We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hotel, fab mini bar but breakfast needs improving” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #66 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Temple Ewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great hotel, fab mini bar but breakfast needs improving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Situated 500 mtrs from Central (train) station and within easy walking distance of the centre with views over a canal, the hotel offers a v. convenient location for sight seers (BTW, 300 mtrs from red light district but not a problem as it is easy to avoid). Reception a bit distant as separated by 2 desks, however, friendly and eager to please. Room had everything: Philips flat screen TV, free WiFi, phone, Nespresso machine, great bathroom with 2 sinks, shower and bath, WC. Extra large, very comfortable bed, bathrobe, slippers, seating area with table.
Well stocked and free mini bar, replenished every day. We are not great drinkers but a G&T or vodka orange or small bottle of red or white wine goes down well after a hard day's tourism. We visited over Queen's Day which is normally a crazy day of celebrations; this year the Queen abdicated and her son Willem-Alexander ascended the throne (with his much loved Queen Maxima), so every celebration was doubled and Amsterdam became a party place filled with the Dutch colour, Orange. A great experience; the hotel provided an oasis of calm. Friendly concierge. Avoid the buffet breakfast as the eggs and bacon were cold and tasted horrible. Instead ask the waiters to bring you something freshly made; the cheese and mushroom omelettes were great. Ask for a pot of coffee / tea as you'll otherwise have to wait. All 3 mornings no milk on the table which was annoying. That said, there is a good choice of cold meats, cheeses, fruit, desert. Because of the poor standard breakfast we did not eat in the restaurant; Amsterdam caters for every taste, so no shortage of choice.
The hotel felt deligjtfully cosmopolitan with guests from many countries and predominantly very friendly.
Yes, we would stay again but hope that some improvements are made.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,978
    1,009
    349
    166
    91
See reviews for
392
2,005
217
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (732)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
home
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed five nights at the Grand Amrath in Amsterdam. Hotel staff is very courteous and professional. Breakfast buffet is expensive (25 euros per person) but the French Breakfast option in the bar was much more reasonable. Great indoor pool and spa which we took advantage of. Free minibar in the room was freshly stocked each day (yes, it was really free!!). Great location near the Central Train Station.

Room Tip: We opted for a city view room, but any room would be fine in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Great rooms. I had room 217 and it was large. Great bed, great bathroom. Old building that was converted to a hotel.
reccomend this to anyone.
Location is reasonable to most places. Little walk but close to station.
I was only there for a night but i really enjoyed the room. The mini bar in room is included in your room rate. so drink up.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lozza36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Amrath hotel has a great location. From the airport you can take the Fyra train to the Central Station and from there it is an easy 10 minute walk to the hotel. For exploring you are suitable close to the Damrak although one easily walk across the whole of Amsterdam. The service at the hotel was efficient and friendly and they assisted with organising transport. The rooms are very large and decortaed with wood panelling. Very high ceilings and large windows. Definitely a taste of luxury. The free mini bar is also a great feature.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank SonyaS102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here with a discount deal. We had a ground floor room overlooking the main street, but it was not noisy at all.

The hotel is less than 5 minutes walk from Amsterdam Central Station. It has a traditional feel with lots of period features e.g. revolving doors, lots of wooden panelling, high ceilings.

The staff were some of the friendliest we've met on holiday. They were both helpful and courteous. The concierge took our bags to our room and showed us the features of the room.

A highlight was the free mini-bar, which surprisingly was well stocked with beers, spirits and soft drinks. The bathroom was clean, bright and large.

We had dinner in the hotel bar/lounge on the Thursday night and the food was good but the range was quite narrow. We had a steak sandwich and a seafood pasta, both of which were nice but not spectacular. The bar staff were, as with all staff at the hotel, friendly and keen to talk to you but never intrusive.

Would definitely stay again, but probably couldn't afford full price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilrijk, Antwerpen, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

This was not my first stay at the Amrath and certainly will not be my last. As usual very friendly staff, great service - as you would come home.
Brought my parents along the weekend of 21 April to enjoy this experience. Make sure you don't forget your swimsuits as they have a great spa- free of charge.
From junior suite to the tower suite, all have the amazing beds, complementary mini bar, in room Nespresso machine, Rituals products and parking without headache.
And on top you are in an historic building, restored until the last detail.

Highly recommended and we certainly will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Lientje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed here on 16th of April for 4 nights breakfast not included in a superior deluxe room.
The room was very spacious and clean,high ceilings are always a plus point for me.Electronically controlled curtains i also found a nice touch as was the 32" lcd and mini bar that was replenished daily.The mini bar includes vodka,gin,bacardi,cognac & whisky aswell as glass bottles of coke,diet coke,orange juice and sping/sparkling water.The bed was kingsize and probably the comfiest bed i've ever slept in(being a light sleeper i had no trouble nodding off).Toilet was large with both shower and bath facilities and we were supplied with fresh towels every day.

Location wise you couldnt ask for better,5 minutes from Central station and close proximity to some of the local sites ie damrak,red light district etc and walkable distance to dam square though i would reccomend getting a tram to the Museumplein,Jordaan etc as its easier to hop on and off instead of possibly getting confused where you are heading(easily done in amsterdam).

I wouldnt advise on the 50 euros breakfast advertised,its an all you can eat buffet but how much breakfast do you really need to have in the morning,i would rather just head to a bar/cafe and pay far less for a decent breakfast.The staff were attentive to our needs and were helpful when we needed them.Altogether we had a comfortable stay at the Amrath,including the free use of the spa facilities,free wi fi so i would come back to stay here in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a canal view,i believe it can be done with little expense
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#17 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#29 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#6 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#26 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing