We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best spot in Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #73 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Amrath, last year. We traveled to Europe trough Schiphol so on our way back we decided to stay two nights in Amsterdam. We chose this hotel because of the central location but very peaceful and quit. Because we visited on two rainy autumn days the spa was a blessing. The only complaint we had was not against the hotel but against some tourists. While enjoining the spa two tourists( a 50 something year old couple ) entered the spa completely naked.
They were siting in the sauna , jacuzzi and pretty much everywhere without even using a towel.... When we called the front desk and they where escorted out they stared screening at us that they forgot their bathing suits and anyway we don't understand the real concept of a spa....... Other than that it is a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors and with a city view
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mistretu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,925)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,740 - 1,746 of 3,925 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

Had booked and paid in advance using Expedia but there was no room for us and we were moved to The Marriott. Quite possibly they did us a favour: that was an excellent hotel nearer where we needed to be for the Amsterdam 8k. And they did arrange for us to have free breakfast there. Plus we had an executive room. So for us it worked out well but thats not really the point: a 5 star hotel should never make such an error. Oh, and the lobby wasn't really to my taste!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. Free upgrade to junior suite with city view. Lovely spacious room with very comfortable king size bed. Great bathroom facilities. Free minibar has to be a plus and made full use of it especially as it was topped up daily. Breakfast not cheap but good choice. Pool and spa area quite nice though jacuzzi and steam room not working during our stay, but was nice to relax in the pool after a busy day walking. Lovely meal in the hotel restaurant. Lazy Sunday high tea very nice and worth the money for late check out and amount of food/ drink available. Overall a lovely place to stay .

Room Tip: Invest in a tram ticket for the duration of your stay or there's lots of walking to really see A...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kirsty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the Amrath for 4 nights in October with friends. The hotel is just a short walk from the station and very hard to miss given its grand exterior. The main reason for visiting was to see Fleetwood Mac [great concert] and see the city.

On arrival at the hotel we were warmly welcomed by the staff and shown into a quaint old office that is reception. A “congratulation on your anniversary” was the welcome, how did they know that we thought. After quickly sorting out the formalities we were shown to our rooms, both clean and well presented in a tasteful art deco fashion. Exceptionally comfortable bed, best nights sleep in ages. The Nespresso machine was great for coffee and the mini-bar welcome after long days sight seeing and for pre-dinner drinks with friends.

Oh yes … a big Thank You to the AMRATH for the little welcome that was in our room to help celebrate our Wedding Anniversary.

Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Whiteley_Meerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I've stayed at the Amrath in the past and was saddened to see see how quickly the level of quality has fallen. The stunning architecture of the building remains but sadly - the hotel has not kept itself up to date internally.

I found the staff to be generally unhelpful.

They have one of the worse wifi connections ive' ever seen with a speed that is so slow it would often take hours to send a single e-mail. Each time I have stayed at the hotel the internet has been terrible and each time they give the same excuse saying a engineer has been called. The fact is - there internet is terrible and all business customers - take my advice and look elsewhere. It truly is appalling considering Amsterdam is one of the world's tech capitals.

Also disappointed with the spa -on 2 visits this year - dirty towels were all over the place. On my last visit yesterday - there were a group of guys drinking openly from spirit bottles and playing loud music in the relaxation area and the staff did nothing until we complained. There'a time and place for that but downtime in a spa is not one of the the

Waking round the hotel - carpets need replacing and the rooms are still way too dark . This is a 3 star hotel with 5 star prices.


For the price, the deteriorating level of service -I'm afraid i won't be staying here any longer and was glad to check out .

Room Tip: I've only stayed in rooms which have been very very very dark - ask for one with natural light.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gavin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Spent two nights at this hotel and expected a great hotel since it is a very expensive one but was very disappointed. The stuff was sometime very unpleasant and in other times did not care much. For checking in and out we had to stand up since they have a strange set up in which in an office there are two reception stuff and we had to wait out side by the door for a long time until we were served. Breakfast was good but very expensive 25 euro. The Wi-fi signal was very weak upon complaining I was told that they are about to replace the system. I was told that it is an accessible hotel for handicap but was astonish to find out that there are 10 stairs at the entrance to the hotel with not ever a rail. Later I was told that they have some kind of "elevator" to a side door and every time we left or return to the hotel we had to ask somebody to open the door for us - very inconvenient to say the least. I will not return to this hotel nor recommend it to any of my friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shoshravid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights at this hotel and we were expecting something great as it was not cheap, but it was not like that. The staff were ok and not too worried about helping us. The reception had a weird set up, not really possible to hang out by he lobby. The location was ok, but later I realized I'd rather stay closer to the Museum District or Jordaan area. Honestly, the best thing about this hotel was the bed as it was very comfortable, and the fact that the room got completely dark even when it was very bright outside, but everything else was just ok. For the price they charge, I was expecting more than ok.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simoniinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,467 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#81 of 371 in Amsterdam
3,303 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,537 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $221 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing