We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A dirty and uncared for accomodation”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Rooms & Co B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rooms & Co B&B
Ranked #281 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A dirty and uncared for accomodation”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We arrived on the 8th of April 2014 and we were astounded by the filth and the lack of customer care. Appalling level of maintenance and cleanliness, No working TV ( the owner had been in dispute with the providers, presumably the bill was unpaid ) No heating at a time it was needed. Poor and often non existent assistance from Hotel management. This place does not warrant a 3* status, in fact I will contact the rating agency to review this. There is severe cracking in the walls with the outside visible! This place needs to be maintained, it could be nice but the management do not have the willingness to sort it out. Customer care non existent. Avoid at all costs!!!!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    20
    15
    38
See reviews for
12
47
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Not bad...good for the price and the staff is very helpful. There's no WiFi in room 9. The breakfast is OK. I recommend this place if you are looking for a cheap place to stay close to the center and you are not very demanding. Great for youngsters!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rcortes1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Close to the tram and Rambrandt plein, nice area, a big choice of cheap restaurants. Albert s market very close, great.
Prefer a day or several days gvb public transport card because there is plenty to do and it s splitted in different areas.

Room Tip: Stairs are narrow so ask for first flour if problems to climb Quieter on the patio side then street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lili m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneve, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This place is scary! no staff, very dirty, no heating, window not isolated, cobwebs on the ceiling, hair on the carpet, shower curtain torn, doors slammed all night, very expensive for a very low quality!
Never go to this place. I got sick after a 3 night stay ... help!!

Room Tip: Don't go there, that's my only advice!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We arrived late due to a flight delay (9PM) and had to wait a while for anyone to answer the door to the hotel. The lady in charge wasn't even there.. she came walkingdown the block asking how long we had been waiting. Be prepared for a TON of tiny steps.. the staircase is ridiculous. The price was fairly cheap I suppose. The bathroom was actually impressive, which is important for me!! The breakfast is nothing special but was filling if you ate enough... salami, cheese, bread, toast, cereal, fruit, juice, etc. If you need to go cheap, this should be on your list. But don't expect anything great.

Room Tip: Don't get room 8 or 9. There are so many stairs to get up there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauleager93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We arrived at 2pm to be ignored by the woman in reception. We climbed 4 flights of death trap stairs, to a dirty smelly room.

Pillows and sheets looked mouldy. The window didn't close properly and let water into the room. Heating didn't work so we were cold.

I couldn't bear to eat breakfast somewhere so dirty. We used the room least amount of time possible.

Do not book.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annagray17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We booked a twin room at Rooms & Co on Hemonystraat for 3 nights (Euros 110 per night) and advised that we would be arriving at approx 10:00pm. We arrived and there was nobody to greet us, although a resident let us into the foyer. We spent a half hour calling the mobile numbers that we had been given until I finally found another mobile number on the front door (using my iPhone as a flashlight!) and somebody arrived to show us to our room... I understand that this is Amsterdam but the stairs were like a ladder! We were literally pulling and pushing our luggage up the stairs.

Thank God, we did not pay that night for the 3 nights upfront. When the door of our room opened, the first thing we noticed was:
-- The smell - very musty and hint of sewerage!
-- No light fitting on the ceiling, bare wires - ceiling discoloured
-- Filthy bathroom (filth running down the metal cover over the toilet roll; obvious dirt all around the bathroom)
-- The door handle of the bathroom kept falling off
-- The TV remote didn't work
-- The window was very large but when opened there is no safety rail and it is very low, so somebody could easily fall out of the window
-- The single bed was at an angle and I kept rolling down - really awful
-- Breakfast was very ordinary - stale croissants and plastic cheese.
-- The WiFi hotspot on the landing 2 feet away did not work in the room - had to stand next to it!

I think my friend & I were in shock and as it was late we had no other option but to stay the night. Next morning, I logged onto lastminute.com and booked a hotel on Herengracht Canal within 5 minutes. Our new hotel was a proper 3 star for the same price! I have no problem with a simple & clean 3 star but I absolutely have a problem with filth.
DO NOT STAY HERE... EVER!
An absolute disgrace - I have no idea how they managed to get 3 stars on their plaque outside the building!!!

Room Tip: Best advice... do not stay here... book another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLou1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
#153 of 364 in Amsterdam
875 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#314 of 364 in Amsterdam
257 reviews
De Pijp
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
#167 of 364 in Amsterdam
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#88 of 364 in Amsterdam
908 reviews
Volkshotel
#43 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,134 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#151 of 364 in Amsterdam
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooms & Co B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms & Co B&B

Property: Rooms & Co B&B
Address: Hemonystraat 1a, 1074 BK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #281 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rooms & Co B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Rooms & Co B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rooms & Co Bed And Breakfast
Rooms & Co Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing