We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A scene from my stay at this hotel last night:” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel City Garden Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Ranked #246 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A scene from my stay at this hotel last night:”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Characters: the front desk clerk and myself

Time: 1 a.m. in the morning

We open on an exhausted traveler, who had already been kept awake by the noise of the other hotel guests coming through the paper-thin walls. She is standing in a run-down lobby, which smells faintly of pee.

Me: There is a mouse in my room. It ran into my bag and than ran out along the top of the desk and down the side of the bed.

Clerk: Yes, there are a lot of mice in Amsterdam.

Me: I am not staying in a room with a mouse.

Clerk: It is quite common here. We are near the park and they come in.

Me: No, I am not staying in a room with a mouse.

Clerk: Fine, I will move you to a room in the basement.

Me: Expedia charged me over $350 dollars for this room. This is unacceptable.

Clerk: Shrugs. Take it up with them.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    187
    166
    76
    84
See reviews for
113
183
28
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Do not book this place!!!!! When we arrived, we were told that they had overbooked us and they cannot give us an accommodation. Without even an adequate apologise, they put us into a taxi and send us off to another one of their hotel in a less desirable location. Not worth the money and the stress!!! The service is terrible!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank s n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I agree with everything Marjie (last review) has written. The breakfasts were very good and frequently replenished by attentive staff. In hotel info. we thought there was a bar/lounge but this is not the case. The 197 bus from outside the airport (5 euros one way) gets you to the Museum area which is not far from the hotel. This runs every 15 mins and we found this great. On arrival we travelled train from airport (platform 3) to Amsterdam station then bus but this was much more complicated! Our 'small double' room was very small but we booked late and all that was available for price we wanted to pay. The bathroom was good size. We noticed the other rooms were much larger. Vondelpark at end of street turn right outside the hotel and to the left the Rijksmuseum which is a must. We booked tickets to Ann Franks museum and Rijksmuseum on line which was great - no queuing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary194418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mtns NSW
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This was a great location for the museums, next door to a park, walking distance to museums and canals. We met 3 different people on the desk - all were helpful and friendly. We had breakfast in the hotel each day, a buffet for 10 Euros each - very good value, scrambled eggs, breads and rolls, cold meats, cheeses, jams, coffee, fruit juices - a good start for a day out.
The room overlooked a corner of the park, 3 single beds [2 together as a double], bed linen was spotless, bed and pillow comfortable, loads of fresh fluffy towels changed daily. The bathroom & shower recess was spotless, no mould/mildew, bit small, but not cramped.
Our room was at the back of the building, so we woke to birdsong each day.
Good value and a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Our room at the back of the building was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marjie781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Out of the hustle and bustle of the centre (very very busy near Central Station) but only 1 minute from a tram stop.
Didnt get a garden view but the street is a no through road so wasnt too noisy on the front.
Wanted a triple room but was a twin room with a third bed in it. Not huge but big enough for me and two teenagers.
Had a first floor room which was spotless with beds made daily and towels changed daily
Website instructions say take train from platform 1 or 2 but it is 3 or 6. Need coins for train ticket, not notes
Breakfast was a bit busy at times, but the cold buffet was fine
Would definitely recommend it to anyone (Did have ground floor rooms but 5 steps up to hotel so if you are wanting a ground floor room double check access)
Staff were very friendly, helpful and spoke good English

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluepurse1334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed for one night in a four people room. The room was small but decent and clean. Staff was friendly and the breakfast buffet was ok too. Only disadvantage was that the walls are really thin and we stayed on the ground floor next to the breakfast room. So we woke up early because of the noise. Since we only stayed for one night and planned on getting up on time ourselves, this was not really a big issue for us. The location of the hotel is perfect if you want to stay in Amsterdam for the weekend, and be in the city centre, without paying too much.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms on the ground floor because of the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JazzJumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

When we arrived we were shown to room 408 when you open the door it hit the bed and you had to lift cases over bed to get in. The room itself was filthy and smelt. We reported to reception who said and I quote " yes we know lots of people have complained before " that's always nice to know.
We were moved into 405 which was better but still very poor, the heating did not work, nor did the small convector heater they gave us instead, we were told by them the place was falling apart ! The seats were all marked and stained, the room needed a coat of paint, and the shower was rusty and mouldy. I have travelled all over the world and I can honestly say this is the worst hotel I have ever been in. In all fairness the staff were very nice but had no power to do anything.

Room Tip: None of them on forth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PHILIP S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#175 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
#201 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Hotel Europa 92
#194 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#217 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#150 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Garden Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Garden Amsterdam

Property: Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Address: Pieter Cornelisz. Hooftstraat 162, 1071 CH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Garden Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel City Garden Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Garden Hotel Amsterdam
City Garden Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing