We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Ranked #239 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The room was clean but not very big. The breakfast was very good with a broad selection of quality food. Scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, a variety of bread, cereals, ham, cheese etc

Nice, service minded staff.

Good location in the most expensive shopping street :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank kristinhybertsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 723 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 nights. The room was very clean and the breakfast selection was very good. My only complain with the room was that we had problem with the shower head. It wasnt working well and the hot water was intermittent.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starry78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We booked this hotel through a travel agent for my husband, myself and our two sons of 13 and 15. We wanted a quad room as we were unfamiliar with the hotel. I was a bit apprehensive as looked at many of the reviews the week before we travelled and was wishing that we had booked somewhere else but it really isn't half as bad as some people are making out! I took note of asking to look at the room before accepting it and the helpful man (slim and handsome with very dark slick-backed hair!) gave two room cards and asked to choose which one we preferred after looking at them. They were both on the 3rd floor (as I had taken note of the fact that it was better to be on the upper floors). We took room 366 on the garden side (even though the room on the street side was a bit larger). The room was clean with very clean bed linen and towels (new ones if required each day). It smelt smoky at first but that odour disappeared throughout the 4 days we were there. However, the bathroom did have a strange smell in all the time (I had read about this in other reviews) which I expect was some sort of drainage problem (?!) so that was the only unpleasant thing. The room was adequate even with teenage boys sharing and the beds although small were OK. There is so much to see and do in Amsterdam, you are hardly in the room. The breakfast was fine and so was the dining room. A usual continental breakfast and the coffee was OK. The staff didn't seem that happy at breakfast but perhaps that was because a few people take food with them for their lunch (hence the notice in English on the wall saying "east as much as you like but don't take any food out with you" (fair enough). It was also good to be able to have breakfast between 7 and 10am. All the staff we saw at reception were helpful. We saw about 4 different people at different times of the day and if you spoke to them politely then they were helpful and polite to you and helped us find our way around. (I can't help wondering if those reviews where people complain about rudeness at reception was because they were rude themselves!). All in all, we would stay there again but perhaps check that there were no unpleasant smells coming from the bathroom. Oh yes, the location was very good - right near Vondelpark and not far from Museumplein. (Do be careful of all the mad cyclists around). Do visit Anne Frank House and Nemo as they were both excellent.

Room Tip: Check the bathroom for any unpleasant smells before agreeing to have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

No time to waffle so keep it to the point: noisy room on ground floor got moved to 3rd floor with leaking shower (got fixed 2 days later). Threadbare, ripped & mascara stained towels. No plugs.
Mattress toppers that fall off the bed base . Miserable female staff at reception and in the dining room. Musty smell in dining room plus cramped as chairs are too big for small tables.
Upmarket street but disappointing hotel. Wouldn't return and certainly won't be recommending it to any of my friends.

Room Tip: Don't unpack until your satisfied with the room they 1st give you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fieldhousex4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I booked through a travel company for the duration of 4 nights.
I picked this accommodation as the pictures and overall reviews of this hotel seemed quite impressive taking into consideration the price.

I may aswell have booked to stay in hostel, this is the experience you receive, from frayed carpets to a 'garden view' of the shed.

The room was dusty, only 1 power socket worked, hanging my head out of the window would have frayed my hair quicker than the hair dryer, they desperately need an areal as all you receive on the t.v is static, the bed is like sleeping in the gutter, with the mattress topper sliding from side to side resulting on me spending more time on the floor than actually on it, the telephone which is supposed to be used in case of fire didn't even have a wire to plug it in to the wall and the alarm clock also didn't seem to have anyway of connecting it to power and to top it all the window was broken and the wind blew my window open through the night.

This hotel is a complete shambles and not by far value for money, I didn't expect luxury but basic hotel cleanliness.

Stay at a hostel or add a little more to your budget and actually get some rest of an evening.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blink-me182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

me and my other half stayed here for two nights recently after getting married. When we first got there the man on reception was polite and efficient at checking us in. As we got to the room another couple turned up and told us it was their room. This was quickly rectified by the receptionist. Our room was small and basic but clean and just what you need if your planning on only sleeping there. The bed was the
comfiest bed I have ever slept in! And the room was very clean! We did not have
breakfast but it did smell good in the morning! Within walking distance to the whole city (we did not use public transport other than a taxi to and from the airport - 40€ each way). Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed at the City Garden at a time where there must have been some big convention/event going on in town because most hotels were fully booked. We took the risk to book two rooms at the City Garden after seeing the reviews. Here is my experience:

- They had 7 different internet connections, only 2 or so working each time. They tell you to just try another one until you find one that works, and the connection was slow and unstable. I'm happy it was not a business trip where I need to use my computer

- The beds were so narrow! the double bed consisted of two narrow beds put together and in my room there was a third bed. All three beds touched each other creating a huge bed. DO NOT book a triple room if you are going to colleagues, you will all get to share the bed...

- We had two rooms and in both we needed to close the bathroom door to limit the urine smell that got into both rooms. That was terrible.

- The handsoap and shower gel/shampoo are in dispensers attached to the walls. I relaly don't like washing my hair with the same product that I use for my body and if only the one for my hands wasn't empty for the entire duration of the trip....

- I could hear people in the room in front of mine. Not just next to mine but the one accross the corridor!

- Not sure if this is a cultural difference but the man adn the woman at the desk could use a smile and some thank you / how was your stay / have a nice trip type of politeness.


On the plus side:

- They had enough plugs around not to need to unplug the TV in order to charge your phone andd computer

- The location is quite good, very convenient with easy access to trams and supermarkets (there is a big one right by the museums)

- we actually slept well in the (small) beds


In summary: ok if you find other places booked or too expensive and if you only want to sleep (careful if you are sharing with colleagues).

Room Tip: Maybe ask to see the room first (check out the terrible smell in the bathrooms!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a_cheese_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#169 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,035 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#228 of 374 in Amsterdam
218 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
#219 of 374 in Amsterdam
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#264 of 374 in Amsterdam
513 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#138 of 374 in Amsterdam
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Garden Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Garden Amsterdam

Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 162, 1071 CH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#94 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $75 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel City Garden Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel City Garden Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Garden Hotel Amsterdam
City Garden Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing