We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spot on for the price”
Review of Old Nickel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Nickel
Ranked #225 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“spot on for the price”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

we stopped here on a lads holiday in november its location is excelent on the edge of the rld and litteraly a couple of minutes walk from central station , the staff were friendly and we had no problems with our stay , it was clean but basic with english tv in the room shower/toilet were clean our room could have benefitted from a paint but it was clean ,i wouldnt take the missus here for a romantic break but it is an ideal base for a lads holiday etc

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelly24xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    143
    103
    52
    52
See reviews for
24
90
89
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contoocook, NH, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Take it from a lifelong housewife, this was NOT a clean hotel! It looked like the bottom sheet of my single bed had been slept on and fortunately there were some clean sheets in the closet, so I changed them myself. The location was very good, but otherwise, I stayed out of my hotel room as much as possible. The stairs are extremely steep and difficult even with a small bag. The TV way up in the corner of the teensy room didn't work either. I would not recommend this hotel unless the alternative is sleeping on the floor of the train station.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 24, 2013

My room was on a very high floor with NO heating and it was -3 (November)
I caught a cold and my trip was ruined.
I did report the lack of heating to the staff and was told the maintenance guy was not there that week.
The cleaners must not have been there also as was very dirty.
Carpet did not cover whole floor and ceiling had many cobwebs.
Only thing pleasant was the friendly cat in reception.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Is Central that is the only positive think.
The price is very expensive for what they offering Breakfast very basic
And the room was very run down and not clean is not an hotel and neather a bed and breakfast

Room Tip: Don't sleep number 5 is at the on the road impossible sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan1925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed at the old nickel back in October with 3 friends. I am used to staying in luxury hotels in the UK and although the old Nickel is not luxurious it is excellent value for what we paid and I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone who wants a cheap break/hotel in the centre Amsterdam.

We stayed in a bedroom for 4, with 4 single beds. The room itself was a decent size and clean along with clean(but old and warn) bedding and towels.

The staff were very welcoming and the bar/reception looked like that of a old English country pub!

The stairs up to the bedrooms where very steep and hard to climb when drunk! I would not recommended this hotel for anyone with difficulty climbing stairs as there was no lift!

The showers and toilets were shared but where very clean.

All in all a recommended hotel and good value for money.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor, there was 4 floors and climbing to the second was a challenge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Great location, best value accommodation in the area. The staff were friendly and the bar was great at night. No thrills or luxuries but for a budget option, to lay your head down, it was ideal. Amsterdam is awesome.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Neill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#302 of 367 in Amsterdam
708 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#177 of 367 in Amsterdam
264 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#66 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Prins Hendrik
Hotel Prins Hendrik
#190 of 367 in Amsterdam
615 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
France Hotel Amsterdam
France Hotel Amsterdam
#217 of 367 in Amsterdam
183 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#140 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Nickel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Nickel

Property: Old Nickel
Address: Nieuwe Brugsteeg 11, 1012 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Old Nickel 1*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Old Nickel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Nickel Amsterdam
Old Nickel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing