We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$220
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$230
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of $307/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Sebastian's(Amsterdam)
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $230/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$291
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$311
$296
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$225
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 53% below average rates

The price you found is 53% lower than this hotel's average rate of $433/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $238/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$198
$186
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $241/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$417
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (499)
Filter reviews
499 results
Traveler rating
95
162
124
54
64
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
162
124
54
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseparate buildingbar downstairs istop floorcentral stationred light districtsteep stairsideal locationshower roomrooms are cleandam squarethird floorgreat showerwi fichecking inamsterdam centraalnikelredlight
Filter
Updating list...
274 - 279 of 499 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Very good location.
Good value for money.
Typical small Amsterdam hotel.
Very steep (typical) stair case

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank williammeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I used to visit Amsterdam up to eight times a year. When I lucked into 'The Old Nickel', it became my base whenever I visited.

Now, my trips are less frequent and I usually stay at the sister hotel, 'The Old Quarter'. This time, there was no room at the inn, so it was back to 'The Old Nickel'. Imagine my delight when I walked in to see that the reception had been updated and refurbished.

Rooms are fairly basic, with shared facilities, but I don't go on holiday to stare at the decor of my room. There is a TV and they've introduced wi-fi in the rooms.

At breakfast, I was greeted by two familiar faces, who've worked there since before I started going in 1991.

Breakfast - always very welcome - was a little different; the fried eggs had a slice of ham and a slice of cheese on top, along with the three slices of bread with butter and jam and tea or coffee.

So, friendly, welcoming with a perfectly adequate breakfast to set you up in the morning and a very sympathetic refurb. All for €55 - hard to beat in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank DAVID M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is super close to the train station. Really fast to get here from the airport. Convieant to red light district. Best part was we came early in the week when bars close at 1. The hotel bar stayed open till 3! Great selection of beers including Dutch and Belgium raritities on tap. Simple room but well worth the money for single guys or a cool couple.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mdraver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Old Nickel is just a stone's throw away from the Amsterdam Central station, the red light district and the Amsterdam Central shopping belt. It is a bar on the ground floor with rooms for rent. The location is excellent.

As in all the buildings around Amsterdam Central, do not expect modern big rooms as these buildings are built around 17th century. So you can expect tight rooms, shared bathrooms, steep stairs and no lift... you get the picture. If you prefer a more modern building, I think there is an Ibis Hotel very near the train station. But in my opinion, to get a feel of Amsterdam Central, one should stay in one of these small inns and hostels.

The room we got is small, as expected, with a shared bathroom. But apparently, we are the only guests on the top floor so we have the bathroom to ourselves. They made up the room everyday. Cleanliness and hygiene is top notch.

The staff were friendly and warm, especially Ellen, who received us. For soccer lovers, I think the bar have a huge projector for guests to watch soccer during matchdays.

There is a peculiar rule. I assume the nightlife in Amsterdam Central is thriving, so the management has laid some ground rule that between 1am to 4am the place will be closed but guests can ring the bell to enter. Anything after 4am, you will have to sleep outside until 7am when the place is open for breakfast.

There is wifi at the bar (ground floor) for free. Simply ask for the password.

Not a bad place to stay in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Try to get the lower floors as there is no lift and the staircase is steep and tight. Also, lower floor rooms have a better chance of getting wifi coverage.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arifeign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews