We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inner Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$443
$373
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Luxury Suites Amsterdam(Amsterdam)
$397
$386
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$965
$827
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Toren(Amsterdam)
$332
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$278
$256
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$905
$347
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$206
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$360
$340
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$317
The Hoxton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (893)
Filter reviews
893 results
Traveler rating
67
183
228
166
249
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
183
228
166
249
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centreresidential areatram stopvan goghdam squaresupermarketvondelpark
Filter
Updating list...
286 - 291 of 893 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had a 4 bed room ... yep tiny, but what do you expect in Amsterdam ... the breakfast was top notch for a hostel, seriously a lot of food put out :) ... the free wifi, bar, internet computers, free safes, locked luggage storage, friendly staff, excellent location (get a tram pass) clean bathrooms, free soap and shampoo, flat screen TV in the dining room ... so what didn't I like: the room was hot and stuffy, fan was feeble, of course no A/C. I never saw a bed bug, never saw a cockroach, overall I totally enjoyed this place. I have stayed in a lot worse than this :) Don't fret over the small stuff, you won't die if you stay here, you'll just sweat while you sleep :)

Room Tip: smaller room, less roomies, quieter :)
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Global-Reporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

As a young group we tend to look for the cheapest options but usually the cheap hotels in other citys are exactly what we need - just a bed to sleep in. However it is not possible to sleep in this place. We saw a few reviews saying the hotel is hot and stuffy but thought okay were not picky im sure we can put up with that but it's far to hot to sleep - the windows dont open properly and one little fan did hot make enough difference it was awful - so bad that everyone was made angry and put a downer on the whole holiday - impossible to get 6 people showered a ready in a tiny sweat box. We all were getting more and more bites on our backs and at first through they were mosquitoes even though we hadn't seen any and the room so badly ventilated I didn't see how they could get in!! We became confused as they were only on our back and were all sleeping on our backs as so hot - then discovered (and confirmed for further reviews I have read just now) that they were BED BUGS!!!!! Even though there is a hard floor and lots of space under the beds to clean easily - they hadn't cleaned under them so all dirty and horrible so nowhere to put your things without getting dirty. It is impossible to shut the doors without slamming them so you hear this all night. Breakfast was standard - better than we expected. Rude and unhelpful staff. You cannot pay by card (even though we enquired before hand were told we could) And if you are in a group you must all pay together upfront cash - not allowed to pay separately. We are a fairly low maintenance group but this place was unbearable. DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chappy1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

good ubication in Amsterdam,near van Gogh museum. dirty rooms with bugs on beds and terrible bathrooms. too hot and no air conditioned,impossible to have a good sleep. free wifi and that's the only good point,but the hotel is too expensive for a 1 star service.[--] on curtains,enough said..

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bowie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hostel is great in so many ways, great breakfast (for a hostel), good facilities and the place runs pretty well considering the turn over, and a pretty good position in town too. I would give it four out of five, however...

When it comes to travelling a good nights sleep is essential to enjoying your time away. Unfortunately the rooms are too hot. We had a thermometer and measured 28 degrees in the room despite it being 18 degrees outside on the street. The rooms have very little ventilation and some have a small fan to try and make up for this however without enough external air getting in it is just blowing hot air around.

The hostel needs to rectify this with air conditioning or by renovating the windows to make them larger. Until then, I couldn't recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacksonAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and every night was spent in a different room. This was however because we didn't book in advance, so I can't complain too much about that. There is no air con in the rooms, we did have a fan in one however. Staff were generally friendly and helpful with directions etc. Had a nightmare with the 3rd room, being told that my booking didn't exist and then to find out that the room of 6 we had booked was to be split up into 2 rooms of 3, shared with 3 strangers. For 25 euros each a night, it put a roof over our heads, a small safe, and breakfast included. Biggest shock for me is the fact that 6 people can stay in a 20sqft room with no air con and no windows in the middle of summer and survive.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breadstick92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews