We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not a business hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel City Garden Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Ranked #246 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not a business hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I was in Amsterdam the same week as a very large medical convention so the hotels were all outrageously priced. Please be aware that the price of the hotel is not necessarily a reflection of the facilities/services in Amsterdam when demand is high.

I had a tiny room, the hotel is tired and as a business traveller, it doesn't have the facilities/services that I would normally expect. The walls were thin and the soundproofing wasn't great.

I should imagine it is fine for a family/couple who are on holiday and sightseeing but I wouldn't recommend it to colleagues.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GailJB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    188
    166
    76
    84
See reviews for
113
184
28
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mapua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We booked this hotel with no knowledge of the layout of Amsterdam and were pleasantly surprised by the location of this accommodation. It was within easy walking distance to transport, restaurants, shopping and the lovely Vondel Park. We found all staff to be very helpful and friendly and when we checked in the person on the desk noticed that we had lots of bags so upgraded us to a larger room at no extra cost. This was really appreciated. Also the view from our room looked right into the trees which was lovely. We were situated right by the main entrance lobby though, which could be a bit noisy early in the morning, but apart from that we have no complaints.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneeClothier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Having read some awful reviews of this hotel before booking, I was expecting an awful hotel but arrived to a surprisingly large room for a hotel in Amsterdam, which, are notorious for being very small. We went as a family of 4, 1 teenage boy and 1teenage girl, plus parents, and there was still room for us to move around easily. Great location 5 minute walk from vonbourgostraat tram stop which you can take the number 1,2 or 5 from. Also a great spot as not far from liedasplien restaurant, shops, pubs and clubs. Was at the front of the hotel right behind reception and we got a fair amount of noise of people going through the park ( there is an entrance at the end of the road) on there return from drinking late at night.
Rooms were cleaned every day with fresh towels provided each day. hotel staff also very careful about putting things back where they found them. Along with really friendlily receptionist, staff were great.

Room Tip: trams only down the road and very good value, 2,80 euro for an hour, 7,80 for 24 hours and 12,80 for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashleigh Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

2 adults and 2 grown up teenagers.Clean and big enough room with 4 beds.. Beds were very comfortableand good pillows. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choices of food and fruits. Coffee machine with espresso,latte etc. Location is walking distance to the center of the city and station. Next time will stay again and recommend to families specially !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Alida64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Excellent location. Rooms on the small side but very comfy beds. So much to do and see within walking distance. Right next to lovely park. Good breakfast. Reception very helpful and provided top tips on tram routes, walking routes. Excellent stay in Amsterdam

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor overlooking the garden. Nice view very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 348Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This hotel is in a great location very central. Reception were helpful. Room was ok but the floor was in need of a good Hoover. Big disappointment when we discovered we had a mouse in the room. Hotel didn't seem very surprised, couldn't move us to another room so moved us to another hotel . Wasn't a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hillbillybairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hotel staff friendly and welcoming, good breakfast. Top floor room light, airy and clean (one flight of stairs to climb as lift did not go to top). Near to Vondelpark and museums. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#173 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 785 reviews
Hotel Europa 92
#193 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
#202 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#150 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 850 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#219 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Garden Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Garden Amsterdam

Property: Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Address: Pieter Cornelisz. Hooftstraat 162, 1071 CH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Garden Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel City Garden Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Garden Hotel Amsterdam
City Garden Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing