We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, a very nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #66 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Overall, a very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for four nights in July 2011. I stayed on the 1st floor in room 112. The room was very fancy and certainly worthy of 5* status. However, the bed was very soft.. it had a matress topper on it that made sleep uncomfortable. I still have a sore back a few weeks later. I never tried the swimming pool or other facilities, but overall the hotel looked fabulous. I'd recommend it at a cheap price. I paid £110 per night. Breakfast was not included. That was great value considering a basic 2* hotel can cost the same price (although much lower if booked way in advance of course). My usual 2* hotel costs me £80 per night, so overall I got a great deal.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davey1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,928
    979
    345
    158
    86
See reviews for
377
1,949
215
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (718)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Very good hotel, Great location and friendly staff. The room was clean and had a nice view, the free mini bar was an added bonus, we got a deal with breakfast included which was ideal for us. The price for it if you don't get a deal is extremely expensive. The breakfast had a nice selection, ideal if you wanted to fill up for a long day. The only slight problem was our electric curtains that had a mind of its own at certain times during the night! They would open and shut serveral times very late night early/early hours of morning! Overall a nice hotel which I would recommend if you can get a top deal!

Room Tip: Try looking on travelrepublic for included breakfast prices!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McEwan1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman,ok
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Very nice! Love the tall windows and free mini bar. The toiletry items smell really good also. Another is the coffee maker is in the room wiith really good coffee. Really cool swim area! The negative: there are a lot closer hotels to the city center but it has many things near it. It is hard to remember where ur room is because the hotel is large. the maids drive you nuts knocking in the morning. A repair guy came at 10:00 in the morning to change a light bulb that was not requested by us and that was strange. But i would still stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank makila10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shetland Isles
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We went for a city trip to Amsterdam and booked the Amrath in advance. Some of the reviews on trip advisor were a bit iffy, but they couldn't be more wrong.The Hotel itself is wonderful; early deco style with stained glass, and has been very sympathetically transformed from an old shipping office. Our room was tremendous, the beds were very comfy, bathroom lovely and immaculate, television, excellent coffee maker, free bar, breakfast included, and great service, especially booking the museums. The weather wasn't good, and so having the spa was excellent.It was well maintained and was immaculate. The staff couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank southerlygale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

This hotel is becoming overpriced, I remember when it opened I paid only $220 per night for a regular room, now it's more than $350. The hotel itself is great, rooms are big and location is very good, close to the train station, historic red district, and the Dam. Their free minibar is well stocked and the spa is very nice and relaxing. Nieumarkt is close which is a great place to buy fresh cheeses and breads. If the price is right, you can not go wrong with this hotel. We spent nice 10 days there.

In addition to the usual travel info about Amsterdam you can find on any travel site, here are a couple of my favorite experiences: (1) "Oriental City" Chinese restaurant is not far and is great for dim sum. (2) Albert Cuyp market on Albert Cuyp street is awesome, there is a guy there who sells the the best "new" herring (late spring, early summer is the best time). (3) Flower market on Singel street is lovely to get some fresh flowers for your room.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fourdollared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

It was amazing! The hotel is stunning! Super high ceilings, huge rooms, gorgeous decor. Amazing spa and pool! Concierge service is spectacular! We had an amazing time there and truly enjoyed our stay. Hotel located a few minutes walk across from the main train station, and super close walking distance to everything else. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marinanyfedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

selected via BA holidays for our wedding anniversary - my first time to Amsterdam. husband had been several times. Lovely hotel, 5 mins walk from station and great location for central Amsterdam about 10 mins from Dam square and 30 mins walk from the museum district.

Lovely room, great service, minibar and wifi included in room price. Breakfast was great, takes some special to make us set an alarm for breakfast but we didn't miss a single one!

Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Groomie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#27 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,588 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing