We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not bad but take earplugs!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Old Nickel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Nickel
Ranked #242 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not bad but take earplugs!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I found this hotel was better than i was expecting. Rooms where clean, beds surprisingly comfy, adequate soap, shower and toileteries etc + TV. The location is spot on too.

The main problem with this hotel was the noise. We possibly got a room in a bad spot (Second floor at the front of hotel) but sleeping became very difficult. Other guests moving around to go the toilet or up and down the stairs (Passing our room) was very loud. On top of this, the noise from outside was even worse with the mixture of what I assume where delivery trucks to local businesses in the early hours, general traffic from the nearby road and numerous people walking past below made it difficult to get a few hours sleep, nevermind a much needed sobering lie in after a night of drinking.

The second main issue was the heating was barely never off and even turning the radiator down didn't stop us either suffering the uncomfortable heat, or opening a window to be met with even worse noise from outside.

I would stay at this hotel again but bring a quality pair of earplugs and a room towards the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: I would imagine rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    118
    87
    46
    45
See reviews for
19
65
80
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Very small but clean rooms and comfortable enough. Single glazed windows though, the bin men and road sweepers will wake you up. Smells of cigarette smoke in corridors. Shower was good. Breakfast not bad.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank djsamuellamont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

we stopped here on a lads holiday in november its location is excelent on the edge of the rld and litteraly a couple of minutes walk from central station , the staff were friendly and we had no problems with our stay , it was clean but basic with english tv in the room shower/toilet were clean our room could have benefitted from a paint but it was clean ,i wouldnt take the missus here for a romantic break but it is an ideal base for a lads holiday etc

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shelly24xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contoocook, NH, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Take it from a lifelong housewife, this was NOT a clean hotel! It looked like the bottom sheet of my single bed had been slept on and fortunately there were some clean sheets in the closet, so I changed them myself. The location was very good, but otherwise, I stayed out of my hotel room as much as possible. The stairs are extremely steep and difficult even with a small bag. The TV way up in the corner of the teensy room didn't work either. I would not recommend this hotel unless the alternative is sleeping on the floor of the train station.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

My room was on a very high floor with NO heating and it was -3 (November)
I caught a cold and my trip was ruined.
I did report the lack of heating to the staff and was told the maintenance guy was not there that week.
The cleaners must not have been there also as was very dirty.
Carpet did not cover whole floor and ceiling had many cobwebs.
Only thing pleasant was the friendly cat in reception.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Is Central that is the only positive think.
The price is very expensive for what they offering Breakfast very basic
And the room was very run down and not clean is not an hotel and neather a bed and breakfast

Room Tip: Don't sleep number 5 is at the on the road impossible sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan1925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed at the old nickel back in October with 3 friends. I am used to staying in luxury hotels in the UK and although the old Nickel is not luxurious it is excellent value for what we paid and I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone who wants a cheap break/hotel in the centre Amsterdam.

We stayed in a bedroom for 4, with 4 single beds. The room itself was a decent size and clean along with clean(but old and warn) bedding and towels.

The staff were very welcoming and the bar/reception looked like that of a old English country pub!

The stairs up to the bedrooms where very steep and hard to climb when drunk! I would not recommended this hotel for anyone with difficulty climbing stairs as there was no lift!

The showers and toilets were shared but where very clean.

All in all a recommended hotel and good value for money.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor, there was 4 floors and climbing to the second was a challenge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#307 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#188 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#58 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Prins Hendrik
Hotel Prins Hendrik
#201 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#140 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Mallemoolen
Hotel De Mallemoolen
#263 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Nickel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Nickel

Property: Old Nickel
Address: Nieuwebrugsteeg 11, 1012 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Old Nickel 1*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Old Nickel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Nickel Amsterdam
Old Nickel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing