information on the hottub ( wasnt working, which we asked about), wasnt offered a second key despite being two people checking in, etc. Also checkout was a little slow. Breakfast was not included which we found surprising.

Really a nice Hotel for Amsterdam though and close to the very centre + station.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CCcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

A 4 star hotel that claims to be a 5 one. Not bad but do not expect too much from the money (a lot) that you spend. We got the superior room with nice interiors and comfortable beds but view wasn't great, internet didn't work well and the service was a bit strange. Key and robs disappeared). There are for sure better ones in that area for a better value.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FazFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glsgow
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The hotel itself is in a great location. I found the decor quite stark, cold and not homely at all. in fact it was verging on creepy for me. It does look like they've tried to take it back to its original beauty but just not my taste at all. Beware of the £150 holding fee at check in too. The pool area is nice and a god send after padding the streets all day. We opted out of breakfast as £25 pp per day is just a tad steep. The staff were very courteous, the rooms were cleaned daily and the free mini bar was good (and what tempted us in the first place) but to be honest i'd rather have booked a boutique hotel that felt homely and took a bottle of vod with me. Forgot to say, it was my partners 50th when we visited the hotel staff left a birthday card and a lovely little cake in the room for him which was a very kind gesture! ps the holding fee was released the day after we got home and we were charged an additional £20 but dont know what for - might've been for the cake that we never ordered!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glaslas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Having arrived tired and stressed from a long drive up from Calais, the moment we entered the hotel was like a breath of fresh air. The concierge took our bags and parked the car for us, the hotel check in was quick and friendly. The room was the size of a small apartment, the free alcohol and coffee in the mini bar were gratefully consumed and the bed was the most comfortable we had stayed in. If you add to that the lovely staff, gorgeous food, the quick room service, the cake and card and chocolates they laid out for my wife's birthday and the deepest most relaxing bath ever, we were more than impressed. Do yourselves a favour if you are coming to Amsterdam and stay here. You wont regret it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliTriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Beautiful Hotel, excellent staff. A sumptuous breakfast. In a fabulous old building. The furnishings were beautiful, modern bathroom. Very nice coffee machines in the rooms. Complimentary mini bar was a nice surprise. Very nice bar meals. We loved it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherrabun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,202 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#29 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,247 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing