We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #76 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed for 1 night the staff were so helpful and polite.Are room overlooked the canal and was very comfortable superb bathroom (also the largest curtains I've ever seen in a hotel room !) .The bed was very comfortable ,also the mini bar s free.The pool and spa centre was excellent .The hotel is located in a good position easy walk to central station etc,I would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Nice view on the canal side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,995)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,105 - 2,111 of 3,996 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

We arrived early at 9:30am after a grueling 16 hours trip. Receptionist allowed us to check in right the way so we could get much needed rest. Service from all staff was incredible. Free mini-bar was definitely a big bonus, refilled daily with soft drinks, juices, water, wine, various liquor, bag of peanut and chocolate bar. Expresso machine for free coffee and tea. Location is quiet and central, minutes walk to train station and Dam Square. Free WiFi in room. Did not have time to check out the Spa which has a swimming pool and sauna. Will definitely return for future trips.

Room Tip: My single room in the basement was much bigger than the single room that my friend stayed in upstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank coolandyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Cannot fault anything. Rooms spacious, food fantastic, breakfast so much choice and wellness spa lovely. Well done to all the staff who make staying here such a warm and comfortable experience. Loxation is excellent too clise to Central station.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AxtonHarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

wi-fi very efficient...we had a room where the toilet was separate from the shower/sink--which we grew to love! fantastic, easy location...lovely staff...grab a water bottle & apple every morning in the lobby on your way out to face the day. lucky to have a view of the canal, but also lucky to have the best black-out curtains ever (for the jet-lagged among us)...and beds that were so comfortable it was ridiculous.

Room Tip: ask for one on the canal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank cyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed as a couple late 2012. Loved this hotel. Like a grand old lady from the past, the moment we stepped into the foyer it felt like we had stepped back in time but in a nice way, absolutely beautiful and full of character.

Service was excellent and friendly. Location perfect, comfortable walking distance to Central station, red light district and main shopping areas. Bus stop for the hop-on hop-off bus just outside the front door.

We had a deluxe room facing the road but the noise was minimal, the windows must be insulated. Room was enormous with very high ceilings making it feel even more spacious. The bed and pillows were the most comfortable we'd ever had in any hotel. The FREE mini bar and expresso machine were replenished daily and the free wifi was very good speed. The breakfast was also very good.

Highly recommend this hotel and would stay again, perhaps asking for a higher floor with a canal view for a different experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BucketList2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in early March and loved the place. Minor gripes only. When we arrived at midday we were surprised that our room was ready, which was a good start, so we dumped the bags. The concierge helped us find local amenities and attractions, and sorted everything on a map for us. We also got helped with bags, which was a complaint of someone else on here that they didn't.
The free mini bar is a boon, taking drinks with us for the day out.
WiFi in the room helped enormously finding attractions, opening times etc.
The bathroom was good, and the bath lovely and deep. Minor gripe here was the shower screen was woefully inadequate and pee'd water all over the place, no matter how well you positioned the screen of shower head. But there were plenty of towels to mop everything up! The toiletries you get are excellent too, and well replenished every day. We asked for a quiet room, and it certainly was. Too warm too - which is not a complaint as opening a window isn't exactly difficult! Nice views towards a canal, but not directly over one, which was fine.
Breakfast was excellent, but would prove a bit pricey had it not been included in the room rate. However the quality of the breakfast was stunning and so varied. Even Prosecco available to make a buck's fizz!
The spa facilities are excellent in the basement. The pool with its swim-against-jet, and the very hot sauna. The steam room wasn't very steamy, but there was a kid in and out all the time, so it didn't really have a chance! Great facility - very clean and serviceable. Great showers available. Hot tub nice and hot too.
Superbly located near to the station and the RLD, so nothing is more than a half hour walk at all, even to the Jordaan. We would recommend this place again, and if the deal was right, would stay again too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road (Prins Henrikkade).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SheilaDanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We travelled to Holland last summer with our 2 young children in tow. While in Amsterdam stayed at the Grand Hotel Amrath. The rooms were large, clean, comfortable and well provisioned. The staff was courteous and helpful. The hotel is centrally located. The quality of food at their resteraunt was excellent. We would certainly recommend a stay at this hotel while in Amsterdam.

John, Sheila, Derek and Colin.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#29 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,571 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#83 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#36 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,526 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
W Amsterdam
W Amsterdam
#90 of 374 in Amsterdam
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $189 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing