We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thurs to Sunday break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #77 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just got back from a few days away, the hotel was fantastic, an upgrade on the room free minibar,regularly restocked, electric curtains really friendly staff without being intrusive, would defiantly stay again

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,026)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,215 - 2,221 of 4,026 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

just like to say this was the very best hotel we have stayed at , went with a party of four friends
and as soon as we got there they was so helpfull and all the staff was soooooooo nice , the room are great and the facilities are very very good a pool and sauna, It was my birthday when i was there did not tell them so they must have got it from when i booked and sent me a cake up witch was so nice of them , you will be so pleased with this hotel its very quite of a night and is in a prime location will only use this place again when going back, thank again everone there
mr p. nicholes

Room Tip: i think you will find they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jester56gbuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Quite convenient location across the street from the new Doubletree Hilton which is on the right side of the central station.

We were really impressed by first the lady head concierge on duty when they could not check us in as we were early and rooms were not ready. Reception staff were all friendly and helpful.Although it would have added a nicer touch if a welcome drink was offered, concierge lady was friendly and made sure our luggage and coat was nicely stored, reminding us it was a very cold day (11th January 2013). Then that same evening we were equally impressed by the male concierge when we were looking for a Dutch restaurant. Both showed such enthusiasm and welcome and made us feel special.

We did have some difficulty setting up the room safe as instructions did not mention you needed 6 digits code. However this was quickly resolved when they sent someone to our room almost immediately.

Our deluxe room was on the ground floor facing the road but it was still nice and quiet. Room is huge and we loved the peaceful and cosy ambience with the warm lighting and there's wifi. Also free minibar and a coffee machine. Bed was supercomfortable and pillows just right.

Check in and check out were equally quick and easy.

If you have luggage just note there's a slight flight of steps from the street to the main door. It's easier to enter through the side door next to the revolving door.

Would definitely want to stay there again.

Room Tip: Even though our room was on the ground floor facing the road, the windows were well insulated enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank WLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The hotel is stunning! Beautiful rooms and fantastic location. Walking distance to the Dam and other major attractions, and very close to the train station which made it very easy for us to get to and from the airport as we only flew in for a weekend.

The staff were very attentive and knowledgeable. The rooms are lovely - modern, warm and beautiful decorated. We had a massive king sized bed, separate bath and shower and double basin. Coffee machine in the room and a complementary mini bar!
We didn't get time to use the spar, bar or restaurant, however they all looked amazing and I would definitely try them on our next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

this hotel is nicely located near a canal and within walking distance to Central Station. The room was impeccable, the hotel itself is gorgeous. We were a family of 3 with a 5 year old and we arrived very late. They weren't able to accomodate our child so we had a share the bed. That was uncomfortable. The room itself was spacious and very well equiped. The separate shower/bath was a nice addition. It looks like it must have been recently renovated (or very well kept). Another detail was we didn't have any luggage, still the receptionist asked the bell boy to take us to the room. It was very late and we were all tired. The bell boy asked if he should give us a tour of the hotel? "really?, no, thank you". We thought the question out of place. clearly we needed to rest and our 5 year old was complaining... further, the bell boy insisted in taking our backpacks, which we were using as travel purses... with all our personal stuff. I was happy to carry it myself so I felt it was an impossition. The cofffee and the freebies at the room are nice! The hotel was very nice but I felt service could improve by not imposing a bell boy and being faster upon checking in and out.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmagoestothebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Memorable weekend in Amsterdam with my girlfriend. The hotel was fantastic, the staff couldn't do enough to help us finding a good restaurant. Everything in the room was such good quality. Best hotel I've ever been to

Thanks

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were 2 couples, staying in early December 2012. It was to celebrate a good freinds milestone birthday, which we shared with the hotel in advance, the fantastic chocolate birthday cake awaiting her in her room was devine, and the upgrading to the suites we enjoyed a complete suprise and bonus. The rooms were stunning, spacious, unusual and really help with the ambience of a genuinely unique building.
The setting is perfect, close to all 'fun' spots, 10 mins from the station, walking distance to some great eateries.
The staff were just fantastic. Care and attention, very freindly, genuinely interesting in helping in just anyway possible, concierge, reception, bar staff, everyone we met.
Finally the wellness centre, a quietly kept secret but superb area to relax in.
Overall, an amazing weekend, we will return, Amsterdam was beautiful, made all the more special by our stay in the HGA.
Steve, Trace, Karen & Mick, UK 40 somethings!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,591 reviews
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#84 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,397 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#36 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,542 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#17 of 373 in Amsterdam
398 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $183 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing