We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable unique experience in Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #66 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Memorable unique experience in Amsterdam”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed as a couple late 2012. Loved this hotel. Like a grand old lady from the past, the moment we stepped into the foyer it felt like we had stepped back in time but in a nice way, absolutely beautiful and full of character.

Service was excellent and friendly. Location perfect, comfortable walking distance to Central station, red light district and main shopping areas. Bus stop for the hop-on hop-off bus just outside the front door.

We had a deluxe room facing the road but the noise was minimal, the windows must be insulated. Room was enormous with very high ceilings making it feel even more spacious. The bed and pillows were the most comfortable we'd ever had in any hotel. The FREE mini bar and expresso machine were replenished daily and the free wifi was very good speed. The breakfast was also very good.

Highly recommend this hotel and would stay again, perhaps asking for a higher floor with a canal view for a different experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BucketList2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,089
    1,046
    372
    179
    96
See reviews for
422
2,119
220
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (777)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in early March and loved the place. Minor gripes only. When we arrived at midday we were surprised that our room was ready, which was a good start, so we dumped the bags. The concierge helped us find local amenities and attractions, and sorted everything on a map for us. We also got helped with bags, which was a complaint of someone else on here that they didn't.
The free mini bar is a boon, taking drinks with us for the day out.
WiFi in the room helped enormously finding attractions, opening times etc.
The bathroom was good, and the bath lovely and deep. Minor gripe here was the shower screen was woefully inadequate and pee'd water all over the place, no matter how well you positioned the screen of shower head. But there were plenty of towels to mop everything up! The toiletries you get are excellent too, and well replenished every day. We asked for a quiet room, and it certainly was. Too warm too - which is not a complaint as opening a window isn't exactly difficult! Nice views towards a canal, but not directly over one, which was fine.
Breakfast was excellent, but would prove a bit pricey had it not been included in the room rate. However the quality of the breakfast was stunning and so varied. Even Prosecco available to make a buck's fizz!
The spa facilities are excellent in the basement. The pool with its swim-against-jet, and the very hot sauna. The steam room wasn't very steamy, but there was a kid in and out all the time, so it didn't really have a chance! Great facility - very clean and serviceable. Great showers available. Hot tub nice and hot too.
Superbly located near to the station and the RLD, so nothing is more than a half hour walk at all, even to the Jordaan. We would recommend this place again, and if the deal was right, would stay again too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road (Prins Henrikkade).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SheilaDanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We travelled to Holland last summer with our 2 young children in tow. While in Amsterdam stayed at the Grand Hotel Amrath. The rooms were large, clean, comfortable and well provisioned. The staff was courteous and helpful. The hotel is centrally located. The quality of food at their resteraunt was excellent. We would certainly recommend a stay at this hotel while in Amsterdam.

John, Sheila, Derek and Colin.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I spent 3 nights with my wife in this hotel recently. The hotel is centrally located, 5 minute walk from the central station and amenities are on the high-end. Breakfast is excellent and WI-FI very efficient (although it took them more than 12 hours to repair it after a failure). When we entered our room (#212) for the first time, we were welcomed by a bad sewage odor coming out from the bathroom. We reported the problem to the front desk and when we returned to our room, the bad odor was overridden by a strong deodorant fragrance. However, it was a bad and temporary solution. Not something you expect from a 5-star hotel.

Room Tip: Beware of room 212
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TelAvivPhenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

In the summer of 2012 we stayed for 2 nights, with our 2 kids, in this beautiful hotel. The rooms were spacious and the beds were excellent. The location of the hotel is perfect to explore Amsterdam. The staff of the hotel went out of their way to look after us.
Breakfast is a feast for every one, even for our kids of 8 and 10 years old.
The interior of the hotel is amazing, especially considering the historical relevance of the building.
We were very impressed by the personal touch of the management of the hotel. Having stayed in many 5 star hotels, this hotel comes in right at the top. We would love to come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Yvette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed in a variety of hotels in amsterdam and would rate amrath among the better hotels in the centrum. Hotel in monumental shipping house so has a strange but interesting layout and design. It took me a day or so to get bearings.

We had a room on bottom floor of hotel. Room was very nice indeed and on the massive side by usual amsterdam standards. Seperate living room area attatched was great as it made room feel like a suite. Bathroom great with good shower, 2 sinks, seperate bath and nice amenities. Bed was very comfortable and had a good sleep on each night. Free minibar was great, stocked daily and a decent selection. Some (most) hotels charge a fortune for this and i think it is a good touch.

Only real grumble was the time our room was made up at , around 5pm each day which is a bit on late side.

Spa and pool was busy when we used it but it was very nice, we used the the steam room which was very relaxing.

never used bars or ate in hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank coconut-monkey09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here for a friends 40th birthday celebrations for 3 nights, we had rooms next to each other with was a nice touch not always the case in other hotels we've stayed at. As soon as you walk in to the lobby it feels like you've been transported back to the 1920's. The architecture is stunning and the interior is equally impressive. The marble floors the dark wood pannelling on the walls and the fabulous flower displays created a decedant feel. The lifts were the original i think and added to the feel of the hotel. The rooms were lovely, nice big comfy beds with the best pillows i've had ever in a hotel, a really deep bath, a well stocked free mini bar which was replenished daily and a nespresso machine also replenished daily. The staff were very friendly and helpfull. The health suite was really good too with a gym area (didn't use) and a swimming pool hot tub 3 saunas and a steam room. The hotels location was also amazing, we walked everywhere from getting to and from central station to the red light district and main shopping areas within moments. Couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cezza603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#34 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,382 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,469 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#13 of 368 in Amsterdam
616 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TravelUp, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing