We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Awful in every way” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rooms & Co B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rooms & Co B&B
Ranked #282 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
West Midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awful in every way”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We arrived at Rooms and Co at 7.30 having informed the hotel(twice) by email that we would be arriving sometime after 7 only to find that there was no one there to let us in. Fortunately one of the other guests came out and managed to get hold of someone to let us in. We were shown to a room that was dirty, with towels that were black, a completely rusty soap holder, lights that were non functioning, a hairdryer that was held together by tape and a tv that didn't work. The whole building was in a very sorry state of repair and the pantry where, according to the website, one could make coffee was filthy and had no provisions. There was, of course, no one on duty, the brazilian couple who let us in having disappeared. We decided to book alternative accommodation for the next two nights and to speak to the manager in the morning to cancel the two following nights accommodation sy Rooms and Co. The following morning Daniel was only available by phone. He was verbally very aggressive and would not accept any of our complaints about the room and finally said I was being unreasonable and he wanted us to leave. I told him that I was happy to pay for the one nights stay we had but he did not give us the chance to do this. I was only too glad to leave and contacted easyto book.com to ask them only to pay for one of the nights accommodation. Charming though they were they did not help at all and Daniel immediately authorised easytobook.com to take all three nights payment from my account. Don't even think about staying here and don't imagine that the pictures on the web or the booking sites bear any resemblance to the reality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoolooWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    20
    15
    38
See reviews for
12
47
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We decided to book this hotel because of the price and location (you have the tram stop 2 minutes away in walking distance). I was a little bit disappointed with the breakfast because there is a lack of variety. But for the price it is not so bad.
The room is comfortable, clean and warm, but avoid to choose upper floors because of the stairs. The best part of the room is the quality of the bed! it is really good.
In my opinion, the negative point is the reception does not work 24h (just from 8h to 5h). However, the staff is very friendly.

In general, i recommend rooms & co!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Di0gOliveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I wasn't expecting too much as I had read the hotel's description but what I found was a little less that expected. I was booked in for 2 nights. Don't stay here if you have trouble with stairs or you take a size shoe greater than 6(UK). Lots of narrow steep stairs, no lifts. Reception is in a cupboard at the bottom of some stairs. Rooms are all not covered by wifi, shower space is good but shower hoses are broken. I eventually moved to a "suite" about 8 blocks away from check in. No tea/coffee facility, no cups, no glasses in the bathroom. A clothes rack was all that was available. However, the room was clean and warm, the bed was comfortable and warm but read the sign on the back of the door before going out and leaving the radiators on! It looks like some houses have been converted but there is still some way to go!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Berlin
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

When we arrived to our hotel, we were informed that it is overbooked and there are no rooms left.
The receptionist offered another hotel „in 10 minutes walk“ which appeared to be 20 minutes by bike and we even had to pay extra for breakfast.

I’ll never use easytbook.com again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank BerlinDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

thee breakfast was not available at 8. on the sunday of the marathon. we must leave without eating. it is not acceptable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Frederic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were e-mailed less than 24h before our arrival was due saying they were full (no apology whatsoever) and that they had booked us into a different hotel. Apple inn hotel which was nice but more expensive, didn't include breakfast and was much less central than this place. The new hote could not get the original hotel manager to pay the difference even though they assured they would. I spoke to the manager a couple of times myself who told me a pack of lies and was rude. He said he would pay the difference then dragged his heels with the hotel. We ended up out of pocket, hungrier and further out of town because of this hotel manager. I could not recommend that you steer clear of booking at this place. They can't count well enough to make only ten bookings.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#79 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#300 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
De Pijp
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
#159 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#102 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
De Pijp
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
#161 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#70 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooms & Co B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms & Co B&B

Property: Rooms & Co B&B
Address: Hemonystraat 1a, 1074 BK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #282 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rooms & Co B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Rooms & Co Hotel Amsterdam
Rooms & Co Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing