We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Vacation last April 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #68 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family Vacation last April 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Nice old looking hotel but very well maintained. We stayed for 3 nights in amsterdam. Rooms looks a bit dark and old but its clean and high ceiling. The mini bar is complimentary. We were in time for the Queens day so we had a problem hiring airport transfers on the day that we were about to leave to we brought our luggages a day before and store them in the airport lockers. The concierge helped us in doing this. Very friendly and accommodating staffs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Engie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,046
    1,033
    363
    174
    93
See reviews for
413
2,069
220
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel looks like a castle. It's 400 m from Amsterdam Central. We loved it right away.
The people who worked there were were both great and neutral. Everyone was service minded and took good care of us. But the guys that worked the evening shift were adorable. They were funny and smiling. They made us laugh and that's what made the hotel experience even better.
The room was cleaned and the bathroom was great.
The bed was the best bed that I've ever slept in at a hotel before. The room keeper that we got the pleasure to meet was cute and polite. Even though we said that she didn't have to clean our room, she clean it when we were out. She even gave us more coffee for the coffee machine (it was only room for 5, but she gave us more than that), because she noticed that we liked it. All the drinks and snacks in the room and minibar were free.
We never had the opportunity to visit the fifth floor (the top), but I keep that in mind that I can visit it the next time I stay here.

We did not visit the spa or it at the hotel, so I can't say anything about it. But I would guess, as the rest of the hotel, that it would be great.

Room Tip: We had rooms in the basement, and it was quit a labyrinth, but that made the hotel more exiting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minstemann87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just back from a short break to Amsterdam and we felt compelled to write about our hotel.

Housed in the former offices of a Shipping Company, this hotel is within easy (if you can avoid the myriad of bicycles) walking distance of Centraal station, even with luggage.

The hotel is on a busy thoroughfare but we were not disturbed at all, even with the window open the traffic noise was tolerable.

As it was my partner's birthday the hotel very kindly sent cake to our room, it's the smallest of gestures but it adds so much to the trip.

We had a complimentary mini bar which was replenished daily and the Wi-Fi (included in our rate) was fast and reliable!

The staff were all well dressed, spoke very good English and were helpful yet professional.

This is by no means a budget option but, for a special occassion, this is THE place to stay in Amsterdam.

We would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 100 which was once a director's office - the bathroom is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alypip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keynsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Have just returned from a great first time visit to Amsterdam, which we thoroughly enjoyed, however I was expecting a little more from this hotel.

IMHO this is not a 5*, carpets were worn and service was not attentive enough for 5*, there seemed to be new staff who maybe needed some more training?

Room was ok, however nothing more than a standard hotel room, yes bed was comfortable, nespresso coffee machine good, yes came in early evening and replaced used cups and replenished tea/coffee, tidied bathroom but no turn down, free minibar good but this is paid for in rate

breakfast ok, hot items left under a heat lamp not my favourite, ordered French toast one morning, don't order if in a rush....., didn't use restaurant or bar so can't comment.

Pool area, small but enjoyed after walking around the city

Checkin made an error on our card and charged 3x to our bank.....not good and this was merely laughed off as the employee was a new starter and not made aware until check out - not happy!

Loved Amsterdam however if/when we go back I would choose more central although this hotel was handy for the central station

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 228marthasharbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is the only hotel that I've been too that has high ceilings in the rooms and the room was very comfortable and beautifully decorated as well. It is a beautiful hotel and they have kept the hotel interior decor to match the past of the hotel which was a shipyard warehouse. It's also the only hotel that I've ever been to that provides the guests with a complimentary minibar everyday whcih was restocked daily. The location of the hotel is excellent, being about a 5-10min walk away from the city and the Amsterdam Centraal Station. The service was excellent and the porter, Stefan, was very friendly and nice. I will definitely stay here again when I'm back in Amsterdam next year. Thank you Grand Hotel Amrath for making it such an pleasant and enjoyable stay for my friend and I.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cljw84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel is a must stay! An excellent location within walking distance of the main downtown area. Excellent service 24/7 with a fantastic restaurant right on site! The pool and spa were clean and relaxing. The rooms were generally clean but a little dusty. Breakfast was AMAZING!!! I wish I was eating one of their croissants right now...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suebdoo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful and in a great location for the city. The rooms are really spacious, and the beds are super comfy. The spa is great and we really enjoyed our time there. The hotel staff were really helpful and polite and happy to help you with any request.
However a word of warning do not eat at the resturant, we had a very traumatic experience there and I would not like anyone else to encounter the aggressive and rude waiter who nearly ruined our trip.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridge29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#7 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing