We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inner Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inner Hotel
Ranked #181 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed for three nights 28th-31st Jan.

Before booking we read lots of reviews on this site and booked despite comments about bed bugs, bad breakast and rude staff. Glad we took the chance as it had none of these!

Inner is split into hotel and hostel and we stayed in a hotel room.

We navigated ourselves from Schipol Airport to Inner and found every step of the journey simple. Go to the bus terminal outside the AP, find the 197 stand and get off at Miseumplein (€4- a screen on the bus tells your the next stop just before you get there). Get off take a left, then first left off the Main Street, first left again past a fashionable homeware shop, then first right and Inner should be on your left hand side on the corner.

Check in was simple and the staff very pleasant and helpful (asked for an extra pillow, dealt with very politely and efficiently).
We got to the room and were pleasantly surprised. It was clean, adequately sized, bright and pretty enough. Huge windows gave a beautiful view of the Amsterdam city scape. The bathroom was large, well stocked with roll, soap and shampoo and the shower powerful and hot. Noticed there was also a free and easy to operate safe in the wardrobe. We also had a TV in the room which also had English language channels. The room was no smoking.

Breakfast was very continental and I can see why people were disappointed if they expected a proper hotel breakfast. There was a good selection however, cold meats, cheese, bread, biscuits, cereal, jam, fruit juices tea and coffee. My partner was disappointed but I made a big salami, ham and cheese sandwich each morning.
The only grumbles with breakfast would be that the dining area is very scruffy and run down. Seems to be used as a storage area and was the site of some long forgotten dream for a bar. There was also no toaster!

The area was really lovely and residential and took about 10 mins to walk right into the centre, past all the museums (but Van Gough was closed for renovation) and IAmsterdam sign. Inner is also a very short walk to a few of the best coffee shops we went to. Rookies, which has a very relaxed pub feel. And De Dampkring- translates as 'The Atmosphere' which really says it all. Also, look out for Bowie, the cute but temperamental resident cat.
It was quite a walk up to Dam Square and the RLD, but nothing took more than 30mins to walk to.

Overall, we were very impressed with Inner as a budget hotel. For the very little money you pay, you get a bright, clean room, friendly staff with a central location. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevotchkaExplores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    156
    206
    152
    227
See reviews for
53
148
68
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed 4 nights together with my partner in a big twin bed room with a Tv, window and bathroom. We pushed the beds together to make a king bed and it worked very well and was comfortable.

It was also pretty quite and located in more of a residental area than right in the city centre. Though with trams just minutes away from the hotel that took you right into the city it still felt like you were very central. You could always walk, it is very beautiful. If you want to reach the red light district I suggest taking a tram as it is a bit of a walk. We normaly took the tram there and walked home. One evening we took a bike home, and the cost of that wasn't too bad, but it was very bumby and they biked fast. There is a casino and hard rock cafe 10min walk away and is located in the start of the shopping area which then goes on all the way to the main station and is a great street to walk down.

We had a computer desk in our room but were only able to get internet if we were down in the Lobby. That internet worked fine and was free so that is acceptable. We ate the breakfast buffe which was acceptable too. Just make sure to write down the address, we found it abit tricky to find at first. There is also a supermarket 5min away which is great to buy some snacks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecka90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sion, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

It was my first time sharing a room with other people and not a problem at all. Went there with 4 friends and shared the room with other 4 people. We had our own bathroom inside the room and 4 bunk beds. It was all very clean and bed linen and towel were provided which was fantastic for a short trip of a weekend. We also had free safes in the room so no worries with valuables. Reception is open 24/7 which was perfect as we could check-in at 1am when we arrived. The most amazing thing about this place is definitely breakfast. Cereals, different types of bread, ham, cheese, salami, tomatoes, cucumber, juices, nutella, butter and jam, coffee... What else to ask for when you pay 18€/night?? Just perfect value!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaSpain8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Booked this hotel through an easyjet package deal. After reading a few reviews on trip advisor I was a bit worried but it wasn’t that bad at all. Rooms are basic, we were lucky to have a small balcony in our room. En suite wasn't bad, although could have done with some ventilation. Beds were not too comfy but as we were only there for a few days it was bearable. Although the location is outside of the red light district, it was not hard to get to. Can walk to Dam square in approx 30min and the walk is pleasant. There are also trams that run regularly just round the corner from the hotel. Breakfast was better than expected with a selection of the standard European meats and cheeses as well as cereal, toast, teas, coffee and juice. On the whole this place is perfect if you are visiting with a group of mates for a long weekend, it’s cheap and facilities are not too bad.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljc001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had a two night stopover there in September 2012 and while this would be the smallest hotel room we have stayed in, it was value for money. A reasonable bed, a clean bathroom and a plain but ample buffet breakfast. The best attributes of this hotel however are it's friendly and helpful staff and the central location is perfect for tourist.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dalrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyvinkaa, Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

One woman at the reception was having a good trip every evening, but it was only funny :) Good service and better,cleaner rooms than usually in this prize point hotels in Amsterdam.
Minus: They sold us 1 person room with the prize of double room, even they messed up reservations them self. It was New Year, so all the hotels were fully booked and we had no other choice than take what was given, but I will continue the battle.
Location is good, tram and bus stops are only about 200 meters from the hotel, in Museumplein and lines are going to all directions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatriA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

A group of friends and I stayed at Inner a few days ago whilst en route to Dortmund. We stayed in 2 rooms, sleeping four each. We booked in advance and as a result paid less than £20 each for the stay, with ensuite bathroom and shower and breakfast too. Its minutes from Centraal station on a tram, which are frequent, and the hotel is seconds away from the nearest tram station and easy to locate - if you don't mind asking a local that is! Check-in was quick and easy and the staff very helpful and polite.

If you're looking for somewhere relatively well located (certainly for Museums etc), cheap yet with all the facilities you could want from a room for the night, then I would definitely recommend Hotel Inner

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Playa_de_Blues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
New West Inn Amsterdam
#159 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 908 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#288 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 1,692 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#284 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#290 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
#319 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inner Hotel

Property: Inner Hotel
Address: Wanningstraat 1, 1071 LA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inner Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Inner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inner Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing