We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DONT GO TO THEIR HOTEL SCHAGEN”
Review of Old Nickel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Nickel
Ranked #225 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
BIRMINGHAM
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“DONT GO TO THEIR HOTEL SCHAGEN”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

we just got back from amsterdam on the 11th sept was booked in old nickel, ended up in the hotel SCHAGEN, what a dump we was put in room 4 we are a couple in our 40s, and we have travelled a lot of places and not fussy where we stay somewhere to get ur head down , but this DUMP was 2 single beds in a room about 5 foot wide and 15ft long so beds were either end of each other it needs 2 be decorated from top to bottom, so when we went back to the lady who booked us in a SCOTTISH woman who was very nice when we booked in, but the old hag soon showed her true colours when we complained, basically she told us we have had ur money END OF, so be very careful if u have booked in this place before u hand any money over u want 2 find out where u are staying i cant comment on the old nickel or old quater their sister hotel as we wasnt in either but serious dont stay in the SCHAGEN, yes the stairs are winding and steep there but that didnt bother us its the state of the rooms or our room should i stay i can only presume they r all the same, i dont want someone else parting with their hard earned money to stay there, like i told the scottish nasty woman why r u deceiving people u havent got the SCHAGEN on ur website or its not mentioned that u will be in there cos i really cant see how it can be passed as a HOTEL unless the person was BLIND who inspected it YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED, oh yeah location is fantastic pity i couldnt say that about the schagen or the scottish hag

Room Tip: check ur not in schagen
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHRIS43XXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    146
    104
    53
    54
See reviews for
24
93
90
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

This hotel is in a great location and the hotel staff are friendly and helpful. They are the only good points! The room smelt of cigarette smoke on arrival. The bedding was filthy. If I hadn't already paid for the room I would have left immediately. I chose to avoid using the shared bathroom. I had no intention of having breakfast there after seeing the state of the room. On reflection I would definately pay a bit extra for a decent (or at least clean) hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anon186305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

KL
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed here for two nights and paid EUR150 for twin rooms (EUR75/night).
I have a mixed feeling on this hotel.
We are located on top floor, steep staircase. We request for lower floor but receptionist said it's fully booked.
I think she's telling the truth cause after a few minutes, two female asking for a hotel room but receptionist mentioned it's fully booked. It was school holiday in UK at that time. I guess many ppl travelling.
Hotel location is great. Walking distance to Centraal Station and Red Light District.
Centraal station is the place you can get tram/train/bus to tourist place eg Keukenhof, Zaans Schans, Van Gogh Museum.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for one night only, and that was more than enough. It was very small, and we did not even sleep in the bed, just felt dirty. There is no lift, so if you got a big bag like us, its not a good idea as they fill the hotel from the top floors, we were on the top! There is also just shared bathrooms and NO view of Damrak as mentioned on the website. You also need to hand in your key at reception, so anyone can go into your room, and I find that very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank meliscl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed in the Schangen Hotel even if we booked at the Old Nickel. Long and narrow room in the highest floor (third). Very small and very steep stairs access. Beds separated and distant with no possibility to merge them. Style essential, a bit old and not well kept, sufficiently clean. Free wireless connection. Separate bathroom and shower, very basic and sufficiently clean. Breakfast with tea, coffee, bread, jam, butter and, bacon and eggs, served in the Old Nickel pub (50 metres distance). Friendly staff. Perfect location, close to train station and city centre. The cost is similar to the average cost of this type of accommodation in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rscary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Not exactly a hotel (a pub, with very old, stinky, dirty bedrooms upstairs). Rooms not ready at the expected time. Personnel complained about us having a 3 year-old child with us, against their own policy of children under the age of 5 staying for free. The man who "welcomed" us was ironic, unpleasant, and extremely rude, to the extent that we payed for the room and left without staying there. Horrible experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRB98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Sure this place is old, a little dirty, noisy, and my room was no bigger than a queen size bed, but it's hotels like this that make Amsterdam the great place it is. The staff was great and friendly, and the funky little bar downstairs has 60+ different beers. A great bar to start or end your night out in Amsterdam. Location of this hotel could not be better. It is minutes away from everything and less than a 5 min walk to the train station. I would definitely recommend this place to solo travelers or a couple of friends who need a great place to stay in the middle of all the action in Amsterdam. I paid €100 for two nights and breakfast was included. The shared toilet and shower were always clean and available. My room was on the first floor above the bar and I had free WIFI in my room. The staff said I can smoke anything I want in the room. Could not ask for more!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danimal2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#293 of 368 in Amsterdam
720 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#175 of 368 in Amsterdam
266 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#69 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
France Hotel Amsterdam
France Hotel Amsterdam
#215 of 368 in Amsterdam
192 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Prins Hendrik
Hotel Prins Hendrik
#203 of 368 in Amsterdam
628 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#141 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Nickel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Nickel

Property: Old Nickel
Address: Nieuwe Brugsteeg 11, 1012 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Old Nickel 1*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Old Nickel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Nickel Amsterdam
Old Nickel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing