We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No heating”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Nickel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Nickel
Ranked #228 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No heating”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

My room was on a very high floor with NO heating and it was -3 (November)
I caught a cold and my trip was ruined.
I did report the lack of heating to the staff and was told the maintenance guy was not there that week.
The cleaners must not have been there also as was very dirty.
Carpet did not cover whole floor and ceiling had many cobwebs.
Only thing pleasant was the friendly cat in reception.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    139
    98
    49
    50
See reviews for
22
87
85
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Is Central that is the only positive think.
The price is very expensive for what they offering Breakfast very basic
And the room was very run down and not clean is not an hotel and neather a bed and breakfast

Room Tip: Don't sleep number 5 is at the on the road impossible sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan1925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed at the old nickel back in October with 3 friends. I am used to staying in luxury hotels in the UK and although the old Nickel is not luxurious it is excellent value for what we paid and I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone who wants a cheap break/hotel in the centre Amsterdam.

We stayed in a bedroom for 4, with 4 single beds. The room itself was a decent size and clean along with clean(but old and warn) bedding and towels.

The staff were very welcoming and the bar/reception looked like that of a old English country pub!

The stairs up to the bedrooms where very steep and hard to climb when drunk! I would not recommended this hotel for anyone with difficulty climbing stairs as there was no lift!

The showers and toilets were shared but where very clean.

All in all a recommended hotel and good value for money.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor, there was 4 floors and climbing to the second was a challenge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Great location, best value accommodation in the area. The staff were friendly and the bar was great at night. No thrills or luxuries but for a budget option, to lay your head down, it was ideal. Amsterdam is awesome.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Neill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel with friends at the beginning of November, 2013. The location is perfect, very close to the station and very central.

We had mixed feelings about our room. The beds seemed clean, although the carpet was pretty dirty, it definitely needed some vacuuming, and it also had stains on it. The bed lights didn't work (none of the three). Our view was on a small roof, which had garbage all over it (beer cans, cigarettes, socks, you name it). So if we opened the window, all we saw was this garbage, and nothing else. At night it was very cold, as we noticed the heating was on only a few hours a day, and the windows weren't insulated at all.

We could NOT find a way to lock the windows. Anyone on the roof could have come in and take our stuff. What we did was lock all of our bags in the small closet and took the key when we went out. We did not complain because we felt they would do nothing about it.

There is only one toilet and bathroom on a floor, and it always seemed occupied, so it can get a little crowded. The shower can't be adjusted and it's pointed straight to the wall, which makes it difficult to wash every body part properly. Both the shower and the toilet looked very clean.

Customer service was barely acceptable. I made our booking well in advance (about 2 months). Weeks before the trip, they notified us that my credit card didn't work, which was true, since it's got stolen a few days before. I gave them the details of my new credit card, so they can authorize it, but instead of connecting the new information with my existing booking, they canceled the booking, and I was forced to make a new one, with a significantly higher price. I asked that they match the price of the previous booking in email, but they completely ignored my request in their reply. When I asked the same in person, at check-in, they refused to reimburse us.

There also were two nights when we got home around 1 at night, and a local band was playing at the bar, exactly in the front of the door where we could go to our room. There were a lot of people, so we could not get to the bar to get help. We had to wait a good 10-15 minutes to get noticed each time this happened. This can get pretty frustrating if you just got home after a long day in the city.

Overall, the place wasn't bad, but the cancellation of our previous booking didn't set us off on the right foot, and we didn't particularly like the place. It should be okay for younger people and backpakers, but I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who has higher standards.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balazs G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Its clean, cheap and in a great location. What's not to like? To answer the previous reviewer - there is 1 shower room and 1 bathroom per floor (4 rooms per floor). We never bumped into anyone and they are kept clean so it wasnt an issue.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burgessmetallica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#172 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#301 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Prins Hendrik
Hotel Prins Hendrik
#180 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#138 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#68 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Koopermoolen
Hotel De Koopermoolen
#252 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Nickel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Nickel

Property: Old Nickel
Address: Nieuwe Brugsteeg 11, 1012 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Old Nickel 1*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Old Nickel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Nickel Amsterdam
Old Nickel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing