We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third Excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #66 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Third Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

I returned to the Amrath in March for 7 nightsfor my 3rd visit in a year, as usual the room was excellent and clean, the Mini-Bar and Coffee Machine were an added bonus along with the fabulous Bathroom, well stocked with toiletries.

The Bar is a wonderful place for Coffee and Cake, the cheescake devine all served inpeccably by courteous efficient staff.

The whole experience was relaxing and enjoyable, made better by a daily replenishing of the Mini-Bar, a well cleaned room and he fast free Wi-Fi.

I can thorougly recommend this Hotel, all the staff are friendly and will assist in all requests.

I have just booked a further stay for August. I have a friend who has just returned from a stay and informs me that the Breakfast is now below the 20 euro physcological price and that it is a most delightful way to start the day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redbridgej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,008
    1,019
    355
    168
    92
See reviews for
400
2,029
218
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

Its just 5 minutes walk from Amsterdam Central Station. The room is very big with high ceiling. Free internet and free mini bar with candy bar and snack...
The information center is cross street from the train station, you can purchase all your trips tickets there with a small service fee, maybe 1 or 2 Euros. The Anne Frank tickets always sold out, but you can buy at that office. they also sale half price ticket for shows after 12 noon.
Haejes is a very popular restaurant, you must try, its like a old museum with transitional Dutch food. The price is very reasonable.

Room Tip: I had room 416 no canal view. but its huge and very bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shimbubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Amrath over the Easter weekend this year (3 nights). We were travelling with our 2 young kids - 4 and 2 years old.

Firstly, we took the junior suite. It was a big room and could fit in 2 extra single beds. That's a plus. But the bathroom was really small for a suite! There were no special amenities for the kids and breakfast is not included. If you book the night before, then you pay €19.50 for adults and €10 but if you don't then it's €25 and €12 on the morning. However, the minibar if free and this was helpful for us as we got our drinks to take along and the kids had juice etc...

Upon arrival, the room was very clean but when housekeeping was suppose to clean the room, we found they did a shoddy job! My little one had chocolate finger-marks on his bedding and this was not changed. They left a couple of used towels on the room floor. The beds were not very well made and all in all the room lacked a freshly clean feel. this may sound fussy for some, but I was paying a full price for a suite! Yet, i didn't complain because i felt the service was really warm and welcoming. The staff are very helpful, the front desk, restaurant and concierge. The food at the hotel is superb!

The hotel is in an excellent location and there are little places to eat nearby and to take the canal cruise etc. The deco is very Macintosh/Art Nouveau. You could feel like you stepped out of a 1920's Stephen King Horror film or if you're more optimistic then a Agatha Christie's Novel! I like a different look but found this hotel a bit too dark and faded. It's for the adventurous and those who like it a bit different!

i would recommend the hotel, but for couples and groups of friends, rather than families with young children.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mum_of_lill_rascals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Stayed in double room on 4th floor facing the canal in March for 4 nights. Reception was friendly and no hassle.All our room requests was taken on board.There were lovely large flower arrangements throughout d ground floor during our stay. The room curtains did opened daily by itself at 0800hrs. We just shut them again with a press of the control and had a lie in.Might be annoying to other guests.Bed was large and comfortable.Everything was clean. We did not eat in as there were so many choices nearby.
Oosterpark was only a 30mins walk via Waterlooplein.We had warm freaky weather and walked all over with plenty of cake n coffee stops.
Took a half day trip (got up late) to Zaanse Schans by bus and definitely will return again as so much to see and do around this area.The restaurants and cafes in Zaandam across the bridge are quite reasonable compared to Amsterdam

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iris444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Stockwith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Its been a while since i went but this hotel deserves a review. We went for 4 nights, in feb a couple of years ago,i just never got round to writing a review. This hotel is fab. It is a master peice of art deco architecture. The room we had was great with a fantastic bathroom, and one of the best beds ive ever slept in. Full marks for this interesting hotel. I dont think we will be going again though as the prices seem to have trebled since we went.

Room Tip: Higher floors give a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lezconnecting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

Very comfortable with an easy walk to the attractions of Amsterdam and less than a ten minute stroll to the station. The staff were pleasant, helpful and attentive. The free mini bar and coffee machine were an added bonus. No negatives.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AngChr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#30 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#4 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing