We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent wellness centre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #66 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent wellness centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. It's a gorgeous building and in a good location. The staff are very friendly and helpful and we got it for a very good price. Loved the spa/sauna and Turkish steam bath area. Very clean and well maintained. I was only told about the massage special when we checked out which was a blow as I could've gone a massage after our long flight. Still highly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in Amsterdam central. We are thinking of booking for our last two nights again in 4 weeks time but the price is not as good.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Fabes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,859
    950
    335
    154
    82
See reviews for
367
1,879
209
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had planned this trip to Amsterdam rather last minute and to be honest, booked this hotel because it offered the best price for a 5* hotel only 3 days prior to traveling. The reviews we read were somewhat mixed, but this hotel turned out to be a gem that I would return to without hesitation! We arrived at the hotel from Schiphol airport quite early in the morning and were advised that they might not be able to offer us a room until the afternoon, so we checked our bags in with the bellman and went out for some breakfast. Upon returning to the hotel only about 2 hours later (1000) to inquire on the status of an available room, we were told that our room was ready!

The hotel itself is of fantastic "art deco" design and was formerly used as a cargo/shipping center. The hotel, through it's renovation was able to keep much of the charm and many of the unique features from it's past. Upon entering the room, I noticed the high ceilings and comfortable design, very inviting! The bathroom was well appointed and had a luxurious feel. The only downside to the bathroom was that the door was glass, with only the middle section of glass frosted so a view from the room wasn't possible. The bathroom situation is not conducive for families, at least not in the king room. On the upside, the minibar in all of the rooms in this hotel is free of charge, INCLUDING wine/beer and spirits and is replenished once daily! I've never stayed at a hotel where this service is offered free of charge and found this to be a pleasant surprise!

The hotel also offers a very nice fitness/pool and spa area with whirlpool tub and a saline pool which proved to be a relaxing oasis after a day of walking and touring around!

Aside from the hotel itself, the location was fantastic, offering access to the central train station with only a 5 minute walk or so.

All in all, this hotel turned out to be a great find! Value for the money spent was great and the location, amenities and service made the entire package worthwhile!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjlhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just back from a 3 night stay. Lovely rooms although we have to be moved as we had booked a twin room and were given a double. Both rooms were spacious and quiet. Free mini bar and the Nespresso machine were a bonus. We had the French breakfast in the bar which was huge and kept us going all day!. The spa was fab, not huge but it was never very busy and a pleasure to use. The only downsides were the wait to check in/out there always seemed to be a queue there and there is no relaxing lounge with sofa's and arm chairs or at least we never found one. Make sure you go up to the 3rd floor and check out the windows.

Room Tip: 2nd & 3rd floor rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjl115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Have stayed here several times and have never been disappointed.Former commercial property turned hotel which overlooks a former dock an the new Library it offers the visitor comfort and good service.Like to have a room on the upper floors and this was provided with a good view looking out from the city.Cuisine is good here but one has a lot of good quality restaurants nearby.Excellent choice for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Upper rooms are recommended for the vistas they offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bader54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

If you're tired of carbon copy hotels where you feel you could be anywhere in the world try the Grand Hotel Amrath in Amsterdam. We had a double room with a high ceiling on 2 levels that had a complimentary mini bar. For once I didn't feel like I was staying in a sauna and the maze of corridors only added to the charm of the stay. It's just a few metres from the station and breakfast is well worth a try at least once during your stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkingclasshero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Me and my lass stayed at the amrath recently and I can totally recommend this hotel. Breakfast was very good, staff very polite and friendly, rooms clean and luxurious, location is very good, bed comfy, sturdy and quiet!
The complimentary mini bar is a very good idea as I'm often amazed at the cost of drinks in hotels. I think it would be a good idea for the majority of hotels to follow this. I imagine the cost of this service is recouped in repeat business.
We will definitely be going back to Amsterdam and we will definitely be staying here when we do

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simonoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just completed an 8-night stay at the Amrath during a very busy trade fair, IBC. Had a group of 6 to look after and staff were beyond great. The concierges were all friendly and helpful and when my many boxes got lost, they helped me get them out of Amsterdam customs.

The breakfast was fantastic and the gal Cristen who runs the shipping department deserves a promotion! I had to leave in a big hurry and she actually packed up my boxes had them sent to me. this hotel's service is the best I have come across in a very long time. Our group used to stay at the Grand Sofitel but left last year when it turned into "just another chain". the Amrath is a really cool hotel with free wifi and free mini-bar. I give it 6 plus stars, the staff there really rocks!

My only wish was that the gym was a little better, as the weight room was spare and the equipment a little tired, but all the walking in Amsterdam, you don't really need a good gym.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JodiGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#13 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,254 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#28 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 902 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing