We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is where I will always be staying when in Dam!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Cribs B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
Save
You added Amsterdam Cribs B&B to your Saves list
Oude Hoogstraat 7, 1012CD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is where I will always be staying when in Dam!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

If your a smoker this is the place for you. Eric who met us when we arrived was great. He marked up a few places on the map to visit i.e places for food , coffee shops and bars.we were given Two sets of keys to are pad and Eric was always on hand if you needed help with anything. Me and my mates loved are visit and will be back in November and will be booking dam cribs again .

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonPint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    18
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Great apartment 2 bed rooms 2 shower and toilet plenty of space , Very clean . On arrival very welcoming and very helpfull through out the stay. Would sertanly recomend the appartment to friends and family . thanks for a lovely stay natasha

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank themanda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, Brasil
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Since most of Amsterdam hotels are now smoke-free, it is really a relief to find a place where you are not forced to step outside to light a cigarette. Of course, if you want to smoke something else, Amsterdam Cribs are EVEN BETTER.

Me and my brother booked the Purple Haze suite and stayed there for three nights. Eric, the guy who runs the place, was very nice to us when we arrived. He showed us the comunal kitchen fully equipped and tell us that we were free to eat anything on the fridge (as long as we don't eat EVERYTHING). There was bread, cheese, ham, mayonese, mustard and some other condiments for sandwiches, and also some egs, soda and milk.

In our room we also found four Heinekens on the fridge, a lot of soap, shampoo and toothpaste left by other guests at the bathroom, an X-Box with 10 games (or more), a bong, two glass pipes, tree grinders and even some WEED.

Eric even gave us a DISCOUNT when we pay because he hasn't got the change!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kidids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

We called Eric when we landed in Amsterdam and he told us how to get to the hostel and that he'd meet us there. We showed up and he helped us with our stuff and gave us the low down on the city (which coffee shops were best to go to and the sites and such). He let us print our tickets to some museums on his printer in his room so that we could skip the lines at the actual sites which was really clutch. Some of the downsides are the narrowness and the steepness of the stairs, but if you can get beyond that, this is an awesome place to crash for a couple of nights. There is also some construction currently going on on the exterior of the building. It didn't wake us up because it was on the opposite side of the building from where we were sleeping, but I guess could pose a problem if one is a light sleeper and is trying to sleep in in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dmt32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

This place was really cool and very much a smoker's resort. The place had TONS of paraphernalia (grinders, bowls, bongs, the works). The kitchen would have been clutch but we didn't make use of it since the food in Amsterdam is to die for. The stairs were a little tough but unless you're a total crybaby it shouldn't matter. We had a TV and a shower right there. The room was nice. It cost a little too much but we didn't make use out of a lot that it had to offer. I'd suggest this for groups of 4 or more. Taking over the whole house would be INSANE.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

5 of us stayed in a 2 bed apartment in the red light district, very good value for money - the same if not cheaper than a hostel. Handy location, only a few minutes away from Central Station. A little noisy with a coffee shop directly downstairs and the new smoking laws but we weren't in Amasterdam to sleep so wasn't a big issue.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jozie_glow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

Went to amsterdam on a stag do with 5 of my mates, and have to say we could'nt have hoped for a better place.
smack bang in the middle of everything and just 2 mins walk from dam square, if your looking for a no nonsence appartment in the heart of amsterdam then look no further and book today.
its run by a sound couple of geezers from the states, friendly and helpful, gave us a great list of locations to go see, and always on call if you get stuck.

this was my 3rd trip to the dam and by far the best!

nuff said!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — chez long seat (not comfy)
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spadooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
#220 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Sharm Hotel
Sharm Hotel
#159 of 329 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Ultraviolet Studios
Ultraviolet Studios
#80 of 216 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Not Hotel
#39 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#111 of 329 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#71 of 216 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Cribs B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Cribs B&B

Property: Amsterdam Cribs B&B
Address: Oude Hoogstraat 7, 1012CD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Cribs B&B is a smoker's friendly place, geared towards people looking to explore the city at a laid back pace. It's a great alternative to a typical budget hotel or a crowded hostel dorm. All our rooms are private and equipped with cable TV/DVD and a shower/toilet. We are located in the heart of Amsterdam, just five minutes walk from the Dam Square, Royal Palace, and the Red Light District. Note: The Cribs has a narrow and winding stairway, which may not be suitable for the elderly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Cribs Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing