We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Ranked #236 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
141 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed for one night in a four people room. The room was small but decent and clean. Staff was friendly and the breakfast buffet was ok too. Only disadvantage was that the walls are really thin and we stayed on the ground floor next to the breakfast room. So we woke up early because of the noise. Since we only stayed for one night and planned on getting up on time ourselves, this was not really a big issue for us. The location of the hotel is perfect if you want to stay in Amsterdam for the weekend, and be in the city centre, without paying too much.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms on the ground floor because of the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JazzJumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    234
    191
    88
    93
See reviews for
129
222
34
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

When we arrived we were shown to room 408 when you open the door it hit the bed and you had to lift cases over bed to get in. The room itself was filthy and smelt. We reported to reception who said and I quote " yes we know lots of people have complained before " that's always nice to know.
We were moved into 405 which was better but still very poor, the heating did not work, nor did the small convector heater they gave us instead, we were told by them the place was falling apart ! The seats were all marked and stained, the room needed a coat of paint, and the shower was rusty and mouldy. I have travelled all over the world and I can honestly say this is the worst hotel I have ever been in. In all fairness the staff were very nice but had no power to do anything.

Room Tip: None of them on forth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PHILIP S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

I won't bore you with a long review. The few things that I would of changed:
Bigger or better tv
A frame around the bed (it slopes as it's 3 mattresses)
Lock on the bathroom door

Now those are things I'm really just picking at as the bed was super comfy and soft. The tv shows were hilarious and the bathroom is a tad small so you will most likely leave the door open anyway.

I do recommend this place. Enjoy your stay in an amazing city

Helpful?
2 Thank aaronpaulsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed the one night for business. Small friendly hotel in a very good location. Rooms rather small but clean. Elevator slow!!! Breakfast was reasonable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mordo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

stayed in the city garden last week for 3 nights. the hotel is not your typical amsterdam, small steep staircase mountain climbing type so is easy on the knees. They were in the process of redecorating the reception area but this did not detract from the stay. the double room was very nice and clean overlooking the gardens and park and the breakfast was ok. the main selling point was the superb location for museums and shopping. it was a good walk to the centre of town but a number 2 or 5 tram was a few hundred yards away. the reception staff very helpful and i would certainly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank frankkkky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed here for three nights in a room for four. Two adults and two teenagers. Although not big for four we were only using to sleep and found it really good value. Very clean, beds made and clean towels everyday and an 'all you can eat' breakfast buffet with a great selection of food and drinks. Although a bit out of the centre We could walk to all the places we wanted to go to and the staff were really helpful booking our taxi to the airport etc. if you want a great value for money hotel in Amsterdam you couldn't get any better than this.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeedsLynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

This was my 4th time in Amsterdam. I was a little worried about the hotel after reading some of the reviews. I was really proved wrong! The location is fabulous! The high end shops provided wishful thinking entertainment, and the museums practically next door was great. The staff @ the hotel were very friendly and helpful about getting around and good places to eat. Breakfast was good, good choices all round. My room a small double was clean, bed comfy, on ground floor facing garden in the back. Very quiet and peaceful. I would definitely return to this hotel, for a weekend getaway it was perfect!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RHepburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#157 of 367 in Amsterdam
943 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#216 of 367 in Amsterdam
203 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#156 of 367 in Amsterdam
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Alfred Hotel
The Alfred Hotel
#225 of 367 in Amsterdam
699 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#117 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,042 reviews
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Garden Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Garden Amsterdam

Property: Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 162, 1071 CH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Garden Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel City Garden Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Garden Hotel Amsterdam
City Garden Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing