We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #66 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Linlithgow
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Stay in Amsterdam”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 night break in the Grand Hotel Amrath, Amsterdam. This hotel is in a great location - it's just a short walk from the main railway station in Amsterdam (6 to 7 minutes) and a similar walking time to the famous red light district. There are a number of good restaurants in the locality and used Trip Advisor to help narrow the options. This hotel is a mix of the old with the new. Our room had everything we needed and was furnished to a reasonable standard. The bathroom was particularly modern. The fact that the minibar was complimentary and topped up each day was a bonus! We tried the spa once and although the pool is small it was a good way to finish off a busy afternoon. With regard to room location I recommend you look to get one on the second floor or above. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,088
    1,045
    372
    179
    96
See reviews for
422
2,117
220
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (776)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A masterpiece of architecture so you love it or hate it. I loved it. Although there were some issues. Positives - big rooms, free minibar and internet, comfortable beds, decent breakfast, friendly staff. Negatives - need renovating or at least better maintainance (dirty corners, scratches, faded paint), poor housekeeping (checked in with flooded bathroom and dirty glass doors, dust on surfaces), running mouse in the middle of a dinner in the restaurant (no surprise as we recognised on the floor the food leftovers from the previous evening). Overall - ok. Not impressed, but had a good time thanks to the marvelous city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VassiliG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed for my 40th birthday for 3 nights in June and loved it. The location is great - 5 mins from the station and very central.
Good size room and the bed was very comfy. The fitness spa was fantastic - nice pool, jacuzzi and sauna. We stayed during the week and pretty much had the spa to ourselves each morning.
The staff were very good. On arrival I was greeted with a birthday card and slice of chocolate cake, which was delicious.
The mini bar is free and re-stocked each day, which is great. We didn't eat at the hotel. Breakfast was quite expensive and we chose to eat at different places each day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairecox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was a fabulous break. This is one of the best hotels we have ever been to. The location is perfect with easy access to transport and all sights. The hotel looks impressive from the outside and does not disappoint inside. We were upgraded to a junior suite which was amazing and made us feel like stars. The food was really good but the best part of all was the staff who were all so helpful friendly and genuinely happy in their work. A special mention to Mohammed (barman) who was a wealth of knowledge on where to go and what to do in Amsterdam and also a great character. We would definitely stay in this hotel again.
There roof top bar at the Hilton (just over the road) is also well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Overlooking canal for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTCLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Really bad customer service. I arrived late (11:00pm), having advised the hotel of this. On arrival was told that the hotel was full and the one room available had a damaged floor making the door stiff. Went to see the room as they told me they would have to put me in another hotel and discovered it was okay, only a small section by the door. Told I would be moved in the morning.

Did not unpack suitcase and went to reception in the morning to find out if I should leave it in room. Reception explained that the room was far bigger than the room I had paid for and if I wanted I could stay there. As the floor issue was so small, I said yes.

Went back to room about 4:00pm to find my suitcase was not there and someone else's belongings were in the room! Back to reception to discover they had moved me but unable to explain to me why. Complete lack of communication from reception staff, I could have quite easily taken any of the possessions from the old room so have concerns over the hotel's attitude to security and was very quite glad the new people were not in the room when I walked in.

In short, will not be returning. Poor customer experience. Not 5 star, the only thing that it keeping it 5 star is the free mini bar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here one night as a stopover between the UK & the US. It s ideally situated for this as it is a 5 minute walk from Central Station in the quiet direction. (immediate left as you come out facing the centre, no need to cross until you see it). We had been upgraded to a suite which we loved, unusual shape, towering ceilings & a wall of windows facing on to the canal. This is a very unusual building - formerly shipping offices built in the 1920's with a lot of Art Nouveau detail. It makes the interior corridors rather odd & dark but we loved it. Very comfortable bed & very nice bathroom.
We did not eat here & had no time for breakfast. The hotel is very close to the Zeedijk with all its busy-ness, lots of eating possibilities & of course the red light district. However the hotel a couple of blocks away was in a very quiet place, - that's Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorothyUgchelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. Easily within walking distance of Centraal and a quiet area whilst accessible to bars and shops. Staff were brilliant, didn't try food or wellness spa. Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pindge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#34 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,382 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,469 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
613 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing