We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Ranked #237 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good hotel !!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I lived here for 4 days and there was no problem.
The staff is truly nice and kind, they helped us with everything and they knew the right answers for our questions.
The breakfasts were so good and in a good time - 7am - 10:30am. There was no problem to choose, what you want to eat and drink.
Our room was small, but well furnitured, with a bathroom, which was also nice, cleaned every day, everything was working as it should be.
The location is the best, everything is near, you can walk everywhere you need.
When I go again to Amsterdam, I will live here again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KlarkaAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    232
    191
    87
    92
See reviews for
129
221
34
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Rude, surly staff. Tiny cabin like rooms with awful amenities, not enough towels, punch hole in the bathroom door. All soap bolted down like a prison. Maid asked us to put her plug through the window so she could hoover. Lifts were broken, mattresses blocked hallways and was not near where the info stated. Liar liar pants on fiar.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank notts738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Me and my friend stayed in this hotel for just one night, but wasn't we glad! When we got into our room the first thing we notice was mould in every corner of the room. Then after being awake for 24 hours straight we wanted to take a nap but it was a very light sleep as the door did not lock! We told the receptionist and she just told us that there was no other room for us to go into so we had had to block the door with the side draws and wardrobe. The hotel isn't really located close to the main areas so we had to catch several trams to dam square etc.. So after just staying in the hotel for one night we thought our nightmare was over until we got home, as we both discovered bites all over our body's! I think it's safe to say that I will not be staying in this hotel ever again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kch1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We arrived at the Hotel to a friendly receptionist who was very helpful indeed. All of the reception staff were helpful and friendly. The room was adequate for our 2 night stay. Clean and tidy with the essentials we needed. Breakfast was very nice indeed. Not sure why there are negative comments about this hotel!! Would recommend this hotel.
Please be wary of taxi drivers who approach you at the airport...we were charged 97 euros to get to our hotel which was expensive to say the least. The return trip was 40 euros.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 169 facing the street. We were not disturbed by any traffic or other noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

On first arriving at our hotel at the end of the most expensive shopping street in Amsterdam we were a bit worried! The E light of the HOTEL sign was out and there was a building missing next door (presumably knocked down for rebuilding in future). However, the staff were very friendly and sorted us out with our room key card and breakfast details with no trouble and there were plentyl of leaflets and vouchers on hand as well as a free map in the lobby area.

We went up the lift to our room and noticed the hotel has an old house sort of feel to it. But then it's not the Ritz is it?! We were further worried on opening our room door and finding the door nearly fall off its hinges! Turns out the screws were just a bit too long for the hinge so it didn't fall off during our stay at least!

The room was basic and small and the shower room a bit old with some ground-in grime. And the beds and bedspreads kind of matched!

That said, everything worked in the room - hot water, toilet, heating, TV, etc so you've got to think past the initial scenery sometimes!

Although the hotel is not in a noisy area, there was some noise from the rooms nearby as young groups were getting ready to go out on the town (or whatever else they were doing!), Though, as a family, we weren't out late so I guess you have to give some allowances for the youth of today!

The breakfast area was nice and the food good. But watch out for the overly large chairs as they make it really awkward to get in and out from sitting at your table!

I wouldn't go back here, but I'm not saying don't stay. As long as you class it as a budget hotel then you won't be disappointed - even if it may not have budget price tags! But then, Amsterdam is really expensive anyway - so maybe it was cheap :-).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wazzaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is near the city centre. Breakfast are fine. Rooms are quite small, but the idea is to go outside. Bathrooms are also ok. I'm recommending that hotel as great stop for a weekend.
You can go to the centre by Tram. Wifi password amsterdam007

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outofspace_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
#204 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#154 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#214 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#123 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#163 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#110 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Garden Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Garden Amsterdam

Property: Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 162, 1071 CH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Garden Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel City Garden Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Garden Hotel Amsterdam
City Garden Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing