We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #46 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights recently while visiting the city. The hotel is easy to get to from the airport if you jump off the train at sloterdijk and catch the bus 48 to right outside the front door. The rooms are smart clean and functional more than ideal as a base to explore from. As some have said it is located a little out of town but this really isn't a problem get a travel pass and its 10 mins to central station on the bus (your pass also entitles you to use the trams) making it really easy to get about. Breakfast was a little pricey, although the rest of the menu seemed to be on par with the rest of Amsterdam. There's a group of cafes the second stop from the hotel into town try bagels and beans for a breakfast stop good value and nice food. As for the staff at the hotel for us they were out of this world. Unfortunately we had to use a hospital while there, the staff couldn't do enough for us and certainly went above and beyond what would have been expected. For a more grounded view I also had no complaints before hand everyone was polite and friendly and happy to help with pointing out where things were in town and the best way to get there. In short don't let the location put you off , excellent hotel , amazing staff would stay again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank travellingmonkey007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,715)
There are newer reviews for WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,273 - 1,279 of 2,715 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

The hotel was excellent. Good service. Extremely nice room and spacious enough.
the service was good. Only problem is it is located bit away from the city center, which we didn't mind, because of the excellent transport system of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bihongee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The hotel has a great location with a bus stop just in front. You can be at the "Centraal Station" in about ten minutes and you can take trams, buses, metros, trains there to go anywhere in the city. The decoration of the hotel was really original with a lot of paintings in the hall, in the corridors and in the rooms. The room was really clean and comfortable. There's a parking under the hotel that you can rent for about 22€ for 24 hours (which is cheaper and safer than parking in the street). There's a restaurant and you have the possibility to have breakfeast, lunch or dinner at the hotel. We had breakfeast there and honestly it was good but really expensive (we were charged about 16€ each), I would recommend to have breakfeast outside unless you know you'll eat a lot because it's a buffet. The personnel was friendly and spoke english perfectly. In case you need it, you can also buy transport tickets or even amsterdam city pass at the reception.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Giallo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

If you are looking for a hotel that is very close to the center and isn't too expensive then look no further. This hotel has great facilities and all the staff are very warm and accommodating. We stayed in the twin deluxe room and it was more than good enough for our week long stay in Amsterdam. Oh and all the art in the hotel is amazing, really nice to stop and look at!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tombuitekant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stay there with my girlfriend during summer for a week to explore Amsterdam – very modern the building and the room was clean, comfortable and overall service was excellent with free Wi-Fi. An outdoor public pool behind the building as well which was great as it was rather hot when we were there!

We hired bikes so it was very easy to get to and from city centre and 10mins bus journey from central Amsterdam station, the bus stop is just outside hotel and always arrived on time - very efficient, cheaper and cleaner compared to home (UK)! – If you are going to walk back from the centre of Amsterdam then it will take around 45mins, which was fine as we weather was great. There is a supermarket 5mins away and we’ve also discovered a lovely restaurant close by which was a bonus.

Had a lovely time and we would come back again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ETTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Booked thru Travel zoo linked to Qwerty...simple and very helpful.
HOTEL: I read lots of the reviews on this hotel and agree with most of what is said.
Access from Amsterdam Central [bus 48, Catch it near stop F outside the railway station near the tram stops 2.50 euro] get off at stop Borneo...it will show it and audio announce it [like the London underground!].
Extremely polite and helpful staff. Room was an XL and was super very clean, quiet, all the usual tea/coffee and the soaps were replaced daily. Loads of hot water for a massive bath and there is a separate shower. TV had several english channels. The breakfast (we were B/B) was great and did not let us down as some reviewers have indicated. We ate dinner in once with the set menu 29.50 euro. Starter: The soup was tasteless but the duck slices were lovely. Main was skewered wild boar and was excellent. Dessert Chocolate mousse, cream etc yummy. Also far from the drinks being particularly dear I thought they were on par with the stupid prices bars charge in Amsterdam £5 to £6 for 1/2 litre beer is the going rate in most places. Even sleazy backstreet joints charge £4 ish. We had a buy one get second drink free card so we did well. Overall I rate this a 9.5/10 Not 10 because I couldn't get English instructions on the free Pc and printer!! in the reception area.
The holiday was great we bought a 48 hr travel card MAKE SURE YOU SWIPE IN AND OUT or the card deactivates and you lose your money!! We visited the Rijksmuseum 15 euro you will need all day! The anne Frank house cannot remember cost approx 10 euro and the Rembrandt House 12.5 euro each was well worth the entry fee.

Room Tip: Ask if a free upgrade to XL is available.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank robkidder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We got to stay in the new wing; so the room was great, modern, quite spacious and comfortable. The service was very good and breakfast was excellent.

If you don't mind staying not in Amsterdam downtown area, this hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for the new wing
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lady_Java
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Volkshotel
#37 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,384 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $107 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam is on the edge of the old centre of Amsterdam, 10 minutes by public transport. The hotel is on the border of Spaarndammerbuurt which is renowned for the world famous Amsterdam School-building 'Het Schip', making it a wonderful area with much to discover. The hotel is easily accessible by car or public transport (bus 22, stop Hem-point). Art Hotel Amsterdam has 190 modern hotel rooms, all with free WIFI internet. In the public areas is an art gallery of the famous Dutch artist Herman Brood. Also in the rooms you will find art above your bed. The Art Brasserie is open daily for a la carte breakfast, coffee to-go, lunch, drinks and dinner. Next to The Art Brasserie is restaurant The Gallery, also used as breakfast restaurant. Adjacent there is an outside terrace with bar and a public open air swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Amsterdam Tulip Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing