We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Pretty good, but not perfect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #44 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Metz, France
1 review
“Pretty good, but not perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Good hotel, global nice room and important choice for breakfast.

Although the bad parts are not so important they do bother sometimes (again, not too much!).
The parking at the hotel is too expensive and you cannot book before you are with your car at the hotel (depending on the free places).
The breakfast is a bit too expensive.
The delux double room is good, but some pieces of furniture are not of a high quality (wich is expected in a delux). But the most important (bed and bathroom) were very fine.
Also some information in the hotel's notes are outdated (for instance concerning the bus lines nearby the hotel), which can be annoying.

In conclusion, a good hotel for sure, but a bit outrated when I see a 9/10.
I would personnaly give it a 7.5 or 8.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,009
    1,010
    177
    39
    34
See reviews for
309
1,054
86
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Although this hotel is a little way out from the centre you can pick up the number 48 bus immediately outside. It is easy to get to from the airport by train to Sloterdijk (10 mins) then the 48 bus to Hempoint. Don't get off at the stop the same name as the street Spaarndammerdijk as it's a bit of a walk. We got the bus ticket for 72 hours costs 16.50 for unllimted use on buses, trams and metro. You can buy this at the hotel. The number 48 also takes you straight into the centre in 10 minutes. Remember to check out when leaving any transport or your ticket will be blocked for 1 hour. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a fantastic room which was really lovely and very comfortable. The breakfast was very good with plenty of options available to cover everyones needs.
You can buy tickets for most attractions from reception which saves time queuing. If you are going to the Anne Frank house buy your tickets online at least a week in advance before travelling as the queues were so long. We waited nearly 3 hours and each time we went past it the queues were the same length. The silly thing was there was only one till to take payment which held things up. A trip on the canals is highly receommended.
The hotel was lovely and the staff fantastic, especially Bruno on reception who made our stay unforgettable. It may not be in the centre but only 10 minutes oin the bus and you're there. The trams when in the centre were very good, frequent and reliable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

An excellent stay at the hotel, it was a short tram ride into the city centre but we purchased a 36 hour tram pass which cost around 16 euros which was a bargain as you can use it unlimited and on the night buses! The staff in the hotel are very friendly and helpful and make the best mojitos! The food is amazing, the terrace is romantic and looks amazing, if I was to go back to Amsterdam I would 100% go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Char P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamworth
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

The hotel was quite far out of the centre although the public transport is very good. Nice hotel in an industrial area so no nice views around. I wouldn't stay again purely for the fact that it was too far from everything.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carricotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
349 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Outside of the city, not ideal if doing tourist stuff but if you dont mind getting taxis then it is a great hotel. The rooms are modern and clean, there is a decent amount of space and a good bathroom. The restaurant and bar are really excellent, made better by great staff!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheChap69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, and it was perfect. It was a great price for a 4-star hotel, spacious and comfortable rooms, great front desk service and very helpful staff. The rooms
The hotel is a 10 minute bus ride away from Central Station, which comes every 15 minutes. Once we just missed the bus, decided to walk and it took us only half an hour.
Very clean hotel, had great pool facilities and restaurant with a great patio
Would definitely recommend and stay again when back in the city

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CanadianTravelGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We were realty happy with the car park as we could use it overnight and for the days either side of our stay
Room was comfortable and gave the adults privacy.
The breakfast was huge but the cook food disappeared really fast and was refilled as breakfast finished

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
2.6 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.0 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#48 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
1.5 mi away
Urban Lodge Hotel
Urban Lodge Hotel
#47 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#118 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Property: WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam is on the edge of the old centre of Amsterdam, 10 minutes by public transport. The hotel is on the border of Spaarndammerbuurt which is renowned for the world famous Amsterdam School-building 'Het Schip', making it a wonderful area with much to discover. The hotel is easily accessible by car or public transport (bus 22, stop Hem-point). Art Hotel Amsterdam has 190 modern hotel rooms, all with free WIFI internet. In the public areas is an art gallery of the famous Dutch artist Herman Brood. Also in the rooms you will find art above your bed. The Art Brasserie is open daily for a la carte breakfast, coffee to-go, lunch, drinks and dinner. Next to The Art Brasserie is restaurant The Gallery, also used as breakfast restaurant. Adjacent there is an outside terrace with bar and a public open air swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Amsterdam Tulip Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing