We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A helpful hotel in Amsterdam”
Review of Old Nickel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Nickel
Ranked #232 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed November 17, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 475 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel with friends at the beginning of November, 2013. The location is perfect, very close to the station and very central.

We had mixed feelings about our room. The beds seemed clean, although the carpet was pretty dirty, it definitely needed some vacuuming, and it also had stains on it. The bed lights didn't work (none of the three). Our view was on a small roof, which had garbage all over it (beer cans, cigarettes, socks, you name it). So if we opened the window, all we saw was this garbage, and nothing else. At night it was very cold, as we noticed the heating was on only a few hours a day, and the windows weren't insulated at all.

We could NOT find a way to lock the windows. Anyone on the roof could have come in and take our stuff. What we did was lock all of our bags in the small closet and took the key when we went out. We did not complain because we felt they would do nothing about it.

There is only one toilet and bathroom on a floor, and it always seemed occupied, so it can get a little crowded. The shower can't be adjusted and it's pointed straight to the wall, which makes it difficult to wash every body part properly. Both the shower and the toilet looked very clean.

Customer service was barely acceptable. I made our booking well in advance (about 2 months). Weeks before the trip, they notified us that my credit card didn't work, which was true, since it's got stolen a few days before. I gave them the details of my new credit card, so they can authorize it, but instead of connecting the new information with my existing booking, they canceled the booking, and I was forced to make a new one, with a significantly higher price. I asked that they match the price of the previous booking in email, but they completely ignored my request in their reply. When I asked the same in person, at check-in, they refused to reimburse us.

There also were two nights when we got home around 1 at night, and a local band was playing at the bar, exactly in the front of the door where we could go to our room. There were a lot of people, so we could not get to the bar to get help. We had to wait a good 10-15 minutes to get noticed each time this happened. This can get pretty frustrating if you just got home after a long day in the city.

Overall, the place wasn't bad, but the cancellation of our previous booking didn't set us off on the right foot, and we didn't particularly like the place. It should be okay for younger people and backpakers, but I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who has higher standards.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balazs G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Its clean, cheap and in a great location. What's not to like? To answer the previous reviewer - there is 1 shower room and 1 bathroom per floor (4 rooms per floor). We never bumped into anyone and they are kept clean so it wasnt an issue.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burgessmetallica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Sorry I know this is for reviews but was wondering if anyone who stayed there could tell me how many people would be sharing one bathroom? I'm only going coroner night but can't face sharing a bathroom with the whole hotel!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank AmberS3182JY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Ok bar with live music. Rooms grotty. Beds narrow beyond belief. No sound proofing at all. We had 2 smashed windows in our room with no refund or alternative room offeref - like it or lump it sir. A cheap dive for a stag do if u want to stay above a bar in staggering distance of the red light district.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank senno_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is not a hotel, nor a youth hostel: this is just a hole. Yeah it is in the centre and everything is easy to reach. But you sleep with real loud street noise and foremost: in dirt! The rooms are ugly, the walls and the ground is really manky. If you do not have an athlete's foot you will get it in the shower here. At least: all is TOTALLY overprized! Not to recommend at all - even if you plan to be drunk in Amsterdam all the time!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#294 of 376 in Amsterdam
756 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#62 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,103 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#188 of 376 in Amsterdam
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#281 of 376 in Amsterdam
245 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#145 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,390 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#177 of 376 in Amsterdam
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Nickel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Nickel

Address: Nieuwe Brugsteeg 11, 1012 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $98 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Old Nickel 1*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Old Nickel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Nickel Amsterdam
Old Nickel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing