We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're into architecture....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #69 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“If you're into architecture....”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

then come here for a drink at the bar/lounge. Also nice if you're going to/from Centraal station.We weren't lodging here, but both wanted to see the building features with our own eyes. A wierd combination of art-deco and gothic springs to mind. I thought the entrance hall would be roomier, but nevertheless some lovely decor in the public areas. The lounge was quite dark, did have a candle on each table but the ceiling lamps were in keeping with the overall style. We were served not by a barman, but I think possibly a duty manager as it was between shifts for the bar staff. He did his best and was very attentive and polite. Later, the barman served us, a very polite, knowledgable, fast, and pleasant guy. we had cocktails and rose wine. All OK. Nice old elevator. Go up to the 3rd floor hallway and check out the windows from there.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonExplorer76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,111
    1,056
    375
    182
    103
See reviews for
428
2,140
229
346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (786)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in April and could not fault this hotel! We loved it. Room was beautiful with high ceilings, comfortable bed and free mini bar!! We were there for 6 nights, but wished it had been longer! Staff were very attentive and helpful! Stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Upon arrival the check-in went a bit difficult, but staff was very friendly. The hotel looks like a maze, I lost my way actually but that's not so bad, because the building is so historical, it is amazing to discover.

The room I stayed in (102) had a very nice size, was clean (except for some little details), had AC, free minibar, a big closet, big bathroom, nice windows.
I can not give any bad comments about it. Lovely pillows.
Little detail, my hairdryer didn't work like it should, but I didn't gave a notice about that one, because it wasn't that important to me.

The club sandwich was very tasty in the bar.
Breakfast in the morning is perfect.

Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Neighborhood outside the hotel is a bit weird. It's difficult to put my finger on it, because they are also have constructions at the moment.

I would come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

6 adults and 1 child stayed here on our 30 day Euro Trip. We loved this place. It was a 15 minute walk from the train station but with our stroller and backpacks, we made the trek. The pool and sauna area was amazing. My 2 year old son at the time had a blast. Red light district was interesting to walk through with my wife and 2 year old boy :) All the ladies were waving at me, my wife was pinching me :)

All in all, a great time

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WasagalifeDOTcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Grand Hotel Amrath is an amazing old building, with beautiful decor and lovely rooms. Most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in, and my room was large and airy with a great bathroom. Service is well ... it's Dutch - precise and efficient, if not overly warm. Bars and restaurants are excellent and the food is of high quality. Great wellness centre too, with a pool, spa and saunas and a small gym. Close to the city, and the Central Station as well. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyofTank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this hotel! Everything about it was top notch, high quality and over the top superior. We had some of the best food we've ever eaten in their restuarant; had the best service from a waiter we've ever had; and had the biggest, most beautiful and most comfortable room ever! Fantastic location; wonderfully helpful conceirge and the most unique and beautiful old building I've ever seen. Highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: I would highly recommend upgrading to the Superior Deluxe Room. It was definitely worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

First of all, I would like to recommend all the staff who work at this hotel, because they made our stay so pleasant. From Mohammed in the bar to the girls at breakfast and the staff in the wellness centre, they all deserve a special mention. As do the concierge and the reception staff. The room is fabulous appointed, Rituals products in the bathroom, free minibar and espresso machine and WiFi. The bed linen is excellent and breakfast was impetuosity. If you want to stay in the heart of Amsterdam, there not many places better! We loved it!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rolf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,412 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#17 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,495 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#86 of 367 in Amsterdam
3,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing