We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Definately go back again !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Cribs B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
Save
You added Amsterdam Cribs B&B to your Saves list
Ranked #117 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
leicester
1 review
“Definately go back again !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We have just got back after going on 20-23th april. Couldnt of asked for a better place to stay, the location was great, the apartment was brilliant plus smoke friendly ... The staff at cribs were great with helping us find our apartment, and had a talk through places to go ect. wen we arrived.
Will definatley book with them again !!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fern1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    18
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We loved staying at the Amsterdam Cribs. Situated above Pick Up The Pieces coffee shop, this cozy B&B had everything a young traveler would need. Our room was clean and comfortable. The friendly live in staff provided us with extra comforters, pillows, and towels. Our room came equipped with a mini fridge, coffee maker, TV, and a private bathroom. The main focal point in our quaint room, had to be the two large windows that extended the length of one wall. At night, we would lie in bed and watch the hustle and bustle of the city into the late night hours.
Most importantly, we always felt safe. In order to get to our room, you had to go through three locked doors. And, Amsterdam Cribs is in a touristy neighborhood. The streets were crowded day and night. Restaurants, shops, museums, and public transportation surrounded us. The convenient location of this B&B was spectacular. We are very excited to check back in soon. We hope to have the same room-the White Widow.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KFL_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Me and my friend have literally just got back from staying here. were both in our early 20's & female. The room looked nothing like the pictures i saw before booking. i expected alot more consideing the price we paid however its situated in the perfect area. Its literally just off the red light district but far enough away that you dont get all the noise. Its above a coffee shop, but the smoke isnt great. go to Goa's if you want good stuff. the guy who greeted us was a great help. he circled areas to go see in amsterdam and told us about where to watch out for. generally very pleased with our stay, although the 2 owners kept knocking our door and even let themselves in once. i didnt find this appropriate. i wouldnt recommend this hotel to elderly/disabled. the steps are horrible and i found myself crawling up them after nights out :p however the guy did take our cases up for us. overall i would reccommend this place if your young, and want somewhere close to the center :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Me and my friends stayed at Amsterdam Cribs in the Power Plant room from the 23rd of January till the 25th and we had a great experience. The gentleman that greeted us on arrival was so down to earth and laid back he showed us to our room and as soon as we walked in we knew we would enjoy it. He also showed us great places to go have a smoke or eat etc etc. The room was so cosy and had TV, PS2, DVDs, Kitchen, fridge and all smoking utensils. The beds was comfy and the bedroom had no outside noise from the streets. The location of the place is very good as your 2 mins walk from the red light district and most of the shops. I cant think of one bad thing about this place and would defiantly recommend it to everyone as the price is a bargain for what you get in this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MasonW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Myself and three friends stayed with Amsterdam Cribs over New Year 2011/2012 and had a fantastic time. The spacious apartment was in an unrivaled location, the facilities were plentiful and every room was spotless when we arrived. We really appreciated being able to smoke in the apartment as so many hostels/hotels do not allow this. Duke and Jon kindly went out of their way to help us when booking and when we arrived which was greatly appreciated. I cannot recommend this company enough! Thanks again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I stayed in the Purple Haze room. Great place to stay if you want some place where you can smoke in the room. The room has a nice selection of bongs, pipes and grinders to use as well as a PS2. There's a mini fridge and a private bathroom w/ shower. Lighting is great and you have a view of the street below. The street can get pretty busy during the day but is surprisingly quiet at night. The location is close to some great coffeeshops and shopping. The stairs are some of the craziest I've experienced in Amsterdam but if I can make it up and down them while obliterated on a Hill St Blues Banana space cake(thanks for the suggestion Eric!) they can't be that bad. The only suggestion I have is a couple bean bags for the room. That would make it perfect! My #1 place to stay in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

I shared a place with a buddy of mine on the top floor on the NIEUWMARKT. Perfect location, clean, tidy place with enough room and just a cool place to hang out. The guy that was our 'landlord' was cool and helpful (when we were trying to figure out how to get the playstation working).

One thing, like most places in Amsterdam, the stairs are steep.. so be prepared for that.. but it's no biggie.

You can smoke here.. which is ideal because many hotels dont allow you to. You are right in the city centre and anywhere you want to go is a nice stroll.

Being an apartment, you have a kitchen area, lounge, decent bathroom and attic beds.. be a little careful, as the roof is low up here.

Absolutely I would stay there again, and definitely recommend it to other AMS travelers.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 27mangoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Sharm Hotel
Sharm Hotel
#155 of 329 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amsterdam Cribs Red Light B&B
Amsterdam Cribs Red Light B&B
#118 of 217 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Ultraviolet Studios
Ultraviolet Studios
#81 of 217 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden View Bed and Breakfast
#85 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#71 of 217 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 406 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#112 of 329 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Cribs B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Cribs B&B

Property: Amsterdam Cribs B&B
Address: Oude Hoogstraat 7, 1012 CD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Cribs B&B is a smoker's friendly place, geared towards people looking to explore the city at a laid back pace. It's a great alternative to a typical budget hotel or a crowded hostel dorm. All our rooms are private and equipped with cable TV/DVD and a shower/toilet. We are located in the heart of Amsterdam, just five minutes walk from the Dam Square, Royal Palace, and the Red Light District. Note: The Cribs has a narrow and winding stairway, which may not be suitable for the elderly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Cribs Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing