We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lights on... 2 times!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inner Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inner Hotel
Ranked #179 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lights on... 2 times!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I stayed at Inner Amesterdam for a night with a friend since the place we were staying was fully booked for that day.
The location is ok, but very far from the center, so you'd have to take the tram a lot. But it's close to the Museumplein and the Vondelpark. There's a supermarket close by.
The room was good, but there were few power outlets for 8 people. The bathroom though was not compatible with the quality of the room: it would get wet all the time, even though there was a glass door separating the shower.
The thing that really bothered me was that the receptionist entered our room twice during the night! He appeared to be looking for someone but I think that shows lack of organization. Besides, the first time he forgot the lights on!
All and all it's an ok place. We didn't try the breakfast so I can help with that.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ga_bi_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    154
    200
    146
    223
See reviews for
51
144
66
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkby Stephen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We were worried having read the reviews but we had a good experience. The receptionist on 10.4.14 was excellent and gave us a superb rate on breakfast for the three children - 2.50 Euros apiece. The room - number 10 - was fine, clean and although there was a lot of noise from the room next door with doors banging, it was only to be expected. The one sour note was breakfast on the last day 12.4.14 when the new guy on the desk refused to give us the same breakfast rate and said that that applied to children under three. As ours were well over that I can't imagine the first guy made a mistake , so that was disappointing. We had a lovely breakfast at the Concert-gebouw next door. While the hotel is basic and is really a hostel, the location is fantastic - get the number 5 tram from the Centraal Station - you won't be too disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 10 -three sets of bunks - was perfect for a family of 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiv W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a two night stay at inner. Was dubious because of awful reviews but my doubts about the place were soon forgotten. On arriving early morning in the dam I emailed the hostel to ask if we could leave luggage before check in, got a reply straight away. Headed there dropped luggage in locked luggage room and was also told there were free safety deposit boxes if needed. Friendly reception staff nice first impression. Check in quick and simple got given two room keys for our twin en suite. Yes corridors are bit shabby but didn't bother us we weren't sleeping in them. Room was decent size, laminate floors were clean, furniture modern and clean. Fresh towels supplied, shower gel and hand soap in bathroom. Shower hot and spacious. Beds were two singles pushed together when I sat on it was so soft I sank right in but after an early flight and all day walking the city we both slept like babies. Fresh towels supplied next day too and also reception open 24/7. Didn't use any communal areas but looked like plenty seating for larger groups. Bottom line if on a budget wanting clean friendly accommodation and u don't mind being bit further out you can't go wrong here. It is a hostel but surely when booking people realise this. Would stay again!!!!!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank nursey1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This hostel is perfect for a few nights, it has the basic. It is clean. The bathroom has everything you need. It does get a little hot at night but apart from that the beds are comfortable. The receptionists were extremely helpful and friendly. The location is again very good as it is not right in the town but the tram is just round the corner and it is near all the main museums.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toni686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and were very impressed. The rooms were clean and the location was central so it was perfect for touristy stuff. The staff were so helpful and kind and they let us leave our bags here for 2 days and we weren't even staying here. Great value for money if you're staying in the hostel and eating your own food. Nice dining room area which is communal and you get to see a lot of people so it's quite social. And free wifi! Bonus. Two thumbs up if you're on a budget :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

As a hostel this is ok. The accommodation is what you would expect and is clean and comfortable. It is however expensive for what you get when compared to the YHA for example. What spoilt the whole experience for us was the appalling service from a member of the reception staff on the second morning. He was disinterested, abrupt and accused us of lying about the breakfast deal we were given the morning before. I have never been treated so poorly by 'hotel' staff before

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wally1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

I see that there is a lot of negative feedback here, and quite frankly I think it's undeserved. You're not getting a luxurious hotel here, but keep in mind that that's not what you're paying for either. This hotel is really cheap, centrally located, has friendly staff and clean, basic rooms, most of them with bunk beds. A pub on the main floor, which also serves a basic breakfast in the mornings. Would recommend for school trips, groups of friends, et cetera, and will probably stay here again myself :)

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MariaFromNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
New West Inn Amsterdam
#160 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 884 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#288 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 1,665 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#287 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#72 of 217 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 406 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inner Hotel

Property: Inner Hotel
Address: Wanningstraat 1, 1071 LA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inner Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Inner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inner Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing