We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How after all my visits did I miss this?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #75 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Where can I start? I've been to 'The Dam' over 20+ times and for some strange reason I've never found The Grand Hotel Amrath.
What can I say! It's FAB!! The rooms are eclectic. The staff are Titanic. The Hotel is surreal.
Well, back to reallity.
It's a great place - class from an earlier time. The whole place is spotless, not a mark or blemish. You could eat off any surface, By this time of my review you can probably tell that I was very impressed.
High ceilings, coving, deep bath for two, a fully stocked mini-bar in with the price of your room. The wellness suite!! You would have to pay a 1st class place in the UK just to have a coke let alone access to the whole suite. It's in with the room price. Wow! Breakfast is the usual Euro25 but well worth it. The bar is cool with staff who care.
The decor is aca Rennie Mckintosh. Every floor and surface holds a surprise.
Truthfully, from now on, I will always stay at The Grand.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Tell that people what you want and you will have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oman54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,302 - 2,308 of 4,102 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

We booked a 5 day break at the Grand Hotel Amrath to coincide with our wedding anniversary. It was our first visit to Amsterdam. We were very pleased with our room, with a very good view and with the level of service received from all the staff. We enjoyed the food which was exceptionally good , having dinner on 2 occasions and breakfast on 4 mornings. The choice of food was varied and very good quality, beautifully cooked.
On the final day we had to depart early for the airport, so 2 packed breakfasts were prepared for my wife and I, they were delicious.
All staff at the hotel were friendly and most helpful, they made our holiday a very enjoyable experience. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

The Mitchells

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mikem92uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 8 days in the hotel and it simply upgraded out whole vication.
Fantastic location-quiet but still not to far.
Extremely nice staff and a lovely view. but most of all- highly equipped room, everything we needed was there!
I would have visit again but it is way too expensive...

3  Thank Einav B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The check-in and check-out service is lousy and they should have a separate counter to handle the process. Fair customer service, and cleaniness is fair. I found a bug on my pillow the last night I was with the hotel. I took the pic and show to the front desk person. He sent me a security guy, not consider helping me changing room and find the right house-keeper change the bedsheet. After spending 20mins, the security guy can not place the bedsheet probably. I spent my last few hours in another single bed. By the way, when I made the reservation online one month ago, I request for a king size bed. It end up they place me a room with twin bed on the ground level as the restaurant. The housekeeper does the vaccum at 6:30am I was awaken by the noisy day after. Besides the awesome wellness facilities, the rest is disappointed. In addition, they can offer better customer experience by using the wellness. For example, place basket that we can hold our glasses and other stuffs instead we have to carry our own plastic bag to keep our belongings. The locker is useless since it's located 100m from the sauna. I also had the hot stone massage for 55mins. I was shocked when I knew the male is going to perform the massage and I can only cover by a piece of towel. It's culture shock! Overall experience it's so-so, and might not visit again,except the Seven Seas restaurant there.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank Littlehse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The building is incredible and worth a visit. Rooms are majestic and one doesn't even want to leave the hotel. However the service is at best so so. I bought a ticket through them to a museum and then changed my mind and they would not refund it. When I called down saying I was ready to check out, no one offered to come and help with the bags which I would expect on a top notch hotel. At check out they were seemingly annoyed at first with helping me with directions of how to get to the airport. When I was checking in it was odd with getting help with the luggage. When checking out (and I was in big hurry) the valet returned the car but dissapeared for 10 min with my car key so that I couldn't leave.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We booked this hotel for my friends birthday. I have stayed in Amsterdam a few times but have always been a fair walk or taxi ride away. This hotel was perfect just a short walk to the station, and from all the places with atmosphere and good to eat in. But just far enough to be away from the night life.

The hotel was amazing with a great gothic look from the outside and fantastic room. I never sleep properly any where but the bed and assortment of pillows were excellent. Also a sizable bathroom and huge deep bath big enough for 2 ! Free mini bar stocked daily aswell as a good little coffee machine.

We arrived at8.30 am and couldn't check in till 2 but was aloud to store our luggage till check in. The staf were all friendly and extremely helpful
Couldn't say about the food or the bar though as breakfast was expensive and we chose to find other places to have a drink

Would highly recommend one of best hotel I have stayed in for a while and def the best I have stayed at in Amsterdam . We all thoroughly enjoyed our wkend and the hotel was a lot to do with that!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jaimie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights during our honeymoon here and had an incredible experience. Because it was available, we were upgraded to one of the largest suites in the hotel and it was nothing short of amazing. It was like staying in our own apartment-the bathroom was huge, we had roof access, a jacuzzi tub and a sitting area. The bed was comfortable, room spotless and we of course loved the stocked (and free!) mini-bar. The staff was very nice and helpful-the concierges were great with recommendations for dinner, how to get around the city and sightseeing options. They called a car to the airport for us and made a couple dinner reservations. The location was awesome, there was a lot to do within walking distance and the tram was nearby as well. I would absolutely recommend this hotel and would definitely love to visit again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LT907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 376 in Amsterdam
563 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#31 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,646 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#19 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,603 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $207 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing