We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Worryless stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
istanbul
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worryless stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed in the 4 star section of the hotel. Overall great quality to price ratio. You pay extra for breakfast, but it is good. Did like the fact that hotel has parking available and offers free Wi-Fi. The art Brasserie in the loby open 'til 1am is a big plus. Good food served in it. Good bar atmosphere. Otherwise nothing else to do in the neighborhood. Every day if you don't mind riding conveniently 10 min with the bus to Amsterdam Center, then it is the best hotel you can book.

Room Tip: Hotel has two building wings. One is 3 star the other one is the 4 star section. Pay attention when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beaugosse33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    883
    156
    33
    32
See reviews for
256
927
77
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Can not fault this place. We were given a room on the top floor with a balcony, Room 724 and felt pretty lucky as its one of only a few. The rooms clean and modern. Hotel staff are very polite. Breakfast was better than expected. Would definately return here again. Some have said bar prices are expensive but id say they are no different than in amsterdam center. For the price this is one of the best hotels iv stayed in.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank topher27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We booked 4 rooms, with 2 to a room for our party of 8.
Good hotel but we had a few issues... Firstly, we asked for smoking rooms, even just one, but we didn't get this. This wasn't so bad as we could just pop outside, plus they did explain they only had 4 smoking rooms in the hotel so it was never guaranteed.
We also asked that our rooms be close together. 2 of them were on the same floor, side by side, which was fine, but the other two rooms, one of which I was in, were on completely separate floors. We worked around this issue however, but would prefer next time if all the rooms were closer together.

The mini fridge in 3/4 rooms weren't open and therefore we couldn't even have a drink unless we went out and got one. Even then, we had nowhere to put them to keep them cool. This was a big let down.

There was also no food menu in the room to order room service, so we had to go downstairs to get it, which was annoying. However, the food I got was delicious, albeit quite expensive.

The heating in the room was good and the air con could be adjusted.

It would be good if there was some sort of curtain or something around the shower... This didn't bother me as I was with my boyfriend, however the rest of our party were all boys. The shower itself kept going from hot to cold when I was in it, which was annoying.

The location of the hotel was a bit out the way but as you can purchase a discounted travel pass from the hotel and just take the 48 or 22 from right outside the hotel, this wasn't an issue at all. At night times we just got a taxi back, shouldn't cost anymore than €30 for a party of 8.

There is also a supermarket about 10 minutes away if you want to walk, or the stop before the hotel on the bus. This was useful for bits of food and drinks, although there wasn't many spirits available.

Overall, a good hotel. I think next time I would look for something a bit more central personally, but other than that, it's definitely one to consider.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

When I booked this hotel I was sold by the "Art". Yes there is Art but its like people who own a surf board and say they surf but never have ...... its an illusion.

This is a business hotel for back slapping business men talking on their business phones and eating their business food, this is not a chilled, relaxed, liberal hotel and has no character whatsoever.

Although I must say the staff were very nice it felt like they were used to being treated like dirt from customers and seemed scared when you approached them with a smile on your face...... a bit like Edward Scissor hands smiling.

We stayed for 4 nights, we changed rooms after the first night due to what can only be described as the sound of a boiler or huge tank of bubbling water coming through the walls. Id be amazed if they aren't aware of this, to be fair the lady changed us without hassle but i couldn't help noticing that all the people around the front desk were complaining about different issues they were having. Mainly a screaming couple or should I say woman who was being heard all over the hotel the night before which of course is not the hotels fault.

Don't get me wrong this place served a purpose but I wish I had stayed somewhere else, just not what me and my girlfriend were looking for at all aside from a bed, shower, bit of Breakfast and privacy.

Room Tip: we had our problems in Room 117.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFrikinMole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The hotel is fab! We stayed 5 friends for 3 nights, £89 each with breakfast included! Really clean, comfortable and modern. It has really comfy beds (including the extra bed in the triple room) and lovely bathrooms (we were in the 4 star side). It was great value for money, I stayed at a hotel of similar price range in Amsterdam before and it was not a touch on this. I only wish I had found this before
The rooms have a light airy feel to them and all the mod cons you need.
The breakfast buffet was constantly restocked and had a good variety to suit everyone's taste.
The staff were very helpful and polite.
There is a bus stop right outside which takes you to the centre in less than 10 mins and it runs 24 hrs! The bus comes every 10 mins so you don't even need to wait long. We did not need to get any taxis.This is a much better option than staying in a grotty hotel in the centre for twice the price!

I highly recommend! Booked through trivago as best rates.

Room Tip: The 3 star were the same price as the 4 star when we booked so shop around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Very nice and friendly hotel and also the staff. Good access to city centre and public transports (that run all night) and tickets can be bought at the reception
Clean, modern, calm and good value for money.
A bit expensive breakfast considering the options nearby...

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tito A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I thought a lot about things I didn't like in WestCord Art. But everything was really good.
Rooms equiped with new furniture. Cleaning was every day. Staff was very helpful.
At reception you can buy bus tickets, rent bike, send poscards and ask any question.
Breakfast is rather expensive at hotel, but there are some cafes in 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
2.6 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#46 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 732 reviews
3.5 mi away
citizenM Amsterdam
citizenM Amsterdam
#35 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 4,101 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Property: WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam is on the edge of the old centre of Amsterdam, 10 minutes by public transport. The hotel is on the border of Spaarndammerbuurt which is renowned for the world famous Amsterdam School-building 'Het Schip', making it a wonderful area with much to discover. The hotel is easily accessible by car or public transport (bus 22, stop Hem-point). Art Hotel Amsterdam has 190 modern hotel rooms, all with free WIFI internet. In the public areas is an art gallery of the famous Dutch artist Herman Brood. Also in the rooms you will find art above your bed. The Art Brasserie is open daily for a la carte breakfast, coffee to-go, lunch, drinks and dinner. Next to The Art Brasserie is restaurant The Gallery, also used as breakfast restaurant. Adjacent there is an outside terrace with bar and a public open air swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Amsterdam Tulip Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing