We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Smokers paradise right in the city centre!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Cribs B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
Save
You added Amsterdam Cribs B&B to your Saves list
Ranked #125 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
manchester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Smokers paradise right in the city centre!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

What a lovely little bnb/hostel. It really is a smokers paradise. This is why we booked in the first place as many places in amsterdam don't allow smoking in the rooms but here they accommodate for you. In the rooms they have lots of bongs, grinders etc got you to use. They have a playstation and a few games and dvds. A mini fridge (our room slept 2,bigger rooms have access to a kitchen I think). The rooms are basic though and you get what you pay for. Not the cleanest of places but again still amazing value for money. The steps are extremely steep so not good for people who can't get up stairs very well, but we're young and fit so didn't bother us haha. Great location, Eric greeted us and gave us lots of information and was very friendly. Love amsterdam and amsterdam Cribs is definitely the only place to stay!! We will definitely be coming back again soon..

If your a smoker go to Coffeeshop free world, cheap and the best quality!! We have tried most places and this is our favourite.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bubblegum5131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    18
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I went back to cribs with a bigger group, as I had suggested previously. We actually got a different apartment (crib sativa) but it was great. Entrance right on Warmoesstraat is a great location. Near trains, trams, food, bars, shops, damrak, everything. Place comfortably slept 5. Made great use of the kitchen for breakfast and lunch, awesome location makes stopping back by "home" easy. Great price and helpful at check in. Recommended Bird Thai, which was one of the best meals I've had in the dam. Loved the place. Thank you.

Room Tip: get the room on the top level with the balcony, bathroom, and skylights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here back in March 2012 and it was fantastic! What an experience! The location is a big part of what makes it so awesome. It's about a 5-10 minute walk to Dam Square, the Red Light District, and many other exciting attractions. It's like having your own personal apartment in the heart of Amsterdam, where you can smoke all you want without anybody saying a thing! Speaking of which (should you choose to partake), there's plenty of smoking paraphernalia to be found in the room (and did I mention the convenient coffeeshop next door?) The staff are also fantastic, especially the American owner Eric. He was very friendly, very helpful, and answered all of our questions. He is an excellent host! The artwork in the building is also a plus and really adds to the atmosphere.

Some helpful tips if you do decide to stay here: bring everything you think you'll need. That includes soap, shampoo, toilet paper, etc. They have supplies on hand if you need them or forget something, but I recommend bringing your own just for convenience. Also, if you have trouble with climbing stairs, this place is not for you. The stairs are winding and slightly challenging at times, but nonetheless part of the experience! I actually found them fun after a few days. Just be careful after smoking... ;)

Anyway long story short, I can't recommend this hostel enough! I will never forget this place and how much fun we had there! If you want to experience Amsterdam the right way, this is the place to do so. I hope we are able to go back to Amsterdam and stay here again for round two!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Arcadia-Magik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Above and beyond anything you would expect. Best place that I've stayed in Europe while studying abroad.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We have just got back after going on 20-23th april. Couldnt of asked for a better place to stay, the location was great, the apartment was brilliant plus smoke friendly ... The staff at cribs were great with helping us find our apartment, and had a talk through places to go ect. wen we arrived.
Will definatley book with them again !!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fern1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We loved staying at the Amsterdam Cribs. Situated above Pick Up The Pieces coffee shop, this cozy B&B had everything a young traveler would need. Our room was clean and comfortable. The friendly live in staff provided us with extra comforters, pillows, and towels. Our room came equipped with a mini fridge, coffee maker, TV, and a private bathroom. The main focal point in our quaint room, had to be the two large windows that extended the length of one wall. At night, we would lie in bed and watch the hustle and bustle of the city into the late night hours.
Most importantly, we always felt safe. In order to get to our room, you had to go through three locked doors. And, Amsterdam Cribs is in a touristy neighborhood. The streets were crowded day and night. Restaurants, shops, museums, and public transportation surrounded us. The convenient location of this B&B was spectacular. We are very excited to check back in soon. We hope to have the same room-the White Widow.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KFL_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Me and my friend have literally just got back from staying here. were both in our early 20's & female. The room looked nothing like the pictures i saw before booking. i expected alot more consideing the price we paid however its situated in the perfect area. Its literally just off the red light district but far enough away that you dont get all the noise. Its above a coffee shop, but the smoke isnt great. go to Goa's if you want good stuff. the guy who greeted us was a great help. he circled areas to go see in amsterdam and told us about where to watch out for. generally very pleased with our stay, although the 2 owners kept knocking our door and even let themselves in once. i didnt find this appropriate. i wouldnt recommend this hotel to elderly/disabled. the steps are horrible and i found myself crawling up them after nights out :p however the guy did take our cases up for us. overall i would reccommend this place if your young, and want somewhere close to the center :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Sharm Hotel
Sharm Hotel
#155 of 329 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amsterdam Cribs Red Light B&B
Amsterdam Cribs Red Light B&B
#118 of 217 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Ultraviolet Studios
Ultraviolet Studios
#83 of 217 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden View Bed and Breakfast
#87 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#70 of 217 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#111 of 329 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Cribs B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Cribs B&B

Property: Amsterdam Cribs B&B
Address: Oude Hoogstraat 7, 1012 CD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Cribs B&B is a smoker's friendly place, geared towards people looking to explore the city at a laid back pace. It's a great alternative to a typical budget hotel or a crowded hostel dorm. All our rooms are private and equipped with cable TV/DVD and a shower/toilet. We are located in the heart of Amsterdam, just five minutes walk from the Dam Square, Royal Palace, and the Red Light District. Note: The Cribs has a narrow and winding stairway, which may not be suitable for the elderly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Cribs Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing