We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“rather expensive, quiet but central location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #66 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“rather expensive, quiet but central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

Fantastic high ceilinged city view room on second floor - none of the windows would open and air con was inoperative so, without fuss, a standing fan was provided. Extremely comfy beds. Free mini bar and Nespresso coffee machine was good but not terribly generous given the cost of the room. Concierges tried to be helpful though info they provided was not always accurate. Restaurant food was high quality and, given the cost of eating out in Amsterdam, was competitively priced. Didn't try expensive 25 euro breakfast but morning pastries delivered to room was cheaper even including the room service charge. Also good value - 13.5 euro pp - was the French breakfast served in the bar between 9a.m. and 12 noon, though they charge for extra coffees which is rather mean in a 5-star hotel. Spa is very good for Swedish style sauna, jaccuzzi and pool which had jetstream so proper swim workout was possible when pool was quiet. My wife had a very professional massage but the pedicure she received was amateurish and not worth it. Very interesting building and quiet, safe location. Expensive and 4 star+ rather than 5 star

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ahne49uq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,928
    979
    345
    157
    86
See reviews for
376
1,949
215
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (718)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

Couldn't ask for more from a hotel for a weekend break in Amsterdam. Well proportioned rooms with free(!) minibar included in the rate. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hgrieves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, UK
Level Contributor
272 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

Building:
An interesting and quirky building with a few rough edges but makes a nice change from a standard corporate hotel.

Bedroom:
Pleasant if not outstanding room, rather smallish and dark but with very comfortable bed. Free minibar a nice touch. Large comfortable bathroom but with broken bathtap so had to use shower.

Facilities:
Nice leisure area with small pool and saunas/ steam room.

Location:
Handy for station and also for bars and restaurants.

Staff/ service:
The check in and check out process was pretty much ruined by one unhelpful, rude member of staff. I don't expect, especially on arriving mid-morning, to be told that there are no twin rooms left and then contradictoraly and brusquely told to stump up an extra €30 if I wanted one - which I declined to do. The same staff member was disinterested and rude on check out the following day.

The booking process was also unsatisfactory - I had to chase a confirmation arrival which did not arrive within the two days stated, and then the booking information was wrong and I had to email back and forth to change it

Definitely not the service I expect at a 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed here for an extended spring break and felt very pampered. The hotel is very near central station, which makes it convenient, if in a very busy and noisy area. We chose to pay a supplement to have a very large room overlooking the canal; one side of the hotel borders a busy main road.
The hotel was originally built in the early 20th century as the headquarters for the six Dutch shipping companies, and it is well worth exploring up the stairs to look at the stunning marble, stained glass, ironwork and board room.
It is now a luxurious place to stay with complimentary mini bar replenished each day, excellent housekeeping and other service.
However we chose not to eat breakfast or dinner here as it was very expensive.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fussy_People
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

Stayed in a Superior Deluxe room, rooms 102 and 104. Great rooms with free mini bar which was stocked everyday with Beer, Gin, Vodka, Whisky, Fruit juice, Soda water and Still water. Found the rooms to be well equipped with coffee machine, trouser press, hairdryer, 32 inch Tv and luxurious toiletries, bathrobes, slippers.
I thought the rooms were very well sized, especially room 104 which had a hallway entrance to it which added to the appeal. High ceilings and decoration added to the period feel of the hotel. The beds were the most comfortable I have slept in.
The bathroom was very well sized and quite luxurious, ours had a cupboard which still had the original doors made of steel, very heavy to open, but again, a nice touch with the period of the hotel.
Had a fantastic meal in the Seven Seas restaurant, which at €160 for three people was a little bit expensive but we all absolutely loved it so am not complaining. Didn't have breakfast as we always tried to go out and sample the local quisine.
Didn't have chance to try out the Wellness Spa, but will next time.
The hotels Art Deco style was fantastic and beautifully presented.
Would like to commend the hotel staff who were amongst the friendliest we have encountered and the most helpful, and the hotel cleaning staff who I think, for us, did a magnificent job.
We are already planning a return trip the Amsterdam and will definitely be returning to GRAND HOTEL AMRÂTH.

Please, if you are reading this, take a Candle light cruise on the canal. Worth ever penny, food, ambiance and scenery is excellent. We found this to be one of the excursions that made our trip a great trip.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchiemong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

Near the train station, this was the perfect hotel to haul our jet-;lagged bodies, heavy suit cases is tow, the morning we arrived in Europe. Sumptiously elegant and stylish, awash with art nouveau details, accomdating staff, and awesome beds and bath. Complimentary mini-bar was a favorite of the kids. Conveniently located near the Centraal Library where we dined(!) both nights we were there. A+

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryM054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanna8577
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

Me and my partner had an absolutely perfect stay here. Staff was very helpful and attentive, spa was great and suprprisingy quiet, the room was beautiful and the free minibar (replenished daily) was a nice bonus. The architecture and design of the place is absolutely stunning. The not-lockable frosted glass door to the bathroom might not be to everyone's taste but to us it wasn't a problem. We loved the location as well, quiet but really close to the central station and just on the edge of where all the action is. Comfy beds, impeccable cleaning. We opted for cheaper breakfast than the hotel one, there are plenty of other great places close by.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hanna8577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#27 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,586 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing