We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Mediocre place for a 3 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel City Garden Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel City Garden Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.C. Hooftstraat 162, 1071 CH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #238 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mediocre place for a 3 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I have stayed in 2 star hotels that are nicer. Do not accept a room below the lobby. It is like sleeping in a basement or cave. There is very little light or ventilation. The evening hotel staff deals with you like you are at a swap-meet, by negotitating with you. I am pretty easy going and dont have a problem with 2 star hotels, but this one should not be classified as a 3 star. It's a short walk to the Leidsplein area and Vondel park. The breakfast is average and I suggest you dine elsewhere. On a positive note the bathroom is fairly large.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    180
    154
    75
    80
See reviews for
108
173
26
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

we booked a triple room for 3 nights including breakfast. The receptionist was very nice and helpful and let us drop our bags off as we were early so that we could go off exploring before check in. Really good location for liedsplein, vondelpark and tram stop close by. The hotel itself needs a bit of love and attention, but overall was a pleasent stay. The breakfast buffet was really good included fresh breads, croissants, juices, cereals,yoghurt and scrambled eggs aswell as the usual continental meats/cheeses. The room was a good size, clean beds - the bathroom was rather tatty looking, but clean and the shower was very powerful with hot water the entire stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jody_lee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

The location is nice: adjacent to a large park, very close to the Rijksmuseum and to the Van Gogh museum, 10 minutes ride to the center of the city on a tram going nearby. The location is mostly qiuet, though there was some loud partying under our window on the second night of our stay. The parking on the street costs 4 euros per hour (for hours 9-24), or 36 euros for the whole day. There is also an option to leave the car on a parking lot somewhere for 8 euros per day, and come back on a tram (ask at the reception for details).

There is a rather horrid smell in the hallways (probably has something to do with a frequently used ashtray located near the elevator, just 2 meters from our room's door). The room is rather spartan with the 4 beds being placed in a row, but rather clean. The bathroom is the worse part though: the door has no lock, the stream of water in the shower is very weak, and if you flush the toilet, during the next 5 minutes the water in the shower is boiling hot. The breakfast is a rather basic affair, but cleanly served. All in all, it's passable, unless you're extra sensitive to the cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dimrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Stayed for two nights. Hotel was clean, comfortable and offers a substantial breakfast. Staff, we found, were friendly, efficient and helpful. OK, it could probably do with a thorough makeover, but what do you want? We required a bed to sleep in after a days sight-seeing at a reasonable price, and that's what we got. Would recommend for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margery1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

My wife my daughter & i spent 4 nights in a triple room in this hotel, after night one my daughter had spots on her arms & legs from sleeping on the bed nearest the floor, after night 2 the spots had got worse, we complained to an elderly lady at reception who laughed!!, we asked someone else & got the room changed to a noiser one & my daughter was bitten again. This hotel was picked by thomas cook as a 3 star hotel more like 2 star and it also said in a quiet culdasac this was not true as the nearby park had many visitors late at night. I would not recommend any one to stay here!!!

Room Tip: do not stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne186298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

The Reception Desk staff and the Breakfast Restaurant staff, gave us good service. The servicing of our bedroom was good as far as bedlinen and towels were concerned, but the room could have benefited from a "deep clean". The hotel can arrange transport to and from the airport at a more reasonable cost than public transport.
Our room was not large, and we choose to stay on the top floor to have the view over the park and the city - but when we left the lift and continued to our room, the last staircase was steep and a bit difficult to manuver suit cases.
We felt the location was good as it gave us immediate access to the large park. Trams were available nearby, but we enjoyed walking the city to enjoy the atmosphere. Designer clothing retail shops were also nearby, and some restaurants were also nearby.
My husband and I liked being close enough to tourist attractions and restaurants, but with the quietness of a hotel in a cul de sac and beside a large park with cafes.
As a couple in the "over 65 year old" bracket - it would have helped if we had been escorted to our room and had our cases carried for us.

Room Tip: ask to view the room on arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quiglies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

we got off the tram at the museum and walked down hooftstraat and thought we were very lucky to have a hotel on the richest street with all the designer stores including tiffanys etc ,only to be disapointed when we crossed the road to our hotel, and even more dissapointed when we got to our room, it was very small with furniture that was too big for it, the kettle wouldnt work in the socket it was supposed to, the hotel had run out of milk !,the shower door fell off when i was in there,the towels had big holes in,the windows had no safety catches on them and opened straight out,we were on the 3rd floor!allin allnot a good experiance,would not stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kebabus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#215 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#153 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#180 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 749 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#45 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,148 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
#186 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Garden Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Garden Amsterdam

Property: Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 162, 1071 CH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Garden Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel City Garden Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Garden Hotel Amsterdam
City Garden Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing