We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #64 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A great stay”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Fab hotel with Unique features

Wonderful rooms with fabulous Beds and WiFi and complimentary Minibar

Breakfast good but rather expensive at 25 euros, tip ask for the French Toast

Staff efficient, courteous and nothing too much trouble

A great Hotel that deserves its 5 stars

No problem in recommending this Hotel

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank redbridgej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,066
    1,039
    366
    177
    95
See reviews for
417
2,093
220
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rehovot
Level Contributor
119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for six nights in this 5 star hotel. The location is great if you prefer to stay not in the center with all the shops, bars and clubs under your window. Being so close to the central station makes it supper easy to get there from the airport and to take what ever tram/bus you want to your destination in town. The service is perfect. We stayed in a delux room that was well decorated and very comfortable. The mattress was too soft and definitely needs to be replaced. The computers in the business center are in very bad condition. Other then that this is a great choice.

Helpful?
1 Thank Amir B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend break in Amsterdam and what better place to stay is at the grand amrath. A beautiful building which is filled with history and the architecture is simply stunning. Reception/check in was very easy. We arrived at 1400 and our room was already ready! Great service for a Saturday night stay. I had requested a high floor which was honoured and then the check in clerk proceeded to show us to our room! What service. All employees bend over backwards for you, they ask how you are, are you enjoying your stay and if you need anything just ask!
We booked a standard room and to me it was like a delux!!! Very clean and modern. Shower is amazing, great pressure. Comfortable beds, very clean and when we returned after our evening meal it looked as though housekeeping gave us a turndown service, then on top of this the added extra of a FREE mini bar!!! Yes you have read right, i was so impressed. For a sat night we did not hear any noise from other guests, there was a door that closed off to your bedroom quarters but even with that door open we could hear nothing.
The high floor allowed us to view the canal which was beautiful. Amsterdam central station is about a 10min walk away and the dam is about 15min. Very convenient.
My only regret is that we didn't stay for two nights as I would have liked to try out the amenities and spa along with the restaurant.
We highly recommend this hotel, will certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Always ask for a high floor you get great views of the canal. I would not recommend the ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floridasunset_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
180 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I booked this hotel by accident, thought I was booking the Sofitel so was in a bit so a state!! However the hotel was great, I had emailed them and explained by dilemma as it was our wedding anniversary. They were super from the first correspondence. We arrived in AMS after a red eye flight so went to the hotel at 9.30AM. We were delighted our room was already available and we had a beautiful bottle of wine as well as a lovely handwritten card from the Duty manager wishing us a Happy Anniversary and a pleasant stay. Our room was very nice, the free wifi was very good, no problems with the connections. The free mini bar is an added bonus and the rooms were well appointed with the most comfortable beds I have experienced in hotels. We had a deluxe canal view room which was very quiet, the only negative and it is a small one was housekeeping did not clean the bathroom that well. The vanity inits which houses both sinks still had watermarks which did not seem to be cleaned properly when we returned each evening and the floor still had some talc sprinklings from our morning ablutions Not a big issue just a more serious clean would have been better. Think it was a quick mop round as opposed to a proper mop up. However I would recommend this hotel, very close to attractions and close to some nice restaurants including a breakfast option which we used every day rather than pay the 25 euro per person for breakfast. there is also a Starbucks across at the Doubletree Hilton across the road. See separate review for breakfast option.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank providence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in Apr-May. Service was very good. Location to the train station was good. Only a few blocks away (easy walk), but not too close to hear the trains. Mini bar was free (and that includes alcohol). Breakfast buffet was typical European and there were more than enough choices for everyone.
The hotel is on the pricey side, but we got a great deal and made it worth the expense.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Got a great deal with Expedia or could not have afforded this hotel. Lovely old building,lots of character and only 5mins from Centraal Station,trams and the coaches to Kuechenhof Gardens. Staff are lovely,very helpful,happy to suggest restaurants and to book them.
We were 6 in our party and our rooms varied in size but all were clean and well appointed. The free minibar was very welcome as were tea and coffee making facilities.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AGC89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Hotel is at least two blocks from centraal station. The ladies at the reception desk went out of their way to find me a room on the ground floor and closer to the entrance that was ready for early check-in. The process took a bit longer than expected since the hotel was fully booked. The interiors are well maintained even though the design may seem "classic" to some. It is a large hotel with beautiful architectural details that have been maintained. Comfortable bed, mini-bar with miniature liquor bottles, candy, peanuts,water, wine, coffee, tea etc.. Remote controlled drapes were a nice feature. Large bathroom with quality amenities. A/c did not work well. I was told that it was a different cooling system due to the age of the hotel. The concierge was really friendly and helpful. No comments on service since I did not use the restaurants and spa. I placed a wake-up call request that they didn't fulfill. Some of the reception staff acted grouchy but most were cool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JungleeBhalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#9 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing