We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #75 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel is housed in a beautiful historic building with amazing architectural features. It is well positioned for the train station being just a few minutes walk away. The staff were very pleasant at all times. The room was quite large for a city hotel. The beds were extremely comfortable and the noise from the street didn't disturb us at night even though our room was on ground level facing a busy road. Free wifi was a bonus.

However, this is not a 5* hotel. It is a 4* at best. There were just three clothes hangers in the small wardrobe + 3 skirt/pants hangers. There were no hand towels in the bathroom. The vanity counter in the bathroom was badly stained which made it look dirty. Breakfast was expensive & the food dishes in the buffet weren't refilled often enough so choice was quite limited. One of the napkins on our table had a large stain on it & a cup was also stained. The red carpet on the corridor outside our room was frayed and creased which was a trip hazard. Not at all what I expect from 5* hotel. Sound proofing within the hotel is not good. We were disturbed each night by loud conversation and laughter from an adjoining room that went on quite late. Our minibar wasn't restocked after the first day & when I asked housekeeping I was informed I would have to pay for any further juices I required. Finally, from a location point of view the station, red light district and Dam Square are all within a few minutes walk but I would recommend to stay in the more southerly canal belt which is a much more attractive area.
Sadly, I won't be back to the Amrath.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agho99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,964)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,011 - 2,017 of 3,964 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

What a wonderful hotel and 5 star all the way. We arrived early and were greeted by very helpful and friendly staff. We were upgraded to a junior suite which was amazing. Could not belive the mini bar was free!! Wonderful location, so central. Could not fault this Hotel and would most certainly stay at this Hotel again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim-Boz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for two nights and had a really enjoyable stay....the staff were helpful and friendly, the rooms were impressive, the facilities were good and all this in a good location...The only bad word I have to say for this hotel is that the room we were originally allocated was still being painted but the staff sorted this out for us very quickly so no problems there! Would definitely stay again in future....Thanks to all the staff at the hotel for making our stay a brilliant one...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 146Chris146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Loved this hotel! It is in a perfect location from the Centraal station (5 minutes on the left from the station) and within walking distance of Dam square. The staff were friendly and the room was a very good size. Initially, we did not like our room as it was twin beds but the staff were happy to change it for us. The minibar was free(!) and a DVD player could be borrowed with a small collection of DVDs to choose from. The swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi were all amazing and hardly used during our stay.
We would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dylan_Smiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I just returned from Amsterdam where I stayed at the Grand Amrath Hotel for five nights with a friend. We booked through Expedia and took a chance on it being at least satisfactory, getting a a fairly reasonable rate for a five star hotel. It turned out to be exceptional in every way, beginning with the warm and personal welcome in the reception room where we were informed that every request could be accommodated. In addition, we were upgraded to a lovely room with very high ceilings overlooking the canal. The beds were ultra comfy and the pillows were heaven! The hotel is in a historic building near the train station, and the location was very convenient for walking to Dam Square, Red Light District, and transportation. The staff could not be more delightful, professional, and helpful. The male and female concierge were experts in their job.
We ate at the bar one evening and enjoyed a late night drink and small meal. I would recommend this hotel very highly to adults wishing to travel to Amsterdam and stay in a hotel with a historic touch.

Room Tip: Best rooms are facing the canal floor 2 or higher. Floor 2 is actually quite high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharongail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is my 2nd stay in Amsterdam, and I was very impressed by how centrally located this hotel was. Amsterdam is not a cheap city, so if you can get a good deal on accommodation that goes a long way.

The hotel (if you are coming from Central Station) is just to your left as you exit. It is located across from the Doubletree Hilton, and you can easily walk there with your luggage in about 7-8 minutes, which we did. Checkin/Checkout was painless, and I did not find it tedious at all. We were showed our room by the concierge, and all the amenities that were there. There is in fact a very fully stocked mini bar (complimentary) as well as wi-fi. You will be hard pressed to expect more. The bathroom was larger than our actual room, and had a full bath, shower, and double sink. Super high ceilings made our room feel expansive. We were on the 3rd floor facing a quiet courtyard. No view, but it felt private. The automatic curtains were blackout ones that helped with a good sleep in the warm bed (it was freezing in Amsterdam when we were there).

You can take the trams everywhere from Central Station (I recommend you download google maps, and plot where you want to go--it's all you need and they give excellent transit directions--it takes a day or two to get a hang of it--but very useful). You can walk to many places like chinatown (try Bird Thai takeaway--we went there twice! very affordable). Stay away from the Chinese floating palace restaurant--very expensive! There is a Starbucks close by at the Doubletree, and they make a good coffee (european milk seems so much creamier!)

Other tips--buy your Anne Frank House tickets online for vip reserved times and get the IamAmsterdam card for museum entry and free unlimited transit, and a free boat cruise (a must in Amsterdam).

Restaurant recs--De Bakkerswinkel (there is one blocks away) on Zeedijk 37, 1012 AR Amsterdam, Netherlands for fresh scones and homemade preserves and warm tea. Cafe De Klos for the BEST ribs you will ever have!!! (take the tram there--you won't regret it--thank me later!)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilsquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Chose this hotel as it appeared to be close to all amenities and tourist attractions. We were not disappointed, most attractions were within walking distance and there were many restaurants and bars close by. Complimentary mini bar and coffee a bonus.
The staff were friendly, and helpful and gave good advice regarding trips and restaurants.
Despite being in a room next to the bar, it was very quiet and comfortable and had a good view of the canals and surrounding area.

There was not much wardrobe space for 2 people staying 5 nights.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra to have a "city and canal view", which we got and the view was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isobel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#35 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,493 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#18 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#83 of 372 in Amsterdam
3,333 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $196 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing