We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam Virgin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Wirral
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amsterdam Virgin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed at the Westcord Art Hotel for 3 nights on July 29th. It was my first time in Amsterdam and was very nervous but I needn't of worried.
The man at the information at the Airport have us directions and what type of public transport to use to get to the hotel. After getting off the train we boarded the 48 bus to Hempoint and it stopped off right outside the hotel.

We arrived about 10am and check in wasn't till 3pm but our room was ready so the hotel let us go straight up.

After we unpacked we went down to reception to purchase our bus tickets. We paid €21 for a 96hr bus ticket. We got the number 48 bus right outside the hotel straight into Amsterdam Centraal. The journey took around 10 minutes :-)

Hotel was very quiet at night and first thing in the morning. Breakfast was lovely but if you went a bit nearer the time it was ending then there wasn't much left (which would happen every where)

Variety of the food in the hotel was very good, along with the price of it so we ate out in the Centraal every night. Drinks were also expensive in the hotel but they were in the Centraal as well.

Swimming pool area was good as well but pool was freezing!!

Overall I couldn't fault the hotel and I definitely would go back again. If the price was the same.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie0981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Augsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The hotel is situated a bit outside, but well connected to the city centre/Amsterdam Centraal with buses.
Wifi connection in the room was great!
We didn't have the time for swimming, but the public pool (Brediusbad) looked nice.
If you don't want to have breakfast/lunch in the hotel, there are some nice local cafes just a walk away (Spaarndammerstraat).
It's a matter of taste if you like bathrooms with walls of glass... There were the typical hotel things (shampoo, body lotion, remover pads,...) provided. The toilet is seperated from bed- and bathroom and has no own washbasin.
The air-conditioning worked well, but for us it was enough to open the window.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Nice hotel, nice breakfast, clean and spacous rooms. Only negative with room is that you can not open window, only aircon. A bit far from city center, but bus 48 is right outside hotel. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Great hotel just outside all the hustle and bustle - clean rooms, lovely comfortable beds, all facilities in room i.e. hairdryer, tea & coffee, air con etc. plus free wi fi. Restaurant looked busy although did not use it as it looked a bit pricey - although had a few drinks on the outside terrace which looks over the public pool. A great bonus having the pool which is free to hotel residents. Massive open air adults pool, massive childrens pool and baby dip pool. It was very hot when we were there and our last day decided to chill out by the pool which was full of the local kids and parents having picnics - really great area with snack bar for lollies, drinks etc. Made a change from avoiding the trams. City centre very easy to get to on no 48 bus right outside hotel - bought a 3 day bus pass from reception which allows you to bus and tram jump for 72 hours - great value. Would recommend this hotel very nice - staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineKBroadstairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

A more than adequate hotel 10 mins from central station by bus, very clean, nice friendly staff, would not hesitate to book again outside the city centre.
Buses every 15 mins,no 48 outside hotel no need to stay in centre, also night bus 348 stops outside hotel, did not eat in hotel but lager was cheaper than in city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stayed here with a group of 20 lads for a stag do, really up to date modern hotel with all the mid cons wifi etc. From what I gather there are better rooms at the other side of the hotel, 226 being ours which I highly recommend if possible. Plenty of room, whereas a couple of the other lads say their rooms weren't as big. Bit pricey for drink but then it is everywhere in Amsterdam. About a 20-40 euro taxi ride to the centre depending on which taxi driver you were luckily or unluckily given. But all in all a good stay at the west cord art hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GibbinsPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I stayed in the 3 star section of the hotel for two nights while in Amsterdam on business. The room was comfortable and clean. Good WiFi was available free of charge throughout the hotel including in the room (I was on the fifth floor).

Breakfast buffet offered a good selection, although on the second morning there was a wait for plates and croissants. The brasserie food in the evening was reasonable, but had I been staying longer I would have had to have looked elsewhere for variety's sake.

The hotel is a pleasant half hour walk from the Centraal Station, alternatively a 10 minute bus ride.

The one let down was the apparent reason that it took a long time to get a lift in the morning (the staircase isn't ideal for those of us who aren't keen on heights) - when I did get in a lift on the ground floor and it went to the basement, a member of the housekeeping team looked disgruntled that there were guests in the lift but travelled up to the fourth floor. As she got out she hit the -1 button, and I assume that it was this action, repeated numerous times, that caused the delay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bad_u_turn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam is on the edge of the old centre of Amsterdam, 10 minutes by public transport. The hotel is on the border of Spaarndammerbuurt which is renowned for the world famous Amsterdam School-building 'Het Schip', making it a wonderful area with much to discover. The hotel is easily accessible by car or public transport (bus 22, stop Hem-point). Art Hotel Amsterdam has 190 modern hotel rooms, all with free WIFI internet. In the public areas is an art gallery of the famous Dutch artist Herman Brood. Also in the rooms you will find art above your bed. The Art Brasserie is open daily for a la carte breakfast, coffee to-go, lunch, drinks and dinner. Next to The Art Brasserie is restaurant The Gallery, also used as breakfast restaurant. Adjacent there is an outside terrace with bar and a public open air swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Amsterdam Tulip Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing